Skip to content

And the Winner Is…

June 18, 2009

Devyn Burton!!!!

Gasp! Who would have thought!

*that was sarcasm*

Congratulations to Devyn who will now get the much-coveted “I’d Trade My Boyfriend for a SuperHero” tee. As I was tabulating the number of entries, I realized that Devyn’s represented a fifth of them. I actually thought someone might think it was rigged if he DIDN’T win. Ha!

For those of you who didn’t win – don’t despair! I’ll be announcing another contest in less than two weeks with an equally impressive swag bag as the prize PLUS several amazing runner-up prizes. So keep checking back!

Anyway, I only received two entries into the design/writing portion of the contest. They were from Lorena and Allison, and even though there were only two of them, I was ridiculously excited!

And I felt kind of bad, because they put A LOT of effort into the design and writing portion of the contest, but were just WAY outnumbered by the people who commented for the first time. Because of this, I’m sending them each a $25 bookstore gift card (you choose the store, guys!) and a few other assorted goodies. Plus a BIG thank you for taking the time to design a cover and write copy.

Just send your mailing addresses and bookstore preference to prophecypress@aol.com and I’ll get everything right out to you.

And without further ado, following are Lenore and Allison’s entries…

Flap copy from Allison;

“Perhaps because it seems so appropriate, I don’t notice the rain. It falls in sheets, a blanket of silvery thread rushing to the hard almost-winter ground. Still, I stand without moving at the side of the coffin.”

Lia Milthorpe and her sister, Alice, have just buried their father. Orphaned, the 16-year-old twins find that they are caught in the web of a prophecy—one that has turned sisters against each other for generations. The arrival of the prophecy is heralded by a strange tattoo that blossomed unexpectedly on Lia’s wrist; and also by Lia’s discovery of Alice performing a strange candle-lit ritual in their mother’s vacant, yet forbidding, quarters. Now, Alice and Lia must battle, evil against good, twin against twin, with the highest of stakes. Should Alice end the prophecy first, Lia will lose her boyfriend, James…as well as her life.

And Lenore;

Frontcover_Lorena

Frontcover2_Lorena

I love both of these covers because they’re completely different interpretations of my cover. It’s so fun to see how other people envision your work!

Tomorrow, I’m hoping to share via vlog my little surprises…
😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bernie permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:59 pm

    omgggg, I’ve read the book, and it’s awesomeee! I can’t wait for the next one =]

    -Ber

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 2, 2009 8:43 pm

      Aw, I’m so glad you enjoyed it!!!

      Hope you enjoy the sequel, Guardian of the Gate, just as much!

  2. June 19, 2009 7:28 pm

    No problem Michelle, it’s a great find! It’s been catching my eye left and right and I keep hearing wonderful things about it. I’m really looking forward to reading it!

  3. June 18, 2009 4:45 pm

    I’ve tried writing six different comments.
    So, Uh–I’ll just say W00T!

  4. Lorena permalink
    June 18, 2009 12:49 pm

    D’aww!
    Thanks Michelle! I’ll e-mail you the info in a bit.

    Lol….Lenore

    🙂

  5. June 18, 2009 11:14 am

    WOW what awesome covers!?!?! good job y’all!

Leave a Reply

