Skip to content

A Not-So-Anonymous Interview!

January 25, 2010

I decided to mix things up with this week’s Anonymous Teen Interview by featuring a friend of mine, author Stacey Jay. Stacey is the author of last year’s hit YOU ARE SO UNDEAD TO ME. The follow-up book, UNDEAD MUCH, is in stores now. If, like me, you can’t resist a light-hearted Zombie romp, you will LOVE these books. SO fun!

Here’s the summary for UNDEAD MUCH;

Q: How many guys does it take to make your boyfriend wild with jealousy?
A: Only one, if he’s UNDEAD.

Megan Berry had a perfectly average new-sundress-and-boy-obsessed life–until her power to settle the Undead returned. Oh, and then her best friend tried to kill her–and ruin homecoming–with a bunch of black magically raised zombies. At least she got a spot on the pom squad and a smokin’ boyfriend (Ethan). But now Megan is in deep fertilizer all over again.

Why? Well, let’s see…

· Feral new super-strong zombies? Check.

· Cheerleader vs. pom squad turf war threatening half time as they know it? Check.

· An Undead psychic hottie (Cliff) who’s predicting a zombie apocalypse–and doing his best to tempt Megan away from Ethan? Yum. I mean, Check.

· Earth-shattering secrets that could land Megan in Settler prison for life? Um, IT WASN’T ME!

Everyone thinks Megan’s at fault for the new uber-zombie uprising. Looks like she’ll need the help of both Cliff and Ethan if she’s going to prove her innocence before it’s too late…
I thought it would be fun to ask Stacey to answer the same intervbiew questions our anonyous teens answer on Monday’s Teen Interview feature, so without further ado, meet Stacey!

ALL ABOUT YOU

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Secret Zombie Squirrel

Your age; 32

Current country of residence; United States

Male or female? Female

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Three or four. Before I had kids, it was closer to twenty. Poo diapers and other assorted motherly duties have really hit my reading time hard! Lol.

Favorite kind of book and why; Scary, romantic, page turners with a happy ending. I like to honestly believe all is lost, but the characters pull it all together at the end. I don’t deal well with sad conclusions. There are enough of those in life.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; The first five pages. If I don’t get sucked in right away, I put it back on the shelf. With such little reading time available, I have to choose my books carefully.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? I read at the gym while my kids are in the childcare room for an hour. It’s really the only time I have to read these days. So if I’ve been on a cardio machine for twenty minutes and am coughing up a lung and still want to keep going so I can read a few more pages, then I know that book is something special.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? Boring-ness. What can I say? I want to be entertained.

Paperback or hardcover? Both.

Series or stand-alone? Both!

ALL ABOUT YOU

Best movie of all time? Some Kind of Wonderful. (It’s so cheesy, but I’ve probably watched it forty or fifty times since I was a little kid.)

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; My friends are spread out all over the place and we communicate primarily through email and the occasional phone call. It’s so different than in high school and college when I was always part of a big crowd of people, and there are times when I feel very isolated. But with young children and a demanding job that I work from home, there isn’t much time to run around outside of the house getting in trouble with friends. Not that I ever got in trouble…or anything…:)

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? Selfish jerk-ism. From the way we drive to the way we use up non-renewable resources to the way we think about nothing but ourselves and our own problems….we’re kind of horrible. At least in the United States. I’d love to see people start thinking about others more, asking how someone else is doing and really caring about the answer. I’d like to see less focus on fame-seeking and idolizing famous people and more focus on hard work and integrity and pride in being part of a community. So…basically I’m a seventy-something year old woman raised during the Depression trapped in a 32 year old’s body. Lol. I guess I just want to see us all be better. I want to be better. I try to challenge myself to do that every day.

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? Build an eco-friendly tree house in the woods and live there with my family, getting back to nature and all that. (But it would have to be in a place with no ticks. I don’t do ticks.) I’d give the rest to a charity that helps get girls out of sexual slavery. Of all the miseries in the world, the selling of young girls and boys into the sex trade sickens me more than anything.

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? China. What a beautiful, complex country. And such history. It would be amazing to spend a year there.

Do you get a long with your family? Either way, tell us why. I love my family and I get along with them when I love them enough to put my own needs and insecurities on the back burner. At my age, I think holding a family together involves a lot of selflessness. When I manage that and put the people I love first, we get along well and are very happy campers.

Name something most people don’t know about you. I can barely tie my shoes. It takes a really long time and I don’t use the approved rabbit-around-the-tree method. I just kind of throw the strings in different directions and hope for the best. My husband is teaching our 5 year old how to tie his shoes. Mom is a big fail at that life skill.

Name your biggest secret fear. Losing my husband and babies all at the same time…in a car wreck or something. Just the thought of it makes me want to lose it. Let’s move on…

Name something you like about yourself.I try really hard. No matter what. I try and try and often I fail, but I give life everything I’ve got. I am an earnest little worker. Lol. I’m proud of that :).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 5:23 pm

    What a great, honest post. Thank you, Michelle, for featuring Stacey today!!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      January 26, 2010 5:25 pm

      Thank YOU for stopping by to read her interview!

      MZ

Leave a Reply

