Skip to content

Cluelessness at Its Best

June 5, 2009

I promised you a good BEA story, right?

Well, I never renege on a promise, so here goes…

As you all know, I was at BEA on Sunday for my signing, feeling really grateful that we had a long and steady line on the last and slowest day of the conference. If you’ve ever attended one of my signings, you know that I like to make personal contact with each and every person, even though it makes the line move just a tad slower. I make a point of asking for the person’s name, even if I’m signing the book for a friend or relative, just so I can say hello and chat for a second. At conferences like BEA, this is typically made much easier by the convenient use of name badges!

So, I’m signing away and this nice-looking guy comes up to the table asking me to sign a book for his wife. As I’m writing, I notice his name tag is flipped so I can’t address him, but he’s very friendly and asks me is this is my first book.

I smile, saying, “Well, it’s my first published book, but it was the fifth book I’d actually written, which I guess goes to show that you just have to stick with it.”

He chuckles a little. “Yes, it does.”

A while later my publicist returns to the signing table and she and my editor start whispering and laughing. When I ask them what’s up, they inform me that the guy asking for a book for his wife was Nicholas Sparks. I guess he’d turned his name tag on purpose…

D’oh!

I was telling Nicholas Sparks to keep writing! Not to give up!

Can you say mortified?

Oh, well. He seemed like a genuinely nice person and, ironically, his publication story was one of the most inspiring for me when I was writing and still subbing to agents. Maybe because we were both sales people in our former lives.

Full circle, indeed. πŸ˜€

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 4:23 pm

    That is funny! It just goes to show you that authors have those d’oh moments when meeting other authors, just like us fans have. Who’d have thought?

  2. June 8, 2009 1:08 pm

    That’s hillarious! Thankfully you’re the sort of person who is generally sweet and kind to people she doesn’t know. Otherwise that could have been unfortunate…

  3. Rose permalink
    June 7, 2009 8:09 pm

    Full circle, indeed! OMG that made me giggle!!! How fun for you though! πŸ™‚

  4. June 7, 2009 3:09 am

    I think it is so awesome when authors get signed books from others!

    I wouldn’t know what a lot of the authors I love look like so don’t fret too much! πŸ™‚

  5. June 6, 2009 1:25 am

    Haha, That sounds like something I would do. That is amazing though you are taking the world by storm! πŸ˜€

  6. June 5, 2009 11:43 pm

    Z, that’s too funny! you silly!!!

    I guess it shows that with so many people there it’s hard to identify people and anyone can be there. But how cool is that? Sparks!!

Leave a Reply

