Skip to content

Meet Teen Reader Scarlyn!

February 8, 2010

Hi, everybody! I have another wonderful, insightful teen for you this week. I love doing these interviews, because it totally gives me faith in the next generation and makes me absolutely positive we are in very good hands.

So, without further ado, meet Scarlyn!!!
Z
Z
Z
Z
Z
JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); scarlyn
Z

Current country of residence; us of aaaaa.

Male or female? female.

Age; 15

Z

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? hmm, maybe four?

Favorite kind of book and why; poetry, teenage angst stuff. like ellen hopkins. (I ❤ Ellen AND her work!)

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; how good the plot line is.
What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? when i can’t put it down for hours.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? eh, sometimes it’s good. i like to find books on my own though. i usually hit up bookstores for hours and then just find new books on my own that no one has ever read or heard of; and they end up being amaaaaazing.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; more books FROM the point of view of the experiencee…like, i would love to read a book written by a teenager about drugs or abuse…i’m kind of doing the same thing right now, and hope to be published.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? when it’s repetitive or they’re trying to tell you something that isn’t obviously symbolized…like in the Catcher in the Rye.

Paperback or hardcover? doesn’t matter, as long as the quality’s good.

Series or stand-alone? eh, i’m not really one for series. stand alone.

Z

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? punk/alternative/metal.

Name your favorite band; Paramore

Best movie of all time? hmm.. Rent, the screen version of the play.

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; I don’t belong to one. I hang out with whoever comes along, and I have friends everywhere. In my opinion, its the best way to live. You don’t owe too much loyalty to anyone, and you can be yourself.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? The judgementality of the people around us. I think we should just all live our lives the way we want to and not be judged for it, regardless of anything.

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? shop my butt off, and then donate the rest to To Write Love On Her Arms.

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? Greece, it’s beautiful.

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? no I haven’t.

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why. My mom, sometimes. I do whatever for the most part. But my biological dad, NO. I hate him.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That as much of a goody two shoes as I am sometimes, I can’t wait to get out and be free when I’m eighteen.

Name your biggest secret fear. Oceans.

Name something you like about yourself. That I love myself, no matter who puts me down. I’m confident in myself and the way I look and the way I act. I don’t let anything get in my way.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 10:05 am

    Thanks so much, Scarlyn. Self confidence is really important, and can be hard to maintain when you’re in high school. Good for you!

  2. February 8, 2010 9:03 pm

    It’s great to see other teens who like to read–gives *me* hope that I’m not the only one! 🙂 Great interview!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 8, 2010 10:11 pm

      You’re NOT the only one, Sweets.

      MZ

  3. February 8, 2010 5:54 pm

    i enjoyed this so much! thanks!

  4. scarlyn permalink
    February 8, 2010 5:50 pm

    😀

Leave a Reply

