Skip to content

Meet Ember! She’s Awesome!

February 1, 2010

Welcome to this week’s anonymous teen interview! I was fortunate enough to meet “Ember” in person and found her to be a truly warm, amazing, bright, thoughtful teen.

Read on. I know you’ll agree!

Remember to contact me if you’d like to be featured in a future anonymous teen interview. You can reach me via Facebook or Myspace email, Twitter DM, or by leaving an anonymous comment with your real email address here (I’ll see the email, but no one else can). As soon as I have a way to contact you, I’ll send you the interview questions and assign you a date!

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!);
Ember

Your age;
17

Current country of residence;
USA

Male or female?
Female

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month?
It varies a LOT. The average would probably be around seven though. I read very quickly, but sometimes other things get in the way of reading time.

Favorite kind of book and why;
Paranormal Romance, because the world is just more interesting (and fun!) with magic involved. And who wouldn’t want to date a gorgeous vampire/werewolf/fallen angel/etcetera?! 😉

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book;
For me, there isn’t a single most important factor. It’s a combination of cover, synopsis, and reviews from Goodreads and bloggers.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book?
When I think about it all the time, even after I’ve finished reading, and when there are no words to describe how excellent the book was.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book?
When it’s too predictable or unoriginal.

Paperback or hardcover?
Hardcover! They’re prettier and more durable. The only downside is cost…

Series or stand-alone?
I prefer series, because you get to hear more about the characters and places you love. There’s more room for more to happen in the story!

ALL ABOUT YOU

Name some of your hobbies or interests.
Well, there’s reading, for one ;). Otherwise, listening to music, going to concerts, watching/quoting movies, playing video games, and spending time with my family and friends.

What music do you most often listen to?
Mainly alternative, with some rock and pop.

Name your favorite band;
Panic! at the Disco (I’ve seen them in concert twice). Their two albums so far were total opposites, but they were both amazing.

Best movie of all time?
So hard to choose! I have a soft spot for Titanic, though.

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends;
All of my friends are very different, but they’re all funny and fun to be around. Sometimes I feel like I have stronger relationships with some my online friends, though. And they are very fun, funny, and interesting!

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it?
A lot of people are too concerned with their own happiness/well-being and advancements in technology and industrialization to care about the environment. Without a healthy environment, none of us can live. Someone needs to be a strong voice for the environment and the animals and plants in it, since they can’t speak for themselves.

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it?
Buy a nicer house, as well as a house in England. Get all the books I can’t afford now and make my own library like the one in Beauty and the Beast. And hold on to some of the money for anything else I think of later!

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why?
London. I have a fascination with the UK, and I got to visit London once and LOVED it. It’s a really interesting place; quirky but more formal than the US. I also like the weather; there’s not enough rain where I live!

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why.
For the most part. I think that I’m very different from my three siblings, and I’m the oldest, so sometimes I feel a little set apart from everyone. I’m the quietest of the bunch, and my interests are the most different from theirs, as well. Sometimes we don’t exactly understand each other, but, for the most part, we get along quite well.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
One interesting thing is that I’ve been to six foreign countries (Mexico, Canada, Belgium, France, Italy, and England), and I plan to visit many more. Something a bit more negative, though, is that I can get very moody and insecure.

Name your biggest secret fear.
Being alone and misunderstood/rejected.

Name something you like about yourself.
I’m a very loyal friend, and I can be very witty (at least, I’d like to think so!).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    February 3, 2010 6:24 pm

    That sounds fun. I want to do this!

  2. michellezinkbooks permalink*
    February 2, 2010 6:34 pm

    I’m so glad, Shelli!

    I love all of “my” teens. When I hear people disparage “today’s teenagers”, I think, “I don’t know which teenagers YOU know, but MINE are amazing!”

    MZ

    • Ayla permalink
      February 2, 2010 7:16 pm

      i so agree… most people today think that ALL of us are horrible!!!

      but really, we’re not!

  3. February 2, 2010 4:22 pm

    i love these interviews. such great insight into the mind of a teen.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 2, 2010 9:05 am

    I know how you feel about the reading! I’m constantly wanting to read all these books but then life gets in the way!!

    (btw, it’d be awesome to be the anonymous teen!)

  5. February 2, 2010 2:06 am

    Really enjoyed this! I want to visit London too and I completely agree about the environment. I wish more peopled cared!

Leave a Reply

