Skip to content

There’s No Place Like Home

October 8, 2009

I’m homeeeeee! WOOT!

After two weeks on the first leg of my tour and three days in Boston, I finally get to settle in to write Book Three in the Prophecy series.

I’m working on compiling all my pictures and memories of my tour into something coherent that I can share here. More then likely, it will end up as multiple posts, because SO much happened that I doubt I’ll be able to get it all into one post.

For now, I’m going to give you a couple of random updates!

My Polish publisher has unveiled a GORGEOUS Prophecy trailer and website. And no, I don’t speak Polish! But it’s totally worth looking at – it’s THAT beautiful. The enthusiasm of my foreign publishers continues to humble me.

I recently received news that Prophecy garnered a starred review from VOYA! I’m a huge fan of VOYA, so getting a starred review really means the world to me. You can read the review in its entirety, in addition to a great review recently received from The Bulletin, on the Books tab of this website.

Book Divas has chosen Prophecy as a Featured Book, and I couldn’t be more honored! I’ll be honest; it’s still a little surreal to see my work next to that of so many authors that I have long admired. Thanks, Book Divas, for the vote of confidence!

There’s still plenty fo time to enter the Justine Sparks Prophecy of the Sisters Book Trailer Contest! The winner gets their trailer featured on the Justine Sparks website, a phone call from me (SO excited! I’m such a talker!), and TONS of book loot! Spread the worddddd! 😀

Prophecy of the Sisters was nominated for the 2009 Cybil Awards! This would be a big enough honor, but it’s made bigger by the fact that it was nominated by Sarah Ockler, author of one of my very favorite debut book of 2009, Twenty Boy Summer. Twenty Boy Summer is, of course, also nominated (and deservedly so) along with many more of my favorites. Thanks, Sarah!

My interview with Iain is up over at Yatterings. I know interviews sometimes seem overdone, but Iain really knows his stuff. He made me WORK to answer these questions, and they really are among some of the most interesting, insightful questions I’ve ever been asked. Take a look and prepare to be impressed. With Iain. Not me.
😉

That’s all for now. I love to post links to reviews and interviews, but honestly, a lot of the last two months is just a blur! If you’ve posted a Prophecy review or interview on your blog and would like me to link to it, please leave me a comment with a link or, if you have my contact information, Facebook, Twitter, etc., drop me a line there so I can post it for you.

I’ll be posting my tour run-downs over the next couple of days and weeks, but might be otherwise scarce as I am knee-deep in Book Three. Still, I must confess to a lot of excitement at the prospect of being able to settle in and write again. And I realized the other day that that is the beauty of having the privilege to do what I do; as fun as it is to tour and interview and meet so many amazing people, when it’s all said and done, for me, it’s still about the writing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 10:30 pm

    Wow! Amazingly beautiful website.

  2. Ayla permalink
    October 20, 2009 6:07 pm

    ya know? your book Prophecy is going to be the next Twilight!!! i know it!

  3. Ayla permalink
    October 20, 2009 6:05 pm

    well im glad you’re home!

  4. Rose permalink
    October 11, 2009 9:31 pm

    It’s been fun reading of your adventures. Are you guys doing anything for Halloween, that is Prophecy themed? We’re doing the usual Halloween party with a million teens…
    Hope you & the kiddos are doing well!

  5. October 10, 2009 5:53 pm

    For those who want to understand what is written in the Polish trailer the text is as follows:

    Smierc jest poczatkiem – “Death is the beginning.
    mitosc przeklenstwem – Love is a curse.
    Dwie siostry – Two sisters,
    Jedno proroctwo – One prophecy:
    Strach Nienawisc – Fear, Hatred.
    Czy ksiega chaosu uwolni siedem plag? – In paper chaos freed seven plagues?
    Stanie sie cos porwornego… – It will be something horrible …
    Czy masz odwage poznac proroctwo? – Do you have the courage to know the prophecy?”

  6. Kimberly permalink
    October 9, 2009 10:24 am

    Poland for the win! Gorgeous site AND trailer (I’m sure it would be way cooler if I could actually understand what it said)!!!

    Congrats on surviving your monster tour (and on the Cybils nod…YAY!). And happy writing!

  7. October 9, 2009 12:27 am

    It’ll be nice to sleep in your own bed, I bet! I miss my pillow the most when I travel! 🙂

    Lily still demands to read ‘her’ book! 🙂 She’ll appreciate it much more when she’s older!

Leave a Reply

