Skip to content

The Victorian/Gothic is Back – With a Twist

December 13, 2009

I can’t tell you how totally psyched I am to see so many awesome, Victorian/Gothic films hitting the big screen. It’s a lush, sensuous era that lends itself incredibly well to dark fantasy – one of the many reasons I set the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy in that time period. The first two below are how I always picture the Prophecy movie – sexy and dark as opposed to Jane Austen-ish.

Check out these hot new movies that are coming soon;

The Wolfman

Season of the Witch

These producers/directors have moved onto my “Love to Have” list of for a Prophecy movie on the basis of the trailers alone.

Oh, and here’s one more, just for fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 5:06 pm

    I had no idea they were redoing Wolfman. It looks fascinating!
    Season of the Witch looks a bit too Exorcist/demonic for me…but it is Nick Cage… So I might just have to suck it up.

    I’m super excited for Sherlock Holmes, though! I’m glad it comes out on Christmas Day. As a family, we always see a movie on Christmas Day. I was hoping to see Nine, but Sherlock is one that my dad will see with us, so that bumps it to the top of the list 🙂
    I’ll have to show him the trailer for Witch, too. He’s a huge Nicholas Cage fan!

  2. December 13, 2009 4:26 pm

    I love the original Wolfman with Lon Chaney. I hope this one lives up to it. I had never heard of Season of the Witch until a few months ago. I am now very excited about what I have read on the web about it. Sherlock Holmes I am at a wait and see stance with it. I love the actors in the movie, though I am not sure about the way they are doing the film. One of the first books I remember reading when I was a kid was “Hound of the Baskervilles”. I fell in love with Arthur Conan Doyle after reading that book. I want to see the others though am still stand offish with Holmes.

  3. gushingenthusiasm permalink
    December 13, 2009 2:53 pm

    I am very excited for Sherlock Holmes. I saw the trailer in theaters, and my only thought was “oooooh… Sherlock Holmes with massive explosives…”
    these other two look fantastic as well.

Leave a Reply

