Skip to content

Surprise!

December 29, 2009

Well, it’s probably not a SURPRISE, but I do have some very cool new features for you in 2010.

😀

First of all, I’ll be continuing the Open Mic feature on Thursdays. WOOT! It’s been so much fun to read your writing, and I feel honored that so many of you have been willing to share your work. We’ll continue with the same format – 300 words or less and the requirement to comment at least one other entry if you post. As time passes, I may occasionally ask other authors to stop in as a Guest Commentator to read and comment the posts as well, especially if I’m overly busy at that point in time. That will give you the opportunity to KNOW that other writers are also reading your work (even though I know for a fact that many of them do now without commenting) which, let’s face it, is always cool and exciting (and scary!)!

Beginning in January, I’ll be posting interviews with anonymous, average teen readers. Of all the things I talk to other writers about, they’re most curious about my interaction with teens. It’s fascinating to learn about your reading habits, favorite books, hobbies, aspirations, and pet peeves, and it will also be a chance for teen readers to get to know other teen readers, albeit virtually! If you’d like to be featured, just send me an email on Facebook or Myspace and I’ll get in touch with you to send you interview questions.You won’t have to divulge your real name, and I’ll ask you for any picture you choose to represent you (i.e. one that doesn’t show your whole face and/or some random photo you’d like me to use).

I’ll be hosting a new teen feature called Not So Old-Fashioned Advice. I’m SUPER excited about this one, because it’s been a seed of an idea for some time. Basically, I’ll call for your questions relating to all facets of life – problems with guys or girls, parents, friends, school – and will then give you my best advice while also soliciting input from those who comment on that post. All questions can be submitted anonymously (I’ve double checked the Anonymous Comment feature on WordPress and it is, indeed, anonymous, even to me) when I call for them. I’ll choose one each week or so, and then we’ll all pitch in to offer the poster advice they can REALLY use. No topic will be off-limit, and I expect to get a lot of intriguing questions that will probably mirror the worries and problems all teens share.

In addition to these new features, I’ll continue to bring you gorgeous gowns, stunning Gothic/Victorian jewelry, funny YouTube videos, anticipated movie trailers, and of course, AMAZING music, plus the occasional bit of Prophecy news (including a big announcement that will be made sometime in January or February).

To kick things off right, one of the first things you’ll see in January is an interview with my teenage son, Kenneth. As most of you know, Kenneth is the composer of the Prophecy score. What many of you don’t know is that Kenneth is also an avid film buff, an aspiring actor (he worked a lot when he was younger), a home-schooled Senior in high school, an advocate for poverty and fair trade in third-world countries, and generally a complicated, interesting human being. I thought you guys might like to get to know him a bit better, so stay tuned for his interview.

I’ll also be asking for your help in casting your dream version of the Prophecy movie, and giving some of my picks for the director and actors (even though, yanno, we writers have pretty much ZERO say in that stuff when our books are optioned), too.

2010 promises to be an exciting year! I hope you’ll be a frequent visitor here, and I look forward to continuing to get to know you all better.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Yuki permalink
    January 24, 2010 9:16 am

    hahaha~!!! YAY~!!! this is cool ^_^

  2. December 31, 2009 9:59 pm

    YAY! Can’t wait to hear the big news!

  3. alice daniell - rudd permalink
    December 31, 2009 11:27 am

    Kl I cant wait for the interview with Kevin hope everything gooes smoothley and congrats with finnishing the last book really cant wait to read the second one when it come out over here. I wish I lived in america so i could do the oen mic thing but i live in england so I’ll live for the present. Have a great new year and good luck in the new decade. from Alice Daniell-Rudd

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      December 31, 2009 12:16 pm

      Alice! You can totally participate in Open Mic!!! Just watch for it and post your writing in the comments section. I’d love to read your work!

      MZ

      • alice daniell - rudd permalink
        December 31, 2009 3:35 pm

        Thanks MZ I still havent finished mias roses yet I dont know how but I want to do a next book should I do a cliffhanger?

  4. Ayla permalink
    December 31, 2009 11:11 am

    Happy new year! I really cant wait to tell you who i think should be in a prophecy movie!

  5. Rose Huston permalink
    December 30, 2009 10:50 pm

    You know I think Rebekkah should be Lia/Alice or Kenneth should be James 🙂

  6. December 29, 2009 9:34 pm

    Horrah!

  7. December 29, 2009 5:11 pm

    That sounds seriously awesome! Plus hooray for more open mic nights! I love them so.

  8. December 29, 2009 12:49 pm

    Ooo, this is very exciting! Can’t wait to see what the young people of today have to say! Maybe I’ll stop feeling so old. 😉

  9. J d permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:36 pm

    SO great. I don’t know how you do all that you do. I look forward to seeing all that 2010 brings to both you and your blog<3( These are some great ideas for blog features.)

Leave a Reply

