Skip to content

Teen Author Carnival

May 29, 2009

I had SUCH a great time at last night’s Teen Author Carnival at the Jefferson Market Branch Library in NYC. And I thought about waiting to post these, but since I know some of you are D-Y-I-N-G for news and pics from BEA, I thought I’d post these asap to tide you over.

The event was organized by Devyn, Mitali, Genevieve(and Co Dot. Heh), and Korianne, four amazing book reviewers and bloggers. They did a tremendous amount of work to pull off the event, and I want to say a huge THANK YOU for all their time and effort.

Accompanied by my entourage (aka The Kids), I arrived too early (because I’m a freak about being late), interrupted the organizers while they were eating, and then coerced Marie aka Cupcake Witch into giving us a little tour of the building which used to be a women’s detention center and courthouse. Fittingly, the building is Victorian Gothic and just gorgeous.

Stained glass!

Arches doorways!

Frighteningly sharp wrought iron!

I was in heaven. Sigh.

Other authors started trickling soon after and we all took turns doing Q&A, signing books, and playing games while eating mass quantities of junk food (including the multi-hued cotton candy that Frank, Jefferson Library’s Resident Guru of Awesomeness, dubbed Fairy Poop. Yum.). It was a blast, and I left feeling like I’d met up with a bunch of old friends.

Highlights included FINALLY meeting Steph, Sharon (*cough*unicornsweatshirt*cough*), Alea, Steph Su, Lenore, Marie, Frank, and 2009 fellow Debs Jenny Moss, Sarah Maclean, Sarah Cross, and Pam Bachorz.

But before I lose you to pics, I want to tell you real quick about the NY Public Library’s Anti-Prom or Vam-Prom.

The Anti-Prom, organized by Young Adult Programs, provides an alternative safe space for all teens who may not feel welcome at official school proms or dances because of their sexual orientation, the way they dress, or any other reason. The event has won several awards and designations from the ALA.

What could be better or more important for teens? We were going to go because I’ve heard it’s an amazing time, but alas, we have out all-night Relay for Life (American Cancer Society) the next day…

Next year, though, I am *so*dressing up (though you don’t have to) and going with my teens!

Oh! And guess who’s going to be there this year? Project Runway’s Tim Gunn and Austin Scarlett. If you go, take pics for meeeee!

And now, for more fun stuff… Keep in mind that my photographer is, er, short.

Because she’s 10.

So some of these are a little… off.

One Wish, by fellow Deb, Leigh Brescia

One Wish, by fellow Deb, Leigh Brescia

I'm pretty sure my son is making fun of me here.

I'm pretty sure my son is making fun of me here.

Probably I'm the only one who <3s these doorways.
Me and Marie. How cute is she?!!!

Me and Marie. How cute is she?!!!

We gave out signed mini-posters. I think they're pretty sweet.

We gave out signed mini-posters. I think they're pretty sweet.

Korianne, Devyn, Mitali, and Marie's backside. Sorry Marie.

Korianne, Devyn, Mitali, and Marie's backside. Sorry Marie.

Sharon's now legendary unicorn sweatshirt.

Sharon's now legendary unicorn sweatshirt.

Some of the authors in the signing area.

Some of the authors in the signing area.

My son is clearly fascinated with life as an author's son.

My son is clearly fascinated with life as an author's son.

Me with my wonderful family and the gorgeous and talented Steph!

Me with my wonderful family and the gorgeous and talented Steph!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 1:27 am

    My hand looks SO jacked up–and I never had the chance to grab a poster from you!! =[

    xxoxo

  2. June 1, 2009 8:58 pm

    Thank you for the One Wish photo!!! How awesome!!! I’m glad it made it! Sorry I couldn’t be there!! (pouts)

  3. June 1, 2009 7:13 pm

    Me too, Kami! Me too.

  4. kamigarcia permalink
    June 1, 2009 4:34 pm

    Next time I’m going. xxx

  5. June 1, 2009 9:38 am

    Hmmmm prove that is me in the pic! I only see someone’s back. It could be anyone! πŸ˜‰

  6. May 30, 2009 12:53 pm

    Oh WOW! Looks like it was a ton of fun; pretty envious over here πŸ˜‰ Aww, the pictures are so cute!

  7. May 30, 2009 3:02 am

    Yay for the pictures being up! TAC was incredibly fun, your family is great (you’ve really got your own complete marketing and publicity team there), and hopefully we can meet up again sometime because, well, not to sound too redundant or anything, it was fun and YOU were amazing! πŸ™‚

    • May 30, 2009 10:18 am

      I second the yay about the pics!! It’s so cute how you have your own travel-size photographer, lol. Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun!! Can’t waittttttt till the book finally comes out on the shelves!

  8. May 30, 2009 2:54 am

    Ahhh makes me all teary eyed. I so wanted to be there. Glad that you had so much fun and got to meet some amazing bloggers.

  9. mstohl permalink
    May 30, 2009 2:03 am

    I’m so jealous! I heard about your cute posse and there they all are! Wish I was there. WAAAAAAAAH! πŸ™‚

  10. May 30, 2009 1:02 am

    Yeah, I’ll have to go take a look! It was actually one of the couple of booths I never ended up finding today. I’m not sure where the heck it was hidden!! Hopefully you do another signing someday that I can go to.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 30, 2009 1:32 am

      It’s booth #3749! I’m touring eight cities in September… one of those HAS to be somewhere near you!

      • May 30, 2009 2:48 am

        oh! the bea booklet says 3753 which does NOT exist on the map! doh. I guess they never updated it at the last minute!

      • May 30, 2009 8:24 pm

        I found the booth! no display copy to admire but they did have a nice big poster!

      • May 31, 2009 2:08 am

        would one of those 8 cities happen to be in TN?

        It looks like you had a great time. I am going to try to get to that next time!

  11. May 29, 2009 11:14 pm

    SO jealous?!!? wish I was there. (am in spirit) Hope you have fun this weekend.

    YOU GUYS ARE THE CUTEST, btw!!! Aww Rebekah!!! *hugs* you too, Z!

  12. michellezinkbooks permalink*
    May 29, 2009 11:01 pm

    I totally understand, Rebecca! Just go by the LB booth for me tomorrow and pet my book, will you?
    πŸ˜€

    And Khy and Gail, I hope you both can make it next year!
    ❀

  13. May 29, 2009 10:58 pm

    Looks great! I wish I could have gone but I wanted to go to bed early before BEA. I’m not sure if I’ll end up making it on Sunday since I already have the book and I’m sure I’ll be exhausted after 2 days of BEA. /sadface

  14. May 29, 2009 10:49 pm

    I heard the Author Carnival was so much fun from Alea, Sharon & Steph Su. I was so bummed that I wasn’t able to make it. I hope that there is something similar next year. =)

  15. May 29, 2009 10:47 pm

    I’m so jealous! D: Looks like it was fun.

    But WTF is that thing on Sharon?!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 30, 2009 1:28 am

      It’s a unicorn!!!

      • May 30, 2009 2:12 am

        I know, but…WHY? Did she lose a bet?

Leave a Reply

