Skip to content

D’oh!

August 25, 2009

I realized today that it’s been a whole week since I’ve posted anything! See, I have this thing with blogging where I’m pretty sure no one’s interested in the day-to-day details of my life.

Which makes it difficult to post in times like these, because really, not a whole lot is going on.

Okay, that’s not 100% true. Stuff is GOING ON, but I’m not always sure it’s very interesting to anyone. Keeping that in mind, I don’t want you guys to think I fell of the face of the Earth, so I’m going to give you the probably-not-very-interesting skinny.

I’m kicking off a 13-day, eight-city tour (I’ve already done NY and will do Boston separately in October) in less than three weeks. Scheduling the tour in September was kind of a necessity, since I really wanted to incorporate school visits as well as bookstore and library events. Because Prophecy of the Sisters was released on August 1st and school doesn’t start for many schools until the 8th, my tour unfortunately collides with the start of school for my four kids and teens.

Which might just sound like TMI (does anyone really care about this stuff?!) but leaves me frantically preparing four kids for school – complete with physicals, eye appointments, dentist appointments, school supply shopping, etc. – while simultaneously preparing MYSELF and my house for the tour (stocking up on easy-to-cook groceries for Grandma and making sure the laundry is at least done when I LEAVE).

And I am SO not complaining! I’m super-excited to have the opportunity to talk to people all over the country about Prophecy and to meet up with so many of the friends I’ve made online. It’s such a privilege!

It’s just all left me a little… AHHHHHHH!

But it’s a good AHHHHHH! And I’m really looking forward to the tour AND to getting the kids settled back into their routine so I can settle back into MINE.

That’s because as soon as I get back from tour, I have to buckle down and finish Book Three in the Prophecy series. And as soon as I’m finished with that, I have some revising to do on a couple of other things I’ve been working on. I’m really looking forward to taking that deep I-don’t-have-much-on-the-calendar breath and settling in with my very favorite thing to do in the whole world – WRITING.

I feel so fortunate just to have that luxury, because even after everything that’s happened – all the excitement and reviews and events and promotion – writing is STILL my very favorite part. Which is a very good thing since I have so much of it to do.

So please forgive me if my blogs are a little infrequent. I *do* plan to Tweet from the tour and I *will* be checking email and keeping up with Facebook and Myspace.

In the meantime, I’ll try to stop in and post more than AHHHHHHHHHH!
πŸ˜€

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 8:28 pm

    I was so happy to come across your blog. It is thrilling to follow along and see your achievement come to fruition. I love it when I find a good book and I wish you much success!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      September 10, 2009 11:12 pm

      Thank you so much for taking the time to find my blog! It’s still very surreal, and in pretty much every way my life is the exact same – which just makes it easier for me to say AND mean that anyone can do it. Regardless of what people say about the tough economy, every day new deals for debut authors are announced in PW, PM, etc. Why not you?
      πŸ˜‰

      I’m so glad you enjoyed Prophecy, and I hope you enjoy the sequel, Guardian of the Gate, just as much. Keep in touch in the meantime, okay?
      πŸ˜€

      MZ

  2. Retha permalink
    September 7, 2009 8:15 pm

    My sister and I enjoyed Prophecy of the Sisters a great deal, I could hardly put it down! We are really looking forward to Guardian of the Gate and only wish the date of publication was much sooner. I wish you much success in your book tour. Thanks for a great read!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      September 7, 2009 9:00 pm

      Thank you so much, Retha, for your kind words about Prophecy. I’m with you! I wish Guardian of the Gate was coming out sooner, too!
      πŸ˜€

      We can keep each other company while we wait, though, so please stop by and stay in touch.
      ❀

      MZ

  3. lianne permalink
    September 1, 2009 11:14 pm

    Hi from Canada,
    I love the story of Prophecy of the Sisters. I bought the book yesterday and finished reading in 10 hours (with breaks to eat lunch, dinner and etc.) I just can’t put the book down to read the rest on another day. The story just makes you want to read it till the end without stoping. I can’t wait for the next book, im already excited.
    ^_^

    PS
    I love the cover picture. When I was flipping through a gossip magazine weeks ago, the cover picture caught my eye right away and i had to stop and see it closely (it was an ad for the book). After reading the synopsis, I told myself I had to read the book and it did not disappoint. Good job ~β™₯*

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      September 1, 2009 11:55 pm

      Hi, Lianne! Thanks so much for taking the time to visit me here in my blog!

      I’m so happy you enjoyed Prophecy as much as you did – but I’m very, very glad you took breaks for lunch and dinner. I wouldn’t have wanted you to faint from lack of nourishment! The second book in the series, Guardian of the Gate, will be out next year. You’ll have to come back and tell me what you think after reading it, okay?

      And keep in touch in the meantime, hon!
      ❀

  4. September 1, 2009 6:04 am

    Michelle! You made my year! I had no idea you would write such a gorgeous comment.

    *squeals in delight*

    I even rang my Dad in NSW (I’m a whole Australian State away) to tell him you’d graced my blog with your presence!

    I’m writing a ‘Young Adult’ book too – and I promise that when it comes out you’ll be one of the first to get a copy!

    I’ve been bragging to my blog friends and my real-world friends all day about this comment, haha.

    awesome awesome awesome.

    xx

  5. August 31, 2009 1:12 pm

    Hi from Holland!!!
    Oh Michelle,you sooooo made my day by commenting on my weblog!!!I screamed out loud!Thank you so much!I was going to comment here on your lovely weblog but wanted to wait untill the book had arrived and I had the chance to read a little.But you sure beat me to it!
    I purchased a signed copy of your book on ebay,I really immediately had a strong feeling about you and your book and would rather pay a little more to have a signed copy then to just grab one copy from the shelves in Waterstone!
    I think you are a HUGE inspiration,and I loved reading about you and seeing you in the youtube video!I can not wait for my book to arrive and start reading and will certainly be back to tell you alllllll about it!
    Again thanks for making my day and lots of dutch hugs from me to you!
    xoxo Dees

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:24 pm

      Aw, Daisy! I’m just as happy to talk to YOU!

      I can’t wait to hear what you think of the book. Doing a German tour is one of dreams, so maybe I’ll even get the chance to write a personal message in your book one day!
      *hugs*

      MZ

  6. August 31, 2009 8:23 am

    Hi Michelle,

    I have only just finished your book, and I have to say, I am darned impressed. If you happen to have a spare moment, I’ve written a review of Prophecy of the Sisters on my humble blog: http://www.myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

    Cannot WAIT for the next one.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 31, 2009 11:13 am

      Thank you SO much, Amiee, for the wonderful review. I’ll be posting a link and have left you a comment on your blog!
      ❀

  7. August 30, 2009 7:30 pm

    Your welcome! Sure, feel free to post them. πŸ™‚

    I’d love to!! I hope you’ll have a striking debut over here in little Germany.

  8. August 30, 2009 3:09 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    first thanks for signing Vania’s photo at NY Teen Talk. I love it! πŸ™‚
    This week I went to a local bookstore and look what I found there:

    It’s a sneak peek brochure of “Die Prophezeiung der Schwestern”. So cool! πŸ˜€

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 30, 2009 5:30 pm

      Eeeeep! SO excited to see this! Thanks SO very much for sending it. Is it okay if I post it here on my site and/or Facebook?

      I’m so happy you like the picture. Vania is just brilliant, and I’m so honored to have had the chance to work with her.

      Keep in touch, okay?
      ❀

  9. Julia permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:00 pm

    Dear Michelle!

    I’m a bookseller from Germany and fortunately got to read “The Prophecy of the Sisters” months ago.
    I just wanted to tell you, that I really liked it and recommend it to every customer that crosses my way.
    So I can assure you, that the translator did a very good job!
    Looking forward to reading the next part (which I will order in English, so I don’t have to wait longer than I already have to…)
    Bye,
    Julia

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 28, 2009 7:38 pm

      Hi, Julia! Thanks so much for your comment! It’s truly amazing to think of readers in Germany enjoying my book, and it means a lot to me that you took the time to let me know and that you’re recommending Prophecy to others. The second book, Guardian of the Gate (English), will be out next year and I hope you enjoy it every bit as much as you did Prophecy. I am still secretly hoping for a German tour…
      πŸ˜‰

      MZ

  10. Kristina permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:55 am

    Dear Michelle,

    I just wanted to start off by saying your book was phoenomenal! My sister and I just finished it a few days ago and we both can’t wait for the next book to come out – you’re writing is incredible! We were so disappointed when we couldn’t go to your book signing in Middletown, NY but luckily my sister’s fiance went for us. Thank you so much for signing the books. Neither of us are on Facebook or Twitter, so I figured this would be the next best way of thanking you for signing our books as well as providing us with such an enjoyable and gripping novel. Again, we can’t wait for the next one – we need to know what happens to Lia and everyone else! lol Hope to speak to you soon!

    Kristina

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      August 26, 2009 7:07 pm

      Kristina!!! I SO remember your sister’s fiance! I told him that I thought it was the sweetest thing in the world that he would go to the trouble of having the books signed for you and your sister!

      I’m SO happy you wrote to tell me how much you enjoyed the book. It just means the world to me, and I sincerely hope we’ll get to meet at another local event. The second book, Guardian of the Gate, will be out next year. I hope you enjoy it just as much – and DEFINITELY hope to see you at that signing.
      ❀

      MZ

  11. Aimee permalink
    August 26, 2009 5:53 am

    I loved the book! Is there going to be more??? I would love to read them as well (If???) Thank you

Leave a Reply

