Skip to content

One Last Thank You!

August 15, 2009

I think it’s interesting that my Week of Thank Yous ended up being Two Weeks even, don’t you?

Maybe this is a sign that I should calculate how long I think things will take, double it, and be about right…
😉

I wanted to send a huge shout out to the zillions of people at Little Brown Books for Young Readers who have supported Prophecy and worked to make sure that everything was JUST SO, but some of them are rather shy and thus received private thank yous.

For now I’ll just say that Little Brown Books for Young Readers RULES. They take SUCH good care of their authors in every way, large and small. Most importantly, they take care of their BOOKS, insuring that each book is given the necessary marketing, design, publicity, and exposure it needs to have the best chance of success. The truth is, I just never worry about my book.

I mean, I WORRY.

About my writing, of course, and trying to make it the best I can. About finding an original story. About other things I can’t control – how well it will be received, how much people will or will not like it, etc.

But I never worry about whether it’s getting every chance. About whether enough people will know about it or whether we’re hitting the right demographic with the advertising, or anything else like that.

And I don’t worry about these things because I have this amazing, talented, passionate group of people on my side.

But that’s not all of it. Not really. They’re on the side of every great book. Of every story they believe should be heard. Of every reader looking for something moving and inspiring.

And that inspires me, and makes me very, very grateful.

So I’m just going to say thank you to LB and to a few people I think I can get away with naming specifically.

Thank you to Megan Tingley for believing in my book from the start. Thank you to Alison Impey for an amazingly gorgeous, ground-breakingly unique cover (and the book two cover which – you guys! – is gorgeous!!). Thank you to Rachel for scheduling every flight, booking every restaurant, shipping boxes of books and swag, and standing up for me when I am too much of a push over to stand up for myself.

It’s been SO much fun for me to take a look back at the people who supported me on this journey, and it’s made me realize all over again how necessary it is to have those people on your side. You have all made every difference to me. I will never forget it – or you.

And tomorrow is my Hometown Launch Party! I’m so excited about it, because even though I decided to keep it low-key with a small get together at my home after a signing at my local bookstore, it’s the first chance I really get to celebrate with the people who are a part of my day-to-day life. many of them have been with me since before I even started writing seriously, and it just means so much to me to be able to share the release of my book with them.

I’m going to be taking pictures AND vlogging both the signing and the party afterward, so stay tuned for a more personal glimpse at the Zink Clan and Friends.
😀

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 10:11 am

    I have noticed how awesome LB is to their authors too. Just from what I have seen.
    Have an amazing launch party!!
    Tell the Zink Clan I say hello!

    And I Can’t wait for Wednesday!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 15, 2009 10:20 am

      Thanks, Marie! We can’t wait to see you next week. It’s going to be SO much fun!

  2. Vanai permalink
    August 15, 2009 12:59 am

    We really do LOVE LBYR!! they have impeccable taste and wonderful book selection and am so glad you are among the fold!!!

Leave a Reply

