Skip to content

Meet The Mad Hatter!

January 18, 2010

This weeks’ anonymous teen reader is an almost-seventeen-year-old who’s already in college, loves Muse, and ranks among the most insightful teens I’ve interviewed.

Plus, she likes Coldplay! And England!

😀

Read on for more, and remember to drop me a line (Facebook email is the best place) if you’d like to be featured!

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); The Mad Hatter

Your age; Currently 16, but will be 17 in a month

Current country of residence; The good ole’ US of A

Male or female? Female

Age? 16 😛

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Being in college has rapidly decreased my time for reading for enjoyment, sadly enough. I do try to get in four a month though.

Favorite kind of book and why; Oh wow, that’s kind of hard to answer. I guess my favorite kind of book is one that sucks me in and makes me forget about the reality around me. Anything that captivating is my favorite kind of book.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; Synopsis.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? The best books I have ever read have always make me feel like I have been changed, even just a little bit, by reading it.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When the characters are as dull as buttered toast.

Paperback or hardcover? Hard cover. They survive longer in my house.

Series or stand-alone? Series.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? I listen to all kinds of music, (rap, movie scores, country etc.) but I typically end up listening to European alternative rock/pop. It sounds silly, but I think some of the best music comes from our friends across the pond.  They seem to produce a quality of music that you just can’t get here in the states. Most the people I know are so obsessed with artists like Lady Gaga or Taylor Swift that they miss musical gems like Coldplay or Phoenix.

Name your favorite band; That would have to be Muse. They have created such beautiful sounds from Showbiz to The Resistance, it’s just amazing. Even their live performances are fantastic, and I am glad I get to see them again soon.

Best movie of all time? I have what people consider to be a bad taste in movies. I love Transformers if that’s any indication. However, the best movies of all time for me would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird, Meet the Robinsons, and The Dark Knight.

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends;  A strange menagerie of people.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? It’s a “me” world in a time where we need to be a “we” world. It’s sad how self-centered we’ve become, especially so in my generation.
Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? I’d buy my parents the house of their dreams, fund my college education, and then buy my own house.

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? England. It’s so gorgeous there, and it has my kind of weather. Plus, it hosts some of the best musical festivals.

Do you get along with your family? Either way, tell us why. I get along with my family really well. I love my parents. They are two truly wonderful people. My siblings and I have our off days, but it’s our last year together before we all go our separate ways, and we’re determined to make the most of it.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That I am nervous wreck most of the time, but I laugh it off.

Name your biggest secret fear.  Failing

Name something you like about yourself. I’m quite the intuitive little bugger. 😉

14 Comments leave one →
  1. The Mad Hatter permalink
    January 21, 2010 12:17 am

    Thanks everyone for the kind words 😀

    • Megg permalink
      January 27, 2010 7:03 pm

      Im just randomly commenting here because this girl is literally like my twin or something..LOL

      I swear its hard to find people like you. xP

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        January 28, 2010 12:08 am

        Random comments are welcome!

        MZ

  2. January 20, 2010 2:32 pm

    This is awesome – what a great recurring feature! Thanks to the Mad Hatter for sharing so honestly, and thanks to you, Michelle, for creating the safe space for teens to tell it like it is!
    Namaste,
    Lee

  3. Ayla permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:51 am

    What should I do if I don’t have facebook or twitter???

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      January 20, 2010 12:10 pm

      I don’t want to give out my email publicly, Ayla. Do you have any way to send me your email address so I can send you the questions?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      January 20, 2010 12:13 pm

      Found your email and sent you the questions!

      • Ayla permalink
        January 20, 2010 1:07 pm

        cool i’ll check it

      • Ayla permalink
        January 20, 2010 3:45 pm

        I answered the questions!

  4. Barry permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:20 pm

    Sounds like she would make a great guest on the radio program, plus of course she likes England..what more could one ask

    Thanks for sharing

    Barry

  5. January 18, 2010 5:55 pm

    England has my kind of weather too. 🙂

  6. January 18, 2010 3:38 pm

    “A strange menagerie of people.” –Sounds like my friends, heh.

    Fun interview! Mad Hatter, you are wickedly cool 😉

  7. Ayla permalink
    January 18, 2010 2:12 pm

    i love muse and i love coldplay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111 :p

  8. January 18, 2010 12:13 pm

    I love these Michelle!

Leave a Reply

