Skip to content

With L-O-V-E

November 4, 2009

First of all, I want to say thank you for the outpouring of love I received after my last post. So many of you mentioned feeling misunderstood or alone, but you also spoke of hope and and patience and love and the willingness to walk the line between growing as a human being and accepting yourselves the way you are. And though only a few of you commented here, I received many, many private emails from people who found comfort in my post, and I, in turn, found comfort in your words and stories.

I want you all to know how very much it means to me. You are my online family, and your support of me means every bit as much as your support of my work.
❀

I want to give you guys a couple of updates and things to watch for in the next week or so!

My next contest will be holiday-themed and, as always, will feature tons of amazing swag that you can either keep for yourself or give away as gifts. I should have that up sometime in the next few days.

I also want to send a big shout-out to i09 for choosing Prophecy as one of the 2009 Most Notable Books at World Fantasy Con. If you love all things fantasy – from Aliens to V to Star Trek and so on, you HAVE to check out i09! I’ll be honest, I hadn’t heard of it before it popped up in my Google Alert, but now I’m sort of addicted. I seriously love this site and its contributors, so go take a look!

Justine Magazine is running a HUGE “Prophecy Alive” Trailer Contest through January 31, 2010. The winner gets his/her video book trailer posted to the Sparks website, tons of book loot including a backpack filled to the brim with the latest Hachette/Little Brown books AND an assortment of other Spark-reviewed books PLUS a phone call from moi! That’s right, I’ll be phoning the winner to personally thank you for your amazing trailer – which is mostly a big deal because I rarely, if ever, talk on the phone. I am seriously not a phone person, and I promise that if you win, I’ll be at least as nervous as you and we can laugh about it together! Anyway, check this contest out. Justine Magazine is a fantastic and empowering magazine for teens today and this promises to be a great contest.

More foreign rights have been sold to Prophecy including Czechoslovakia, Greece, Croatia, Bulgaria, and Turkey. This means Prophecy is being published in over 20 countries and more than 17 languages. WOOT!
πŸ˜€

Prophecy has received some awesome blog reviews in the past few days, and as usual, I want to send a big thank you to the bloggers who read and review Prophecy on their blogs and on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, etc. Some of the highlights from this week include;

Juiciliciouss Reviews who says about Prophecy, “… so intense that there are times when I just couldn’t stop reading.”

The Book Balcony – a new reviewer whom I was lucky enough to meet while on tour in Seattle! Please stop by and welcome her to the blogging community, she says about Prophecy, “… a book I may never get enough of and I can’t wait for the sequel.”

Shari Rosen, who summarized one of my tour signings at her blog, The Worries and Triumphs of an Unpublished Author. Shari is currently reading slush for a prominent literary agency and is an aspiring editor/writer, so you’ll find lots of interesting stuff on her blog. Plus she’s just awesome!

I know I still owe you guys a post on the second half of my tour. Sorry! I’ll get there eventually, but I’m deep into the drafting of Book Three in the Prophecy series and have to really work to find even a free second. Thanks for being patient with me.

I’ll also be posting a Top Books for Holiday Gift-Giving Guide SOON, so check back for great book recommendations for everyone on your holiday shopping list. NOTHING makes a better gift than a book!

Mwah!
❀

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hey Michelle,
    I was hoping to find an email on your site because I had so much to say, but I couldn’t so I hope other commenters will bear with me!

    I just started “Prophecy” and I love it of course! (Doesn’t everyone ?!) It is so intriguing & it has the perfect amount of creepiness. You are so creative. Your writing style reminds me slightly of Carrie Ryan in “The Forest of Hands and Teeth”. Have you read that? I am no expert, but it is probably because of the female lead/creepy mysterious happenings/before (or in Ryan’s case, after) modern civilization. Anyway, I was just wondering if you had read that because it is also a really good book I think.

    I also wanted to applaud your son for being such a wonderful & creative musician! I am listening to his score right now & it is so beautiful. Is there anyway to purchase it? I would love to buy it somehow.

    Lastly, I was reading up on some of your old posts & in “Raw Data” I was really surprised that teens don’t like happy endings. I love happy endings! I get so sad/mad/upset if a book ends in a depressing way. I won’t even read a book if I know it will make me sad because isn’t real life sad enough? I get the same way about movies…too emotionally involved or something like that I suppose. I mean, if Clary hadn’t gotten what she asked for at the end of book 3 in the Mortal Instruments series (by Cassandra Clare) I think I would have cried & then moped around for days. You know? So I just wanted you to know that there are LOTS of us who appreciate peaceful closure at the end of books. Keep that in mind, ok πŸ˜‰

    Wow! I think I’m done. See why I thought an email might be better? Ha ha, oh well. Happy writing to you!

    Meg

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 14, 2009 10:44 pm

      Hi, Meg! It’s funny you mention The Forest of Hands and Teeth, because I think it was one of the best debut books of 2009, too! And Carrie’s just a phenomenal person, so I’ll take any comparison as a complete and utter compliment!

      I was surprised by the “happy ending” discussions, too, but rest assured; I always feel like I’m channeling my stories. Like they already have an ending and I’m just there to record it. That makes it really easy not to write the way I think readers want me to but the way the STORY wants to be told. It means that sometimes they have sad endings and sometimes happy ones.

      Just like life.
      πŸ˜€

      Thanks very much for your kind words about Prophecy. They mean more to me than you know.
      ❀

  2. November 11, 2009 9:07 am

    I just have to say it here as well. Thanks a lot for writing me back:) I can’t wait to read more books from you.

    ❀
    Cecilie

  3. November 8, 2009 5:37 pm

    Hello Michelle!

    After being finished reading The Prophecy of the Sisters I have to say that I am really impressed. This book has turned out to be one of my favorites, and I cannot wait for the second one. I love the story, and I am really looking forward to see how it will turn out.

    Thanks for writing such a great story!

    ❀
    Cecilie

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 8, 2009 7:52 pm

      Hi, Cecilie! Thanks so much for your comments about Prophecy! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, and I’m hard at work on book three now. Guardian of the Gate (book two ) is finished and will be released next year. I’ll be unveiling the cover here sometime in the next couple of months, so check back and say hello!
      ❀

      MZ

  4. Ashley permalink
    November 8, 2009 3:03 am

    Oh I do!!!
    All the time! lol.
    I already read the book 3 times!

    YAY i cant wait!!!!!

    I already recomended it!
    To all of my friends!

    Keep up the good work!
    I hope to read more!
    Im a book worm!

    -Ashley!

  5. Ashley permalink
    November 6, 2009 5:49 pm

    Hi Michelle I am a HUUGGEE fan of “Prophecy of the Sisters”
    It is an amazing book, and just my type
    But whats really bugging me is that, is there going to be a second book??
    I cant find any lead to it!
    But I really hope there is!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 6, 2009 6:24 pm

      Hey, Ashley!

      There IS going to be a second book – and a THIRD! The second book, Guardian of the Gate, will be out next summer.

      Thanks so much for your kind words about Prophecy. It means so much to me to know that readers all over the world are enjoying it. Please spread the word!

      And feel free to stop over at the Prophecy site at http://www.prophecyofthesisters.com! There are quite a few people over there on the discussion boards talking about all kinds of Prophecy-related stuff, I drop in there every couple of days, too.
      ❀

      MZ

Leave a Reply

