Skip to content

Congratulations, Lisa Mantchev!!!

July 7, 2009

Today is a VERY special day. It’s a day I’ve been counting toward for a very long time.

And it’s NOT my book release day.

It’s the release day for EYES LIKE STARS, the amazing debut by my good friend, Lisa Mantchev.

ELS_Cover

EYES LIKE STARS is an amazing debut, and I’m not just saying that because Lisa and I are friends. I’m saying it because it’s wholly unique and utterly enchanting.

But I’m not going to say too much about the book, because glowing reviews abound online. You can find them anywhere and everywhere.

Instead, I’m going to tell you about Lisa and how much she’s come to mean to me. About the many, many times her support and friendship have helped me through a tough round of revisions, a tough time with kids, a panic attack about publication. This even though we are about as far apart geographically as you could be in the US.

It started because we were working on revisions for our respective Book Twos at exactly the same time and grew into a friendship that feels as true and meaningful as any I have in “real life” – despite the fact that we’ve never met. From those first panicked emails to many laughter-filled phone calls, Lisa is one of the few people I know who always puts things in perspective. She makes me laugh out loud – for real – pretty much every day. And, well… I just don’t know what I’d do without her.

So, today, Lisa, is your day. I’ve been looking forward to it as if it were my very own release day, and I wish you every happiness and success with this magical book. I want you to know that you have made a difference in my life. That it is happier and more joyful because of your presence. And when I count the amazing things that have happened to me this past year, finding your friendship is right at the top of the list.

And now, without further ado, a message from my posse and me…

Have A GREAT RELEASE DAY, LIS!!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 2:02 pm

    LISA!!!! WE ❤ YOU and hope there are many many many more moments like this. You deserve all the best in the world.

    <3,
    V

  2. July 7, 2009 11:40 am

    Aw, that was cute!

    And I nearly forgot the date today; I have been waiting for this book for awhile too! Must go to the bookstore and pick it up!

  3. July 7, 2009 11:17 am

    That was adorable! *wants to hug all your kids AND YOU*

    ❤ you, lady.

    No, I am not crying.

    *sniff*

  4. July 7, 2009 11:07 am

    Aw, Michelle! That was so sweet. I loved being able to see your “posse!”

Leave a Reply

