Skip to content

Something to tide you over…

September 30, 2009

I’m baaaaaack!

Well, for a few days anyway.

I’ve finally returned from my crazy tour and have a few days until I leave for the last leg in Boston next week. I know you’re all expecting pictures and DETAILS – which I fully plan to provide, I promise – but I’m still rounding up all the pictures from the two weeks that I was gone.

In the meantime, I just want to say thank you to the many, many people who came out to my signings all over the country. Thank you to all the authors who made my event(s) by stopping by and sometimes even having dinner with me (more on that later *cough*KamiGarciaMargaretStohlKimberlyDertingMandyHubbardAprilynnePikeSaraQuigleyDaisyWhitneyJeanneGlassmanMalindaLoC.LeeMacKenzieJamesDashnerSydneySalterBreeDespain*cough*). You guys really eased my homesickness and it was just awesome to hang out and get to know you all better. I also want to say thank you to the maaaaaany bloggers who showed up at my events. Again, I’ll be posting specifics over the next week, but I was so happy to meet you. You are all every bit as wonderful in person! I also have to extend a HUGE thank you to the schools, teachers, and librarians who opened their doors – and hearts – to me. School visits were my favorite, and it was truly a privilege to meet so many amazing teens who love to read and write. Thank you to the authors at the Anderson’s YA Conference for keeping me such amazing company that I almost missed my driver because we were having too much fun hanging out and talking in the hotel restaurant. This means YOU Lisa Yee, Ellen Hopkins, Libba Bray, Cynthea Liu, and Kerry Madden!
😀

Anyway, I promise details (and because I am a Serial Thanker – more thank yous!)! You’ll just have to be patient with me, because it’s a big deal for me to be away from home for two whole weeks. I’m still putting my house back together, settling my kids (who hate it when I’m gone), and catching up on a million different things.

And… yeah. Speaking of catch-up! If I owe you an email or something, please hang in there. As you know, I DO respond to all of my emails. Eventually. Heh. Seriously, though, with Prophecy now being published in 17 countries and 13 languages, I’m getting a lot of wonderful emails from all over the world, so it sometimes takes me awhile to respond when I’m backed up. Same goes for the discussion boards at www.prophecyofthesisters.com. I participate in many of those discussions, but I can only drop in to catch up every few days.

Oh! Prophecy had some amazing reviews while I was gone, and I want to give credit where credit is due by posting some links to them here. I’ll be spreading them out over the next few weeks, but here are a couple to tide you over…
😉

Libro Dilectio

The Book Butterfly

And one of my all-time favorites; Yatterings. Stay tuned to this blog for an interview with me coming up in the near future. Just as soon as I finish answering the questions.
😀

I’m always amazed how much fun it is to connect with people online. You guys proved it to me while I was gone, because meeting you made me so happy, and I really missed you when I couldn’t log in and say hello.

You’re the BEST!

PS. Tomorrow I’ll post the not-entirely-scientific results of my Tour Poll in which I asked teens all over the country whether they prefer hardcover or paperbacks, whether they prefer series or stand-alones, what element(s) they feel are overdone in YA fiction, etc. Come back for a peek and hopefully some good debate!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 12:17 pm

    Interesting observations, Michelle! Great post! Sounds like you’re doing an amazing job!

  2. September 30, 2009 9:44 pm

    I absolutely loved Prophecy of the Sisters! The reason I read this book was because my sister noticed the book was about twins. Since we are twins we thought it would be fun to read and picked it up. I think you have an amazing and unique writing style. I also love the era you chose to write the book, very appropriate for the story. I can not wait for Guardian of the Gate, I know it will be amazing, it’s so hard waiting for a book to come out! Also will you ever be having a tour in Canada?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      September 30, 2009 10:07 pm

      You’re a twin!! It must be strange, in a way, to read Prophecy as a twin…. were you eying each other suspiciously as you read?! Lol!

      I’m so happy you enjoyed the book. It means the world to me to know that readers are finding enjoyment in the pages of my story. I would LOVE to make some Canadian stops… let’s hint to the publisher, shall we?
      😉

      Thanks again for stopping by. I hope you’ll join me here or on the Prophecy discussion boards during the wait for Guardian of the Gate.

  3. samantha jaen grisdale permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:39 pm

    just wanting to let you know how hard it is to find a great book that takes you away to another world with every turn off the page. your book is amazing i finished it last night and i am eager to go out and find the second book. just wanted to thank you

    Samantha Grisdale

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      September 30, 2009 10:04 pm

      Wow… this is one of those comments I want to frame, just to remind myself of the “why” of what I do.

      You described exactly the way I feel when I’m reading an amazing book. Not coincidentally, it’s also how I feel when I’m writing, which is probably why I write so much.

      Thank you for sharing with me your enjoyment of the book. It’s going to be tough to wait for Guardian of the Gate, but maybe you can stop in from time to time and we can keep each other company while we wait. You can also go to the discussion boards at the Prophecy site to talk to others who enjoyed the book.

      Thanks again for visiting my blog!

      MZ

Leave a Reply

