Skip to content

Contest; Design Your Own Cover or Write Your Own Copy

June 3, 2009

I hope you’re all proud of me.

I’ve reigned myself in for MONTHS now, telling myself it was silly to start holding contests too far in advance of Prophecy’s release.

Which is a good thing for you, cuz I’ve accumulated some awesome swag to give away.

Plus, my already-overactive-enthusiasm is now in overdrive so you get to watch me squeal about my contest and run around like a little kid on a sugar rush.

How much fun is that?
😀

Aaaaanyway, as many of you know, my cover has undergone many incarnations on its way to the beauteousness of the final image you see at right. *shows you cover with game show hands*

I thought it would be fun to add to my cover inventory with a few homemade examples, so my first contest was going to be a Design Your Own Cover contest.

But that didn’t seem fair, because if you happen to be like me and suck at drawing, you might prefer to write something instead. So in the interest of fairness, I decided to expand the contest to include flap copy (that’s the little summary of the book that’s usually on the jacket flap).

That’s right. You get one entry for each cover concept – digital, video, drawing, stick-figures, full fledged fanart,you name it!

You also get one entry for each original flap copy submission. As inspiration, you can use the existing copy on Amazon, Borders, B&N, Indiebound, or any other site, the two-chapter excerpt posted on my LiveJournal, or any other source you can find.

As a bonus, you get one entry for every NEW person you refer to my blog. All they have to do is leave a comment saying you sent them, and you BOTH get one entry.

Let’s recap! Three ways to enter;

  1. Submit your own version of my Prophecy cover
  2. Submit your own version of the Prophecy flap copy
  3. Refer a friend/leave a comment on my blog for the FIRST TIME.

Contest runs from today, June 3rd through midnight June 15th.

Entries can be as serious, silly, or strange as you like. It doesn’t matter – just have fun!

What does matter is that you enter, because you do NOT want to miss out on this swag bag. I don’t mind saying that I am, ahem, rather kick-ass at putting together swag. Just ask blogger Shelly of Write for a Reader who happened to win one of my bags.

Go ahead. Ask her! 😀

All right, nevermind! I’ll show you instead!

Here’s what awaits the winning entrant…

004

007

Included is:

  • A $25 Hot Topic gift card
  • A $15 iTunes gift card
  • A $25 gift card to the bookstore of your choice (not pictured for obvious reasons!)
  • A specially-wrapped first-round Prophecy ARC (sent to booksellers for Pre-publication)
  • A Prophecy mini-poster signed by both my son, Kenneth (a musician who is composing the Prophecy score), and I
  • A rose necklace
  • A chocolate bar
  • A Nerds Rope
  • A t-shirt that says “I’d Trade My Boyfriend for a Super Hero”
  • Temporary black hair dye
  • Nail polish
  • Victorian Gothic lace fingerless gloves
  • The movie August Rush (DVD)
  • A heart and key pendant (read the book!)
  • A Gardenia-scented candle
  • A rose-scented pin

In case you’re not a fan of Hot Topic, hair dye, or Gothic jewelry, you can feel free to keep what you want from this bag and give the rest away, either to friends or as a contest on your own blog (if you have one).

Cover and copy entries should be sent to prophecypress@aol.com and will be posted at the conclusion of the contest in a Gallery here on my website. Winning entry will be picked by the Random Number Generator.

Ready… Go! And don’t forget to spread the love…

❤

97 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 9:31 pm

    Here’s the link to the fan cover I made for Prophecy of the Sisters: http://paradoxrevealed.blogspot.com/2009/07/prophecy-of-sisters-fan-cover.html

    I hope you like it, and feel free to share it on your blog!

  2. July 1, 2009 8:30 pm

    Wait a minute… I can’t find your e-mail address anywhere. Should I just post a link here when I get it up on my blog?

  3. July 1, 2009 8:25 pm

    I finally got to making a cover, even though the contest is over, and I think it’s one of my best fan covers, if not the best. I will be e-mailing it to you soon, and posting it on my blog.

  4. June 16, 2009 5:49 pm

    Aw… I ran out of time to create my cover. 😦

    My own computer has had a degenerative virus for two months, and would take about a week of continuous work to fix if I want to save my 4 years of un-backed-up files and hundreds of pages of writing, and I haven’t had the time to do this… so I’ve been using other people’s computers. I couldn’t get on long enough to work on a cover.

    But when I get a chance, I will do a cover, even though it won’t be for the contest.

  5. June 15, 2009 5:28 pm

    Hey Michelle!! I am a first time commenter on your blog and would LOVE a chance to be entered in this contest!! I found out about this contest by clicking on a tweet that was posted by Devyn Burton at http://devynburton.com/ So I hope he gets credit for sending me here!!

    thank you!

    Amber
    Mustandlustforbooks@yahoo.com

  6. Trav permalink
    June 15, 2009 5:26 pm

    Melissa Walker sent me here. I had never heard of the book until now, but I’m really looking forward to it!

  7. June 14, 2009 5:06 am

    Wow! What a contest! I stumbled my own way here though. 🙂

  8. June 13, 2009 8:57 pm

    I’m a newbie to your site, and I really like it! Your book looks FABULOUS.

    I was referred to by my friend, @chloeeesays on Twitter. So I guess it means that she gets entered twice then, right? 😀

  9. Allie Casady permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:43 pm

    This is my first time on the site. The book looks fantastic. I love finding new books and websites. Thanks to Elise at Reading Rocks for sending me here. Keeping my fingers crossed.

  10. June 12, 2009 5:34 am

    I’d like to get in on this contest. And BTW, Shelly Burns sent me. Thanks for entering me.

  11. Lorena permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:03 pm

    Hi there, getting this part out of the way. Erika up there referred me so yeah, more entries for her, woohoo!

    I’ll be sending my covers in a bit 😀 Thanks for hosting this awesome contest.

  12. June 11, 2009 7:48 pm

    Wow! I’ll get working on something, but in the meantime, I’m a first time commenter! 😀

  13. June 9, 2009 10:49 am

    Uh, hi….I know this is gonna sound TOTALLY clueless, but how do I send u my cover/flap thingy? P.S. Ur “swag bag” is sooo fawesome it makes me drool.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 9, 2009 11:00 am

      Hi, Stella! And welcome!

      You can send your cover to prophecypress@aol.com. I will post them the week of 6/15 on a Gallery page on this website!

      Thanks for stopping by…
      😀

  14. Niki Casady permalink
    June 8, 2009 6:21 pm

    This is my first comment. I came from Reading Rocks, Elsie sent me. This looks fantastic!

  15. June 7, 2009 12:13 pm

    I’ll leave the book covers and flaps to the professionals – but I’d sure like to win the prize! Good luck with your book – I’m looking forward to reading it one way or another!

  16. June 6, 2009 9:48 pm

    This is a great contest! And though I’ve been on your blog before, this is my first comment. Does that count?

    I’m posting it on my blog, so hopefully someone comes over too. (They may say YAthenaeum or something to that affect) 🙂

    *Tries to think if I should attempt to draw or stick with writing a flap copy*

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 6, 2009 10:50 pm

      This totally gets you an entry since you haven’t left a comment before! BUt I hope you’ll still write copy or draw a cover for the Gallery and another entry or two!
      😀

  17. June 6, 2009 7:25 pm

    I want everything!!! I was sent here by Shelley Burns (she told me to say that!)

    Enter us please!

  18. June 5, 2009 5:18 pm

    Shelly Burns sent me, and this is my first comment. All I can say is: WOW! This is one of the coolest contests ever. Thanks for hosting it.

  19. June 5, 2009 10:07 am

    This sounds great – I really do want to read your book! Have heard so much good things about it during the BEA. Shelley Burns sent me!

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

  20. Jess permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:46 pm

    This book looks super awesome! I’ll definitely have to check it out. 🙂 And, I was referred by Sandi.

  21. June 4, 2009 9:29 pm

    What a wonderful giveaway! SHELLY BURNS sent me over 🙂

  22. Vivi1996 permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:00 pm

    Catt refered me to this contest
    and dis is da bomb/awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Pam permalink
    June 4, 2009 7:56 pm

    Wow – what a generous giveaway! I’d like to read your book too – I like the cover you decided on actually. By the way, Shelly Burns sent me.

  24. June 4, 2009 6:50 pm

    Elise from Reading Rocks sent me (I don’t think she’s commented yet, but when she does, know she sent me here!!)

    Eeee! I’m so excited! Congrats on everything–the book, the bag, everything!

  25. June 4, 2009 5:41 pm

    Wow! I’m not really sure if this is the first time I’ve commented or not… :S. But I am going now to post about it on the sidebar of my blog. I am SO excited to read your book! It looks absolutely fantastic. Thanks for the great contest!

  26. vicky permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:15 am

    Hello! This is my first comment – can’t wait to read this book! Have a great day 🙂

  27. June 4, 2009 2:12 am

    Hi! I’m writing here for the FIRST TIME and DEVYN BURTON referred me. I’ve seen bloggers talking about Prophecy and it’s definitely on my list of Books to Read that Haven’t Come Out Yet. Can’t wait!

  28. June 4, 2009 1:04 am

    Hey it’s a nerds rope! I love nerds ropes especially ones given to me by Michelle Zink! They just taste better when they are a gift from an awesome author! I think that nerds rope was what helped me pull throught the stress of Teen Author Night! I am just commenting right, now but I might get some time to do the cover thing later. I am just really sleepy right now. We are fixing up our old house to sell, it drains me. So possibly later? Oh, and Devyn sent me to enter the contest. I didn’t know about it since my internetz were down until and hour ago!

  29. Fina permalink
    June 4, 2009 12:57 am

    Devyn sent me here.
    Book cover looks very cool.
    I’m going to go and read the first chapter now.

  30. June 4, 2009 12:21 am

    I am requested to say that Devyn Burton sent me here. YAY. 😉

  31. June 4, 2009 12:15 am

    Wow! Great giveaway! Love that tshirt!

    I was referred here by Reverie Book Review.

    nfmgirl AT gmail DOT com

  32. Nikki permalink
    June 4, 2009 12:09 am

    Catt referred me to this contest.

  33. June 3, 2009 10:42 pm

    I was referred by Reverie Book Reviews =]

  34. Ann permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:37 pm

    My friend Catt referred me to this website LOL

  35. Brenna permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:26 pm

    Devyn Burton sent me(:

  36. Carmion Fuhrman permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:02 pm

    Hi – looks very interesting! I can’t wait to check it out. The movie “August Rush” – totally awesome movie. The bag looks great. BTW, I was referred by Sandi Walden.

  37. June 3, 2009 9:57 pm

    Devyn Burton sent me! 😀

  38. June 3, 2009 9:43 pm

    I’m not sure if I’ve commented here before or not… So if I haven’t I’ll enter for that! And I’ll try to refer some people too 😀

  39. Kayla permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:36 pm

    umm Catt told me about this contest thingy…umm ok bye i guess…

  40. Deidra permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:19 pm

    Thats pretty awesome, I can’t wait to read the book!

  41. June 3, 2009 9:18 pm

    oooooooooooooooooooh awesome. i WANTS!
    (devyn burton sent me)

  42. June 3, 2009 9:14 pm

    My friend Devyn Burton sent me this link, pretty neat contest/site you have going here/ August Rush is a great movie.

  43. Michelle Duncan permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:13 pm

    Devyn Burton referred me 🙂 LOL… I see he’s been busy.

  44. June 3, 2009 9:12 pm

    I want! Count me in!

    I posted a blog about the contest also.

  45. Renea Burton permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:10 pm

    That Devyn Burton kid sent me here and I am glad he did. What an intriguing book cover! I am on my way to your livejournal to read a chapter!

  46. June 3, 2009 9:10 pm

    Hy awesome site Devyn Burton sent me here to check out n I love it whoot whoot good job.

  47. June 3, 2009 8:55 pm

    OOOOHHHH, I wanna be entered, please!!!!!!!!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS TO COME OUT!!!!!!!!!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 9:08 pm

      You got it, kiddo! ❤

  48. June 3, 2009 8:49 pm

    Hello! Looks like an awesome contest! So much awesome stuff!
    I, too, was sent over here by Devyn Burton.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:50 pm

      Devyn is in a bid to become KING OF THE WORLD!

      One entry for each of you. SO glad you stopped by, Jennifer!
      😀

  49. June 3, 2009 8:46 pm

    Devyn Burton is the bestest for sending me here!!!!!

    And I love the cover of your book Michelle!

    Shirt rocks too!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:49 pm

      Thanks, Amber! I love it, too!

      I’m so glad you stopped by – you and Devyn both score an entry!

  50. chelsea marie permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:37 pm

    by the looks of your comments, it looks like devyn burton is running a cult to comment you. i am yet another one of his followers. haha. i looooove that cover, by the way ! : )

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:48 pm

      As long as you DON’T DRINK THE KOOL-AID!

      Lol! You both score an entry!
      😀

  51. June 3, 2009 8:31 pm

    Vania/Rev sent me! 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:47 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Robbie! You’re both entered!
      😀

  52. June 3, 2009 7:57 pm

    Hey! I was told to come here by Devyn Burton. Site looks awesome.

    Max.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:09 pm

      Devyn is the bomb! You are now entered into the contest for that ginormous swag bag!

  53. Angel Y permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:51 pm

    Devyn sent me. Oh my GOTH that is an amazing bag-o-goodies! I’m glad Devyn sent me your way!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:11 pm

      I<3 Devyn! And you are officially entered into the contest (and so is Devyn – more than once, that social butterfly!)! Thanks for coming by!
      😀

  54. Nova permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:50 pm

    Sounds like an awesome contest (with awesome prizes haha)

    Oh. Yeah, I got sent here by the one and only Devyn Burton, hehe 😛 xD

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:13 pm

      That rascal! He’s going to win this contest just by referring! Glad you came by – and now you are entered, too!
      😀

  55. chris permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:46 pm

    i favorited your blog and devyn burton sent me

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:14 pm

      You are both made of awesome – and entered (for Devyn, again!) in the contest!
      😀

  56. June 3, 2009 7:46 pm

    This is freaky! I was actually planning on making a fan art cover of Prophecy of the Sisters, but my rule for these is that I have to have read the book before I create and post a fan cover. And I haven’t managed to get my hands on an ARC (but I just got an Amazon gift card, so I’ll be pre-ordering a copy.)

    I posted four fan book covers on my blog so far, and I have a list (to be released) of my next projects. Here’s the post: http://paradoxrevealed.blogspot.com/2009/01/my-fan-art-book-covers.html

    Of course, the real cover is awesome as it is, but it’s always fun to re-imagine them!

    Can’t wait to start this!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:19 pm

      Aw, I wish I had a bunch of extra ARCs, but we gave out all of them at BEA (except for the three I have stashed for contests!). I LOVE your work, though, and would love to see what you could come up with. And you’re entered anyway, because I don’t think you’ve left a comment for me before, have you?

  57. Allison Lichtenberg permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:46 pm

    Devyn sent me here! And I love that shirt.

    • Allison Lichtenberg permalink
      June 3, 2009 7:46 pm

      Burton

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        June 3, 2009 8:14 pm

        I knew it! You’re both entered!
        😀

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:17 pm

      Good luck winning it, Allison (I think Devyn will take you down for it!)! You are entered and I appreciate you coming by!
      😀

  58. Chelsea permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:45 pm

    Awesome contest! 🙂

    Devyn (from the comments above) referred me to it.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:16 pm

      Thanks for stopping by to enter, Chelsea – and for giving Devyn another one! (he really wants that shirt!)

      • Chelsea permalink
        June 4, 2009 1:04 am

        I know he does! 😛

  59. June 3, 2009 7:41 pm

    I’m going to be sending people your way like CRAZY!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 8:15 pm

      Sheesh, Sweets! You are da man!
      😀

      • June 3, 2009 9:18 pm

        Devyn sent me from facebook AND this is my first comment! That is killer swag!

    • Cookie Monster permalink
      June 3, 2009 10:06 pm

      devyn sent me

  60. June 3, 2009 6:54 pm

    Wow! This is a totally awesome contest your doing. I can’t wait to get a chance to read Prophecy of the Sisters. Winning that temporary hair dye is the only way I’m gonna be able to convince my mom to let me try out black hair. lol. Got some great stuff in that swag bag.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 7:34 pm

      Thanks for coming by, Briana! Have noted your comment and added you to the list of entrants. Don’t forget you can get another entry by making a cover concept and/or writing flap copy!
      😀

  61. June 3, 2009 6:42 pm

    Awesome contest! I love this prize bag, too.
    I was referred by Reverie Book Reviews 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 7:32 pm

      Noted! Thanks for stopping by to comment, Ashley!
      😀

  62. June 3, 2009 5:58 pm

    Does the cover redo I did count??? hmmmm

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 6:07 pm

      I don’t remember that one, but I think to be fair, you have to submit something that’s never been seen before, goofball!
      😉

      • June 3, 2009 6:42 pm

        HMmmmm well it’s not like I cant do that… but to be fair.. I might just sit this one out.

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        June 3, 2009 7:33 pm

        No reason to sit this one out! The winner’s picked via Random Number Generator anyway…
        😀

  63. June 3, 2009 5:45 pm

    I wish I were talented enough to do what you ask! that is one swag bag and I know how cool her swag bags are because I was the one to give it away!

    Michelle, this is an amazing contest and I wish everyone who enters tons of luck!

    PS: I love the cover!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 6:07 pm

      Just REFER someone new, silly!
      😀

  64. June 3, 2009 4:41 pm

    Woot!!! This is a friggin’ awesome contest. I love that T-shirt.

    *runs off to work on a cover*
    muuuuhahahahahahaha

  65. June 3, 2009 3:08 pm

    SO COOL! I want the t-shirt that says I’d trade Kami’s husband in for a Super Hero… 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 3, 2009 3:34 pm

      You guys are killin’ me!
      😀

  66. June 3, 2009 12:37 pm

    That shirt is amazing.

  67. Jen permalink
    June 3, 2009 12:12 pm

    Looks like awesome fun!

  68. June 3, 2009 11:45 am

    Awesome contest!!! I want that T-shirt…with husband on it.

  69. June 3, 2009 11:15 am

    *drool* this looks so much fun!!!! You have outdone yourself Z!

Leave a Reply

