Skip to content

Of Book Trailers and Incredibly Talented Bloggers

May 23, 2009

I am constantly amazed at the level of enthusiasm that exists in the review blogosphere. I can’t think of a place where there is a more concentrated pool of people unwaveringly passionate in their love for a good book, but the talent that exists there is also awe-inspiring. Among the bloggers I’ve become friendly with are gifted writers, photographers, reviewers, graphic designers, and artists.

At the top of this list is Vania of Reverie Book Reviews.

Vania has become a friend and is also one of the most talented artists and photographers I know. She attends college in Georgia and, as if that weren’t enough, spends every waking moment of her free time reading and reviewing books for her blog, taking awesome pictures, and doing any number of favors for pretty much anyone who asks.

A couple of months ago, Vania approached me about filming (another of V’s talents!) a live-action book trailer for Prophecy. Against my protestations, she has since casted the video, trolled thrift stores for clothing that she has tailored to fit the period of my book, and is now in the process of shooting.

Yesterday, Vania sent me a few still from the first shoot. After I picked my jaw up off the floor, I knew I had to share them. Waiting is not an option.

And patience has never been one of my virtues.

I hope you enjoy this sneak peak as much as I did (um, minus the petting and cooing I’m doing… cuz I am weird like that)…

Trailershoot_1

_MG_0949

_MG_1026

_MG_1071

_MG_1119

_MG_1867

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 4:22 pm

    I love these pictures. I LOVE the dresses, she got the time period down pat!

    can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. karen permalink
    May 25, 2009 2:37 pm

    Ah. That makes sense. πŸ™‚

  3. michellezinkbooks permalink*
    May 25, 2009 1:19 pm

    They are identical twins, Karen. The girls you see in the photos aren’t the sisters – they’re Lia and her friend, Luisa.
    πŸ˜€

  4. karen permalink
    May 25, 2009 11:34 am

    The photos are beautiful. I love the colors! I’m just curious, though. I thought the girls were twins. It’s been a long time since I read the manuscript, so maybe I’ve forgotten–are they fraternal? And which girl represents which character?

  5. May 25, 2009 7:47 am

    Holy wow, Batman! These are lovely. Can’t WAIT for the trailer. Total awesomeness.

  6. Sarah Ockler permalink
    May 25, 2009 5:34 am

    Amazing!!! Vania, these are beautiful! I can’t wait to see the final cut! πŸ™‚

  7. May 24, 2009 6:15 pm

    This are AMAZING-I love them. I can’t wait to read the book-I’m so excited for it.

  8. May 24, 2009 6:54 am

    Holy Macaroni – can we say gifted much? What a lovley gift, V! It is and they are beautiful. Cannot wait to see the trailer. Magnificent.

  9. May 24, 2009 1:40 am

    It’s OK I pet and coo them and sing them to sleep each night… I think this is my fave shoot yet… I might be biased a bit too tho…

    Thanks for posting sweetie!

    (and the MARKS!)

  10. May 23, 2009 7:20 pm

    WOW! Those are GORGEOUS! Can’t wait to see the final product. But seriously, with stills like that it’s got to be awesome!

  11. May 23, 2009 5:02 pm

    I want to publish a book just so I can have Vania make a pretty trailer for it. xD

    I’ll be waiting impatiently with you for the rest of the shots. They are loverly.

Leave a Reply

