Skip to content

Raw Data

October 1, 2009

So, here’s the thing about being on tour for two weeks. You kind of lose track of how many people you’ve talked to and met along the way. Most days, I had two school visits – one in the morning and one in the afternoon – and an evening bookstore event. But a school visit doesn’t necessarily mean one group of kids. Sometimes, I’d give 3-5 back-to-back presentations with 100+ kids in each group.

Let’s just say for the sake of argument that I spoke to an average of 100 kids a day for 13 days (I think this is probably close to accurate).

That means I spoke to 1300 kids ages 12-18 in less than two weeks.

That is A LOT of kids!

But I loved every minute. I love talking to kids and teens because they tend to be so enthusiastic, so open-minded, so curious and passionate. And as I wrote in my previous post, it was really fun for me to engage in my signature, two-way Q&A. It was fascinating to watch them become excited and passionate about books and to realize that I cared what THEY thought.

I’m going to share my informal findings here, and I’d love to hear your thoughts as well – as a reader, writer, blogger, or reviewer.

Following are some of the questions I most frequently ask;

1. When you go into a store to browse, what are the main things that make you decide to pick it up and take a closer look?

What I expected to hear; cover

What I heard; cover. Without fail, most young readers cited the cover as THE most important part of their decision to pick up a book in a bookstore and then take a closer look and/or consider buying it. Other popular answers were reading the jacket copy or summary on the back, the title, reading the first page, and opening to a random part of the book to read a couple of pages. What I DIDN’T hear also surprised me. In all the schools I visited, I probably only had one reader say they noticed or cared if other authors had blurbed a book. Personally, I think this is probably based at least partially on WHO’S blurbing. I mean, if you have a JK Rowling, Stephenie Meyer, or Neil Gaiman blurb, I’m thinking you’re better off than having a blurb by, say, ME! Just sayin’!

2. When you go into a bookstore knowing what you’re going to buy, what are the main things that have gotten you there intent on buying THAT book?

What I expected to hear; blog buzz and/or media coverage, ads, etc.

What I heard; The main reasons for PLANNING to buy a book were cited as a friend’s recommendation, seeing the book advertised somewhere (magazine, teen website, etc.), or having it be part of a series they’ve already enjoyed. Again, I was surprised not to hear more about blog buzz, but I’m beginning to realize that’s because the online reading, blogging, writing, and reviewing community feels like a bit of a fishbowl these days. It’s easy to attach tremendous importance to every blog review, every comment, every Follower, but the reality is that the average teen doesn’t even know blogs exist. And those that do only take passing notice, i.e. “I know they’re out there, but I don’t go to them or pay attention to what they say.”. This is good and bad. As I’ve said, I LOVE connecting with bloggers. They’re some of the most ardent readers around, and it’s just plain fun to talk about books, compare notes on what we’re reading, etc. It would be nice to think that, even though many of the bloggers I talk to online feel like real friends, some of that will spill over into the general reading community. Then again, it makes it easier to bear the occasional negative review, snarky comment, or clique (of which I am typically on the outside). Other writers have commented to me since my last post on this topic that they were incredibly relieved to hear it, because sometimes it just feels like your whole writing life is riding on a handful of blogs. These writers have said that it’s really nice to know that there’s a WHOLE lot more to a “successful” book than that. So now I’m curious! What do you guys think? Do you think it’s important to bring the “everyday” reader into the blogging community?

3. When you buy a book, does it matter if it’s paperback or hardcover?

What I expected to hear? that teens prefer paperbacks because they’re cheaper.

What I heard; 80% of teens PREFER hardcover!! This SHOCKED me! Now I feel naive, because of course, most teens either have parents buying their books OR they spend their own cash – all of which is, essentially, disposable income. Teens said they preferred hardcover because they felt like “they would last longer” and/or they were “nicer”. The rare teen who said they preferred paperback said they were “easier to carry in my backpack” and, yes, very occasionally “they’re cheaper.”

4. Do you prefer series books or stand-alone books?

What I expected to hear; I wasn’t sure! I’d been hearing some stuff in the blogosphere about readers being tired of series, but I LOVE reading AND writing them, so I just wasn’t sure what I’d hear…

What I heard; SERIES! Overwhelmingly. Teens said they get attached to characters and storylines and they don’t want to say goodbye after just one book. They also said they figured, “If I liked one book in a series, I’ll probably like the rest,” which prompted me to ask, “So if you read book one in a series and you enjoy it, is it pretty much guaranteed you’re going to read the next one regardless of what you might hear about it, good or bad?” To which they ALL responded, “Yes!”

5. What do you think we have too much of in the YA genre?

What I expected to hear; vampires. Or girl books.

What I heard; SHOCKER ALERT!!! The answer, most often from girls, was ROMANCE! And I was like, “WTF?” Because, seriously, THAT’S WHAT IS SELLING, people! But many, many girls said they’re becoming tired of books that center around an all-consuming romance. They said that they like having SOME romance in books, but they’re getting bored with having that be ALL a book’s about. They want MORE. Weird, huh?

6. What do we need MORE of in the YA genre?

What I expected to hear; was totally unsure!

What I heard; books for boys, comedy(!), again (back to the theme from above) more “mysteries or thrillers without having it all be romance.”

7. What ruins a book for you?

What I expected to hear? a “slow” book or one without enough action.

What I heard; “books that always have a happy ending.” This kind of surprised me! But A LOT of teens said that they don’t like it when everything turns out perfectly in every book. They seem to understand that life doesn’t work this way most of the time, and while they want to escape into another story, they also seem to want stories, characters, and endings that are at least somewhat reflective of the lives they live. I was also surprised at how many teens (guys included!) said they hate most of the stereotyping of school cliques or characters. They seems to agree that in general, kids aren’t as mean as they’re made out to be in books. And the lines aren’t as clearly delineated as you might think. In other words, a Cheerleader can be nice AND smart. Not only that, she might very well be friends with someone who’s a Geek or a Skater or a Goth. Along the same lines, they said they didn’t like it when characters were portrayed as being perfect and having everything. I thought this was very insightful, actually. They said that even if someone’s gorgeous or popular, he/she has problems, too, just like everyone else.

All in all, the teens I spoke with proved what I’ve known all along; they’re insightful, interesting, intelligent, complex people. They asked savvy questions about the business end of publishing (how do you get an agent? can you take your book to another publisher if you don’t like the cover?) and were incredibly interested in the writing process (how do you come up with ideas for your books? what do you do if you get writer’s block?). They were respectful (mostly! and when they weren’t, I shut them down. Having teenagers around all the time has many benefits!), funny, charming, and heartbreakingly sincere.

They gave me hope for the future of reading and writing and reminded me why it’s a privilege to do what we do.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 12:47 pm

    Wow, thanks for posting this! Very illuminating.

    And yes! More boy books plz!! ;P

  2. claudia permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:38 pm

    Michelle- it was nice meeting you! I was at changing hands in Phoenix AZ with my little monkey who oddly enough wanted a rose bracelet. It’s strange to see that alot of teens don’t use the blog community. I have about 5 bloggs I hit everyday for updates. I have yet to find a readers blog that compells me to read or become active in. I tried to get my 2 younger (teen) sisters to read bloggs but they think it is boring and not worth the time. BLUHHH! Well like I said earlier it was nice to meet you. I was so nervous it was my first time going to a signing and meeting an author of a book I truly enjoyed. CAN’T WAITE FOR THE NEXT BOOK! Can 2010 come any slower?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 8, 2009 7:06 am

      Hi, Claudia! So nice to hear from you! I definitely remember you from Changing Hands – and your little monkey!
      😀

      I’m happy to hear that you use the blogs the find book recommendations. They’re a great resource for readers, and I hope more people take advantage of them in the future.

      It was wonderful to meet you! I’m really glad you enjoyed the book! I’m DYING to unveil book two (and the COVER!), Guardian of the Gate. Luckily, there are a bunch of readers who are ALSO dying for it to be released and many of them are keeping me company on the Prophecy site at http://www.prophecyofthesisters.com. Maybe I’ll see you there!

      MZ

  3. Jen permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:09 pm

    I loved your Q&A at the HB signing. It is such a brilliant idea to ask your attendees questions. It’s equally interesting to read the final results from the tour. One of the things I was intrigued by(in HB) was how many people said they read the first page ( or 3) of the books that caught their eye. I’m an avid reader and have never done that. I rely mostly on rec’s from friends or family and interesting synopsis. If I judged some of the books I’ve read in the past year based on looking at the first few pages, I’d have passed up some amazing reads.

    The blog poll answers are pretty interesting. I’d be curious to find out what percentage of bloggers followers are other bloggers and what the rest of the follower-ship consists of.(wow. say that 10 times fast;p) I know Annie started her blog because much to her dismay, her friends at school were not readers. She needed an outlet where she could share her thoughts about books with others who were as enamored with them as she is.

    Before Annie started her blog, she read other book blogs. It’s how she figured out she wanted to start one. She’s a bit of an oddity though, I don’t think “typical” middle graders read 10-15 books a month. So, for her to seek information to feed her passion for books makes sense. I’m not sure the casual reader would be that driven to look for book blogs. Your data backs that up.

    I’m glad you had such a wonderful time connecting with all your readers. It was wonderful meeting you. I do wish I had been able to spend more time talking to you<3 You are a joy to be around.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 9:13 pm

      I thought that was scary, too, Jen. Sometimes it takes a bit to be really drawn into a a story, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I hate to think we’ve come to a point where we have to be hit over the head with something for it to be worthwhile… But that’s what a lot of them said, so I’ll be taking that into account as I continue to fine-tune my writing ability.

      Meeting you and having dinner was a highlight of my tour. Truly. I had a great time, and I, too, wish we’d had more time to just visit. Hopefully sometime soon!

  4. October 1, 2009 5:37 pm

    As a book blogger, I already know how great the book blogging community is and I’m all for pulling more people in! My daughter and I love hardcover books as well, so I wasn’t surprised by that answer. This was a very insightful article full of interesting observations. As an adult reader of young adult fiction, I am always fascinated with what teens enjoy reading. I’ve also been a vampire lover for over 30 years, so you’d think I would love all the new vampire stuff, but there is just too much of it now – and some of it isn’t well written. I’m always on the look out for that “different” story – I think that’s why I loved Prophecy of the Sisters so much!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 5:45 pm

      So nice to hear from you, Bobbi!

      As you can imagine, I read a lot of YA myself, and I think it’s amazing that the YA genre has inspired more adults to read the books their teens are reading. Isn’t it great to be able to talk to your daughter about books the books SHE is reading? I LOVE it!

      And thank you for the kind words about Prophecy. I tell all the teens that I meet and speak with that continuing to put fresh, new ideas into the publishing marketplace is a two-fold responsibility; we writers have to work to bring something new to the table, but READERS (and I’m one of those, too!) have to remember to TRY different types of books now and then, because if we keep buying the same stuff over and over, pretty soon that’s all we’ll have to choose from.

      It’s interesting to see the light bulb go on when we discuss this because, honestly, it has not even occurred to them that their book buying choices have ANY impact at all on the marketplace. They seem pleased and proud to know that they have a HUGE impact and that their choices DO matter.
      😀

    • Corinne permalink
      October 7, 2009 9:11 pm

      Hey, i was at one of the schools you visited and so many people at my school are talking about you. This is the first time i have ever wrote in like a blog or anything like this. I havent read the book yet but i ordered it and i should get it really soon. When i read what bobbi sayed i had to write in, I love vampire books but there is so many vampire books out there and they arnt very well writen and i have gotten to a point where i dont even like to read them now because its like im reading the same thing over and over the same love story and its just gotten boring. im so exsited to read this book because i have heard so many great this about it from everyone that has read it but the last thing i have to say (sorry it was so long lol) but i LOVE the music so much i play the piano but the music to me was just amazing and i cant wait to read the book and really see the connection between the book and the music.

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        October 8, 2009 7:09 am

        Corinne! I’m so honored that you took the time to look me up online and leave a comment. I’ve LOVED visiting so many schools and talking to so many readers. It’s been such an enlightening experience, and I swear I learn so much from listening to you guys.

        I can’t wait to hear what you thought about Prophecy, so you have to come back here and let me know what you think, okay? You can also go over to http://www.prophecyofthesisters.com. There are discussion boards over there, and a lot of wonderful people who are excited about Prophecy and about reading in general.

        If you go to the “Music” tab of this website, you’ll find the link to Kenneth’s music page where you can hear more of his Prophecy music. He always loves to hear from other people who play the piano, because even though he plays guitar, drums, and bass, too, piano is really his love.

        Keep in touch, hon!

        MZ

  5. October 1, 2009 3:25 pm

    This was really such a cool idea to get feedback on. And the feedback you got was very interesting.

    I wonder if there’s a correlation between teens liking the hardback books, and the fact that they like series books? More and more series are starting out with hardcovers. So after you’ve read a certain number of series in hardcover, seeing a new series starting out with a hardcover might help win them over?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 3:28 pm

      It’s definitely possible! I think we’re all in agreement (so far) that the answer to that question is the most surprising.

      I LOVE hardcovers, but they’re difficult to carry on planes and they ARE expensive! The answer to that one just defied my every expectation!

      Thanks for stopping by, Scott, and congrats again on the book!!!!
      😀

  6. October 1, 2009 2:56 pm

    Hi!
    Just finished “Prophecy of the Sisters” and I loved it! I loved the fact that it was set to the late 19th century and written in that style, but that it is mixed with more modern fantasy. I bought this book out of curiosity, and haven’t heard anything about it before, but I will most certainly recommend it to my friends. Great book, can’t wait for the next one!

    And I do love hardcover books as well! I am a teenager and I buy my own books (I spend most of my money on books; usually up to £200 each month!), so I do often buy paperback books, but hardcover books have that special thing about them. The thing I love most about hardcover books are the lovely creaking sound that comes when you open the book for the first time. I never get tired of it.

    I loved this post, great questions!

    ~ Mia (18) from Norway 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 3:05 pm

      Mia!!!! You found me from Norway?! WOOT!
      😀

      Thank you so much for your very kind words about Prophecy. It means so much to me to know that readers all over the world are enjoying my story. The fact that you took the time to find me online just makes my day!

      And the creaking sound! It's one of my favorites, too…

      Keep in touch, Mia, and I hope you enjoy the second book in the series, Guardian of the Gate, as much as you enjoyed Prophecy.

  7. Angela permalink
    October 1, 2009 2:36 pm

    Great info, Michelle! Especially the stuff about the book bloggers. I think book blogs are great, but at the same time it does seem to be the same people blogging, reading and commenting and thinking that they have so much influence. So yeah, authors shouldn’t get too excited or upset by what is or is not being said about their book there.

    I think one of the main problems is that book bloggers don’t know who their audience is … you’re right, it’s not primarily teens – it’s adults. But on the flip side, a lot of the traffic going to the blog is google (and other search engines) searches about a book title or an author. So having your book talked about in the book blogging community and doing interviews is good because that info will be there for a long time for people to find.

    Before I really knew about book blogs, I would go online to find more info about a book or author I liked and I didn’t even realize that I was reading a book blog, but I knew that I really liked the info I was reading. So it could be that teens don’t even know that what they are reading is a book blog. It’s just something they read online.

    Also, what age were most of the teens you were talking to? Because I would think that older HS teens would be more aware of these things than younger middle school teens.

    And then of course keep in mind that all of these book bloggers are talking about books to other people and recommending or not recommending books to them. You said that one of the main reasons teens walked into a story PLANNING to buy a book was a friend’s recommendation. Well, where does that friend find out about the book? Somewhere back in the chain of people talking about books, I bet you hit more of the online resources for books such as blogs, GoodReads, etc.

    I know that I have a lot of people who don’t research books to read online because they know to just ask me what I read recently that was good or to ask my opinion about a book they were considering reading or giving as a gift or for their kid. I hardly ever have a conversation that doesn’t include books at some point and you can’t measure the influence of word-of-mouth even though I would argue that it’s the single most important driver of sales.

    Great info! I love how you asked questions back to the kids and people at your events on your tour. Sounds like you got some really great feedback to think about!

  8. October 1, 2009 2:27 pm

    The hardcover answer surprised me as well! I have to pay for most of the books I buy, so I almost always go with paperback. I think “everyday” readers definitely need to be brought into the blogging community. I didn’t know that blogging even existed until a couple months before I started. I know a lot of bloggers don’t tell their friends that they blog (I don’t), but I think we should. New blood is always interesting. 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 2:38 pm

      I agree, Melanie! And I think an interesting question to ask bloggers is; What do you hope to accomplish by blogging? If it’s just to develop friendships and camaraderie with other avid readers, it doesn’t matter so much whether they see a lot of “outside” traffic. If, on the other hand, your goal is to be relevant as a REVIEWER, you’d almost HAVE to agree that reaching out to the non-blogging community is important, yes? Because really, even if we’re generous and say the YA blogging community is 100-people strong (not accounting for those who don’t post reviews often or don’t have a very solid presence yet), that’s still not all that much when you’re talking about books that sell thousands and thousands of copies.

      Something to think about, I guess, for all of us…

      • Angela permalink
        October 1, 2009 3:05 pm

        Did you know that some of the most popular book blogs average over 1000 hits per day (at least back in May when I heard this info … it’s probably grown much larger by now). So if you think that the active book blogging community is only 100 people strong (I’m curious how you came up with this number), then you have quite a bit of outside traffic visiting and participating in the top sites.

        Traffic stats are really an important thing to consider when looking at a blog — who the followers are (bloggers or not), where they are coming from (feed readers, internet searches, other blogs, etc), are they repeat readers or just one-time for the info they were searching, etc. — but this type of info is usually not public, especially for the larger/more popular blogs.

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        October 1, 2009 3:23 pm

        Let me clarify; when I used 100 people strong, I was A) referring specifically to YA book bloggers NOT their audience, and B) speaking about the people I see time and again posting VERY regularly, commenting on other people’s blogs, etc.

        And again, I’m not insinuating that I don’t think book bloggers are important! I REALLY don’t want to give you that impression, because ANYONE in the blogging community will tell you that I am among its most ardent supporters and have put a tremendous amount of time, energy, and money (in the form of promotional swag for bloggers to give away) into that community. This is largely because I believe blogs DO make some sort of difference, even if its in the form of the intangible elements like hits from a Google search and/or Brand ID with cover, title, etc.

        I’m simply passing along what I was told. These teens were ages 12-18, middle- AND high-schoolers. But they all said basically the same thing. And I think they DO know, for the most part, what a blog is. They read movie blogs, gossip blogs, celebrity blogs, etc. They just don’t cite book blogs as a source for their reading material. When they cite online sources, they most often mention sites like Amazon or B&N online and many made a point of saying they look at books they liked and then follow down to the “Others who bought this book also bought…” type of recommendations. From there, they say they read the reviews on Amazon or B&N online.

        Anyway, I think this is a good, productive discussion to have, and I don’t want to NOT have it because we’re all afraid of looking honestly at the issue or (in my case) because I’m afraid of alienating one of the many bloggers I respect and admire. I think it’s far better to look at the feedback and consider it for what it’s worth, yanno?
        😉

      • Angela permalink
        October 1, 2009 3:54 pm

        This is a GREAT discussion, Michelle! I hate online stuff bc you don’t know if someone is upset or not (I’m not). I agree and disagree with stuff at the same time. But information and discussions like this are the only way to understand what’s going on.

        re: blog commentors – in general, most people don’t comment. So the people that you see consistently commenting are not a good indication of who is reading the blog. I’m a good example, because I read a lot of blogs but don’t comment. Why? Time. I don’t think the blogger or other commentors care what I have to say — mostly bc they don’t “know” me, I think. My points have already been said. I don’t want to jump into a heated debate. I totally disagree with what is being said and don’t want to start a debate. There’s lots of reasons. So while I get that looking at the comments of a blog can be one way of evaluating how “good” a blog is, or measuring its influence, it’s not always a good tool especially when used in isolation. But at the same time, there aren’t a lot of “tools” to work with, so I know that you have to use what’s available.

        I think my main points are that (1) teens aren’t the main audience for book blogs, so I wouldn’t discount them just because teens say they don’t use them (I know that you aren’t trying to do that); (2) you can’t really measure the influence of people talking about books online; (3) but at the same time, book bloggers aren’t quite so influential as they’d like to think they are.

        Oh, and re: SERIES … I would love to see more books in a series published closer together. I know there are handful of series where the books are released less than a year a part (6 to 9 months, depending on the series). I’d love to know how that worked out for the author, publisher and readers. I personally loved not having to wait as long for the next book. Even 9 months apart is so much more do-able than 12 months. I don’t know what it is about those 3 months, but I always get so stir-crazy for the next book at around the 9-month mark.

        Thanks for sharing your market research, Michelle!

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        October 1, 2009 4:07 pm

        Lol! SO true about the series timeline! I am DYING knowing Guardian of the Gate won’t be out until next summer! Gah!
        😦

        And you’re totally right about comments not being a good indicator of blog activity. I’d heard that before, of course, and I often don’t leave comments, either. Honestly, the thing that most surprised me is that, in talking to approximately 1300 teens in the course of only two weeks, not one mentioned book blogs as a source of information for their book purchases. In a way, it’s a shame, because this information might very well make it easier for them to make choices when buying a book.

        On the other hand, adults DO read the blogs, so maybe it doesn’t matter so much. I guess it goes to that question of where each individual blogger wants to be in the blogosphere. Once you know that, you can tailor your strategy to drive the appropriate kinds of traffic to your blog.

        I’m also very curious to see how the inclusion of blurbs from bloggers impacts the blog traffic. It’s very possible that seeing a book blogger blurbing a high-profile book might motivate a teen reader to take a look at that blog, especially if a link is provided along with the blurb.

        I also want to say that while I’m posting this here for the first time, this is a topic that has been heatedly debated on closed-forum author sites for many, many months. Every author has an opinion on the subject – often a fiercely defended one! I have always been adamantly on the “bloggers matter” side of the argument, so no one wants to prove that they DO more than me. Otherwise, I have to say the dreaded words; “I was wrong.”
        😀

        Seriously, though, I have more invested than most in the blogging community, so this was actually kind of difficult for me to admit! But like you said, it’s a good discussion to have, and it is what it is, in any case. Pretending it isn’t, doesn’t make it true! I figured I might as well tell it like I heard it and go from there…

        Thanks so much for chatting with me on this topic, Angela. It’s a good thing we didn’t have this debate when we had dessert in SLC. We’d have been there all night!

      • Angela permalink
        October 1, 2009 4:30 pm

        “Lol! SO true about the series timeline! I am DYING knowing Guardian of the Gate won’t be out until next summer! Gah! :(”

        Well, at least you know what happens in the next book! The rest of us are in the dark! 🙂

        Yeah, I can see how talking 1300 teens not having 1 of them mention a blog would make stop and go, “huh”. BUT, teens aren’t the audience for blogs (as we discussed about 9 months ago on email). AND, even though there are a lot of blogs out there, when you compare their combined readership with the general reading population for YA, you’re right that they are just a drop in the bucket. Okay, I’d give the bloggers 5 drops in the bucket! 😉 But every drop counts. And while there is some cross-over, I think a lot of those drops come from different groups of people who would not have otherwise picked up a particular book. And in my opinion, any one who actively talks about books to other people (online or offline) is creating a ripple, and that’s important.

        I think book blogs are not reaching a larger audience because they are still a grass-roots-type of group. Yes, authors and publishers have acknowledged them by supporting them with interviews, ARCs, etc. But it’s still a homespun kind of thing. What do you think? Some book bloggers have had their blurbs printed on books or other marketing materials, but not a lot (that I have seen, anyway). I’m torn — I don’t know if book blogging will evolve into something “bigger” and I don’t know if it would be a good thing if it did. But I think that’s the only way that you’ll talk to 1300 teens and get them to mention book blogs as a place to go to find out about good books.

        Aw, c’mon! It would have been tons of fun to talk about this at dessert! I would have loved to know what the other authors thought of it as well. And now I’m curious about these closed-forum discussions you’ve been participating in …

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        October 1, 2009 4:43 pm

        True, true! I can’t complain!
        😀

        *locks lips, throws away the key*

        And on a completely different note! You know those rose pins I gave out at my signing? Well, I went to order more (they have become very sought-after), and guess what?!

        They’re SOLD OUT!

        *cries*

      • Angela permalink
        October 1, 2009 5:02 pm

        Bummer! I forgot to pick one up!

  9. October 1, 2009 2:25 pm

    Oh, Young People! Don’t like hardcovers more than paperbacks! You are hurting my bank account that way. *weeps* I don’t have parents to buy my books for me. (Heck, mine won’t even buy new paperbacks, if they have to pay more than $2 for a book they throw a fit! Ahhh, parents. ;))

    I am honestly surprised by that answer more than the others. Though I will agree with the “too much romance” in books these days. I like me a good thriller or serial killer in a book. (not in real life, mind.)

    You asked some fantastic questions – this was a great post to read!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 2:34 pm

      So glad you don’t prefer serial killers in real life, Cat!
      😀

      Thanks for stopping by to read the responses. I’m still pondering all the interesting answers!

  10. October 1, 2009 2:00 pm

    This is super fascinating and I’ll admit, made me happy.
    Love the responses!

  11. October 1, 2009 12:39 pm

    I have to say, the hardcover answer surprised me the most!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      October 1, 2009 1:01 pm

      That one surprised me, too. I practically had to put a hand over my mouth to keep from saying, “But aren’t the EXPENSIVE?” because even I think twice before buying a hardcover. I have to REALLY want it! Then a couple of times the parents shouted out, “That’s because she’s not the one buying!” and I kind of got it….

Trackbacks

  1. Yatterings » A Gothic elegance – Michelle Zink interviewed about Prophecy of the Sisters

Leave a Reply

