Skip to content

Book Bloggers Rule!

August 11, 2009

Well, I guess it’s no secret by now that I ❀ book bloggers.

What might come as a surprise, though, is that my friendship with most of them formed during routine conversations about books, reading, life.

I never really sought out close friendships in the blogging community, it just sort of… happened. One minute we were talking about MY book then we were talking about ALL books and the next thing I knew we were talking about family, work, friends, men, kids… all of it!

I guess it makes sense, though, when you think about it. We are, after all, connected through our shared love of reading and writing, and people do often form friendships when they find common ground. I guess it was just a surprise for me to find them online and to feel so strongly that they ARE my friends every bit as much as the people I see and talk to on a daily basis. They make my days brighter with their enthusiasm, cheer me on when I’m feeling low or unmotivated, and talk to me about things other than writing when I most need to be reminded that there ARE more important things in the world than my Synopsis or Copy Edits!

And here’s the thing; what they do takes time and effort. Contrary to popular belief, the vast majority of the book bloggers out there do NOT blog for free books. They blog because they love to read and they want to share that passion with others who also like to read. They blog because they feel they have something important to say about the books that are available to them.

I couldn’t agree more. They each bring something unique and interesting to the table, and I believe they have changed the face of publishing and book promotion forever. Their enthusiasm for Prophecy has certainly made a difference in the buzz for Prophecy, and for that I will be eternally grateful.

I try to stay out of any blogosphere politics, and my thanks today are based entirely on those who have offered ardent support for Prophecy and unconditional friendship to me. I REALLY hesitated to do this, because I just know I’m going to leave somebody out by accident, but if I did, please know that each and every one of you have made such an impact on me. If I did, it’s not because you aren’t important to me but because it is I just can’t let the opportunity to say “thank you” pass.

So today I extend a BIG thank you to Vania (I LOVE you, kiddo!), Adele (who is unafraid to call me dumbass), Mitali (who gets me around the City!), Laura (for loving Prophecy from DAY ONE), Devyn (your talent scares me), Korianne (a DOLL!), Genevieve (SO cute!), Sharon (who lets me make fun of her for being the crazy cat lady), Khy (God, you’re smart! And funny!), Annie (watching you grow up is a privilege), Shayla (just your email alone makes me smile), Andrea (both of you!), Steph (both of you!), Lenore (I’m sending you Starbursts!), Lexie (who tells it like it is), Eleni (an unbelievably talented person), Alea (we can talk about movies ALL NIGHT), Sandi (who cheered me on from the beginning), Jenny (my connection to the UK!), Kaila (who puts up with me when I forget to mail her stuff on time), Nurin (my Canada connection), Marie (the coolest librarian in the WORLD and who has a heart of gold besides), Nancy (you romantic, you), Skyanne (who is just the sweetest!), Catt (can’t wait to meet you), Shesten (I have a feeling we’ll have SO much fun together), Noel (who commiserates with me on Myspace), Amber (for helping me Rock This!), Michelle (whose sense of humor I LOVE), Taschima (who always makes me smile), Shelly (my favorite cowgirl), Kristi (who has changed the face of blogging with her professional and honest reviews), Melanie (who inspires me with her enthusiasm), Tina (I love your reviews), Beth and Nathan (the BEST book blogging couple!), and every one of my Word Ninjas.

There are some awesome Prophecy contests, interviews and reviews going on this month from these bloggers, and I hope you all take a look!

First and foremost is the awesome Gothic Film Club hosted by Shelly at Write for a Reader. As die-hard film fans, the kids and I are participating (we started with The Others a few days ago) and we hope you’ll join us! A signed Prophecy hardcover is up for grabs each week as well as a big swag bag at the end of the month to anyone who participated during the month of August.

Other Prophecy stuff in the blogosphere includes;

Quest for Cuh-razy Creatures Contest at The Book Explorer

Prophecy review at Harmony Book Reviews

Why Victorian Guys are Hot Contest at The Frenetic Reader

Prophecy Review from Wondrous Reads

Add a Tune to the Prophecy Playlist Contest at Melanie’s Musings

Prophecy Review at The Book Reader

Interview at Fantastic Book Reviews (plus a contest!)

Prophecy review at Laura’s Review Bookshelf

Prophecy review at Garden of Books (for Teens)

Why Victorian Guys Rule contest at Reader Rabbit

Gorgeous Goth Guys and Girls Contest at Poisoned Rationality

Prophecy review at The Write Game

Prophecy review at Lyra Rose’s Blog

Good Twin/Evil Twin contest at So Many Books, So Little Time

Rock this! Thursday with me at Just Your Typical Book blog

Find out the behind-the-scenes story about my cover at Reading Keeps you Sane’s On The Outside

Prophecy review at Reading Rocks

Prophecy review at Windowpane Memoirs

Prophecy review at Reading to Myself

If I’ve forgotten your Prophecy-related review, interview, or contest, I’m sorry! Shoot me an email or a comment and I’ll link to it sometime in the next week.

Up tomorrow? A BIG thank you to my favorite authors – the new as well as those that inspired me. And more links!
πŸ˜€

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2009 1:11 am

    Aww, this was sweet! And very awesome to read!

  2. August 12, 2009 3:02 pm

    Awwwww, Michelle thank you so much! I ❀ you, and I thank you for being there for me through everything, and for your friendship. Cannot wait to see ya, when you go on tour!

    -Annie ❀

  3. August 12, 2009 8:10 am

    Aw, I’m touched! I’m so thrilled to know you and be able to support, cheer for, promote Prophecy. I ❀ U!!!

    Here's the link to my review: http://writeforareader.blogspot.com/2009/08/review-prophecy-of-sisters.html

  4. August 11, 2009 10:42 pm

    Woo!!

    It’s been a pleasure. And I hope to meet you in person one day soon πŸ™‚

  5. August 11, 2009 9:30 pm

    Michelle, I feel so honored to be listed here! From chatting with you about music, kids, life and everything else! You’ve always been there when I’ve been extremely down and picked me right up!

    I adored Prophecy and feel honored and privileged that I was one of the first bloggers to read it!

    Now, about that second book… πŸ˜›

    ❀ you!

  6. August 11, 2009 7:51 pm

    Omg! Mzink you are too too cute & awesome!

  7. August 11, 2009 3:50 pm

    Do you remember the fan cover I posted for POTS? – http://paradoxrevealed.blogspot.com/2009/07/prophecy-of-sisters-fan-cover.html

    Well, I ordered a copy of the book and a review should follow soon after I get it in the mail. I’m so excited because I’ve been wanting to read it since I first heard of it, back when all I could find out about it was the title and a sentence or two about the plot.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 14, 2009 1:33 pm

      Thanks so much for your support! It really does mean the world to me.
      ❀

      And I hope you enjoy the book!

  8. August 11, 2009 1:32 pm

    ❀ you, Michelle! ❀ πŸ˜€ You rock. CANNOT WAIT TO SEE YOUUUU ON TOUR!

  9. August 11, 2009 1:13 pm

    Many thanks to you! You are so friendly and easy to chat with! Once again, congrats on a great book release!

    I have my POTS Good Twin/Evil Twin contest going on here until August 19!

    Andrea

  10. August 11, 2009 10:23 am

    Michelle, it takes two for a good friendship and strong connection to work… and you definitely work that other half! You are the kind of author–no, the kind of PERSON–whom no one can resist, because you’re nice to everyone and love without reserve. So thank YOU. Similar to what Mitali said, never stop being you. πŸ™‚ Hope to see you around again!

    ❀

  11. August 11, 2009 8:23 am

    Aww Michelle, you are one of a kind!

  12. August 11, 2009 8:19 am

    I reserve the right to be the only blogger to call you dumbass πŸ™‚

    Thanks for including me in your lovely post. Friendship is the most prized thing I have received from book blogging.

    Mwah

  13. Mitali permalink
    August 11, 2009 1:31 am

    I should become a tourguide. πŸ˜‰
    I. ❀ you too MZ!
    You're a unique individual.
    Stay the same.
    Always.
    Love, MD.

  14. August 11, 2009 1:04 am

    ::peace sign:: its very easy being friendly with you Michelle!

Leave a Reply

