Skip to content

Aw, shucks!

June 16, 2009

I don’t know if you’ve noticed (*ahem*), but I don’t usually post links to my reviews, even the good ones.

I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because my release date has seemed so far away that I wasn’t sure if anyone would be interested, but as the date gets closer (eeep!), I’ve started seeing more reviews out there about Prophecy.

I won’t lie. The hard ones are, well… hard. My work is so personal to me and I put so much into it that it’s really tough to hear that it just didn’t connect with someone. I’m learning, though, that as cliche as it sounds, it really is true that every book isn’t for everyone. I have so many reading friends whose taste in books I admire – but we still disagree every now and then!

So, while I’m learning to let that go, I’ll also admit that I never stop squeeing when I get a good review – and that goes every bit as much for a review blogger as it does for a well-known publication like Booklist. And when I really think about it, I’m kind of doing a disservice to the person who took the time to read my book and post a review if I don’t give them the reciprocal courtesy of a link.

Right?!

Plus, it just makes my day to hear that my work really moved someone.

With that in mind, I’m going to try and post a link to a review once a week or so in the weeks leading up to my official release date. Today, I’m linking to Reading to Myself, because her review put a smile on my face for DAYS and it was very thorough and well-written. I also thought it was helpful for people to get her guidelines at the bottom so they could decide for themselves if the content was right for them and/or their teens.

Here’s a snippet;

Each chapter gets more intense and each character is continuously revealing more of their true selves within the pages…. (read more)

Lastly, thank you to everyone who entered my Design Your Own Cover or Write Your Own Flap Copy contest! I’m tabulating the entries and will have the winner posted by Thursday, June 18th, at midnight.
😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

