Skip to content

Guardian of the Gate Theme Debut

November 29, 2009

As most of you know, my seventeen-year-old son, Kenneth, is an aspiring film score composer. At the beginning of 2009, Kenneth approached me with the idea of creating a film score for my book, Prophecy of the Sisters. Of course, my first response was, “But it’s a BOOK!”

To which he said, “Yeah, right. I get that. But I think it’d be cool to try and create a score for it like it’s a movie.”

And then the light bulb went on, and I realized once again that my son is brilliant. Not that, yanno, I’m biased or anything.
πŸ˜‰

Anyway, what followed was an amazing, one-of-a-kind collaboration between my son and I. We spent months discussing the book, sitting in the “recording studio” that is our basement, listening to different pieces Kenneth created for different scenes and tweaking them so that they were just right for the book. The result was an 11-song film score that is positively perfect for Prophecy of the Sisters despite the lousy recording equipment we had at the time. It’s been truly awe-inspiring both to see my son’s creative talent flourish and to hear my story represented by the powerful medium that is music.

Because the Prophecy score was such a huge success, there was really no question that Kenneth would create one for the second book in the series, Guardian of the Gate. Now, with much better equipment and a lot more experience under his belt, Kenneth wanted to try something more ambitious. In doing so, he has created a truly complex, phenomenal, full-length theme for Guardian of the Gate that includes piano, strings, drums, cymbals and a host of other instruments. It really is something you would hear in a movie version of Guardian of the Gate, and even though it’s a bit longer than the Prophecy theme (as most film pieces would be), trust me; it’s worth the listen.

So while it’s too soon for most of the world to have their hands on the advance copies of Guardian of the Gate, this is your chance to get a sneak peek! If you listen to the entire theme, you’ll get an honest feel for the tone and content of Book Two in the Prophecy of the Sisters Trilogy. And I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

P.S. Because Little Brown will be running an “It’s Time to Choose a Side” trailer contest, the theme is currently set to a static image of the cover for the German edition of Prophecy of the Sisters. Isn’t it gorgeous?!
πŸ˜€

And if you guys want to hear some amazing film score compositions, check out anything by Hans Zimmer. Kenneth absolutely idolizes him, and if you listen to scores like that of The Dark Night, you’ll know why…

27 Comments leave one →
  1. nataly permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:04 pm

    my birthday is also in july thats cool!

  2. nataly permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:03 pm

    the prophecy of the sisters is such a great book i could not put it down i usually do not like books from the 1800s, but this book was amazing it made me cry almost at the end i cant wait untill i have the next book you have a talent thanks for this amazing story, and i am just 14.
    i love piano music that was really good!!! tell me when i can downlod it your son dose have talent!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 5, 2010 11:10 pm

      Thank you so much for taking the time to write to me about Prophecy, Nataly! It means so much to me to know that you enjoyed it, and I hope you like the next book in the series, Guardian of the Gate, just as much!
      ❀

      MZ

      PS. My son said to tell you thank you, too!

  3. Gary permalink
    January 9, 2010 4:18 pm

    wow awesome music i really cant wait for the next book just finneshed re reading prophecy and i never re read books it has now gone round the whole family and we all love it

  4. Rebecca permalink
    January 7, 2010 12:32 am

    hey, omg i read the prophecy of the sisters yesterday! argh it is my fave book ever dont think i can wait til august seriously! this book is amazing your son has been very talented to compose this music, It is perfect! i can imagine your book as a movie, it would do so well. my friends are already lining up to have a read πŸ™‚ i’m from new zealand, how long till the guardian of the gate will come here? may have to order of amazon, already excited

  5. migz ramirez permalink
    January 3, 2010 1:20 am

    please email me if the sequel is out please please.. prophecy of the sisters is really good. and guardian of the gate is really quite a catchy title.. its like well i hope its now on alices side.. because she is the guardian of the gate is she not.. the gate and angel is lia while alice is the guardian like aunt virginia.. well i hope it will be out really soon here in the philippines.. God bless and Good luck for the trilogy or thats what im hearing..

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      January 3, 2010 11:03 pm

      Thanks so much for commenting, migz!

      Guardian of the Gate will be out in August here in the US. I’m as excited as you guys, believe me! Thanks for being such a loyal and vocal fan.
      ❀

      MZ

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      January 7, 2010 8:06 am

      Thanks so much for your comment! Guardian of the Gate will be our here in the US sometime in July/August, and you should see it shortly thereafter in the Philippines!
      ❀

      • migz ramirez permalink
        January 16, 2010 2:52 am

        thanks 4 the updates.. my birthday is on july.. so i will really have money to buy guardian of the gate.. hehe

  6. Courtney permalink
    December 16, 2009 4:45 pm

    As an avid reader I must say, what a great book! I had so much fun getting lost in Lia and Alices world and finished the book over the weekend! Can’t wait to read the second and third books (as well as any other projects you may have in the works!) πŸ™‚

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      December 16, 2009 6:32 pm

      Thanks so much, Courtney! That really means a lot to me.

      I’m going to be posting visual teasers for Guardian after the new year, plus new music and other updates, so I hope you’ll keep coming back!
      ❀

      MZ

      PS. If you would be willing to post a review on Amazon, Borders, B&N, etc., I'd really appreciate it! And if you contact me on Facebook, I'll send you a signed and personalized bookplate for your book.

  7. Alexandra permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:22 pm

    That music is amazing! I don’t normally care for instrumental music, but that was beautiful and sent chills up my spine. Your son is extremely talented. I hope that music is available to download someday. I just finished reading Prophecy this morning and enjoyed it quite a bit! I can’t wait for the next one!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      December 2, 2009 7:44 pm

      Thanks so much, Alexandra! I’ll pass your comments along to my son – I know he’ll be really pleased!
      πŸ˜€

      And I’m so glad you enjoyed Prophecy. Hope you enjoy Guardian of the Gate just as much!
      ❀

  8. December 1, 2009 1:57 am

    I so love his music. Seriously–talented boy you’ve got there, darlin’. Can I ask the most random question ever? (okay, not really, but still, pretty much) I love writing to Hans Zimmer–and Kenneth is just as awesome. Seriously, listening, my fingers were just itching to get back to work. Is there anywhere or way to download his music? I’d love to have it on my mp3 player….

    (oh, and a lovely cover. I got the cover art for mine and I’m sooooo excited. I keep stopping and staring at it and getting a little teary. Is that odd? Probably. Ah well.)

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      December 1, 2009 7:34 am

      Thanks, Nazarea! I am very proud!

      Kenneth hasn’t uploaded any of the Prophecy music to iTunes for sale because LB may use some of the music as part of a promotional download or something for Guardian of the Gate and/or the paperback version of Prophecy of the SIsters. We don’t know for sure, but if they DON’T use it, we’ll try to upload it so everyone can have it on their iPods, because I get requests for it all the time!

      It’s so funny that you listen to film scores while you write. I’ve always done that and have found it a great way to get in the writing mood. Can’t WAIT to see your cover!
      πŸ˜€

  9. November 30, 2009 1:46 pm

    Wow! Your son is amazingly talented!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 30, 2009 2:15 pm

      Thank you!
      πŸ˜€

  10. November 29, 2009 10:54 pm

    Michelle- it sounds great!! Fantastic job, Kenneth, and best of luck with your music.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 29, 2009 11:06 pm

      Thanks, Sandi! And, of course, I’ll be in the City NEXT weekend for an event!
      😦

  11. November 29, 2009 9:56 pm

    Holy cow! I love this! It’s so intense and you can just feel the gothic, suspenseful anticipation and uncertainty! Way to go Kenneth! When can I download this from iTunes? πŸ˜‰ (Seriously! I would love this on my iPod for my moody days!)

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 29, 2009 10:03 pm

      Thank you, Cat! I’ll tell Kenneth, He’s shy but it means so much to him to know that people enjoy his music. It’s not available for download yet because we’re still waiting to see what (if anything) LB will do with it, but if/when it is, I’ll definitely let you know!
      ❀

  12. Karen A Hanna permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:55 pm

    Bought the book by chance while shopping at a Sam’s Club and thoroughly enjoyed the story. Can’t wait for the sequel.
    Sincerely,

    Karen Hanna (not a tween but a 38 year old mom of 2)

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      November 29, 2009 10:02 pm

      Karen! Your email means so much to me… it’s amazing to think that someone I don’t even know picked up my book on a whim and enjoyed it. You made my night, and I hope you’ll come back and tell me what you think after you read the sequel, Guardian of the Gate.

      (And don’t worry – I’m a mom of four and read mostly YA!)
      ❀

    • Karen A Hanna permalink
      December 1, 2009 11:22 am

      I’ve passed the book along to my cousin. Also, I’m going to recommend and donate a copy to a longtime friend who’s a high school librarian in a large city right outside of Boston.
      Best of luck.

      Karen Hanna
      (Exeter, NH)

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        December 1, 2009 12:22 pm

        That’s so sweet of you, Karen! If you’d like a signed bookplate for either book (or any others you decide to give away), let me know! I’d be happy to send you one!
        ❀

    • Areli Herrera permalink
      January 10, 2010 4:16 pm

      no way!!! me too…. I love this book

Leave a Reply

