Skip to content

Wanna Play?

February 11, 2010

In lieu of Open Mic this week, I decided to see if you guys wanted to play a little Flash Fiction.

Flash Fiction is a great way to keep your writing brain in shape. It forces you to work fast, to streamline your story, and to let instinct be your guide. Most of all, it’s FUN! There are no rules! You can create a poem, a Short-Short, part of a script, or use it to start a new book or take your characters someplace totally different. It’s really, really cool to see how many different stories and styles can come from the same prompt.

It works like this; I post a prompt (it could be anything, but this week it’s going to be a picture) and you guys give yourself exactly 30 minutes to write something using it as inspiration.

You don’t have to limit yourself to 500 words when writing, just limit yourself to posting no more than 500 words of it when you’re finished. And don’t stress over this! It doesn’t have to be brilliant. Give yourself permission to go with it and see what you can do in 30 minutes – good, bad, or mediocre. We’ll work on the Honor System. You don’t have to drop everything and do it now, just give yourself the half hour at some point in the next couple of days. You won’t be sorry!

And as with Open Mic, please comment at least one other entry if you post something yourself.

Speaking of Open Mic, I totally #failed last week at commenting all of the posts. It’s gotten to be such a popular feature, and with multiple deadlines of my own, I’m realizing I just can’t always get to them all (though the earlier you post, the better the chance that I’ll get to yours since I read them in order). But I’m stull planning to read them and I really love the supportive mini-community of aspiring writers we’ve got going here. Thursdays has become one of my favorite days of the week (on my own blog!), and if you guys like Flashing (heh), we can maybe intersperse it with Open Mic now and then to mix it up.

Okay, in honor of Valentine’s Day on Sunday, here’s your prompt for this week! Have FUN!

67 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:40 am

    Cuz if ya mean ME! I can post it, just say the wordd.

  2. Ashley permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:11 am

    Ummm, why is my thing like 2 comments up?? Weird…

    • Ashley permalink
      February 16, 2010 1:13 am

      I just realized Imade no sense. Blah. Forget it, just tell me what ya think about my piece. haha.

  3. Ashley permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:09 am

    Here’s the ending to my Story. Tell me what you think. I really wanted to post the whole thing but it was like 1000 words I think! Haha. It’s called “Today was a fary tail”. enjoy.

    ~~~

    “BOO!” I jumped when a dark figure behind me, scared the life out of me!

    “Aidan you stupid jerk!”

    “Not as tough as I thought you’d be.”

    “Shut up!” I continued to walk.

    “I’m sorry, don’t be mad.”

    “Whatever.” I placed my hand in front of his face, he took it and kissed my palm. It sent a little tingly feeling down my arm. I giggled.

    “See, I’m good for your health.”

    “Are you?”

    “Yup. I can make you giggle when you don’t want to.”

    “Mmmhm…”

    “No?”

    “No.”

    “Alright.” I watched him from the corner of my eye as he walked silently beside me. I bumped him with my hip and he bumped me back. “You wanna go hip bumping we can go back to my place.” He shrugged. “Just a suggestion- HEY I was playing Ok I’m sorry…” He was holding my hands to my side. The tension between us grew bigger. It was like an elastic band, binding us together, we could stretch, but we couldn’t escape. He didn’t release my hands, and I felt…knew I didn’t want him to. I bit down on my lower lip as he gazed into my eyes. It sent little tingle feelings through my arms and throughout my body, shocking me. The emotions inside of me were turning me inside out. Taking my body over. I let him pull me closer. “Can I try something?” I nodded. He could try anything he liked. “Promise you won’t hit me?”

    “Promise.”

    “Pinky promise?” I nodded, anxcious now. I even leaned closer, pressing my body closer to his.

    “Pinky promise…”

    “Ok…” It was silent for a second.

    “Just freakin kiss me already!” The anxiety that built up inside me turned into anger. I would push him behind a dumpster and make out with him if I had to!

    “Wow!” His eyes widened. “Are you sure?”

    “I said it didn’t I?…”

    “But I- You…That’s not even what I was trying to do…” Oh…I felt my face flush. How emberessing. My body fliped and I was my normal self. I let go of his hands as I backed away.

    “What were you going to do?” I asked.

    “This…” He said softly, pulling me back to him. His hand traced the side of my face, from the ending of my eye brow to my jaw and my lip, than he pushed my hair behind my neck and lightly placed his lips on my jaw. My breath was cought in my throut. Please tell me this was a dream? I pulled away fast and started to focus on breathing. “Are you Ok?” He chuckled.

    “Fine…Let’s go.” I begin to walk again. “Where are we going anyway?”

    “To the park.”

    “Park? How lame. Only losers do that.”

    “Than call me a loser.”

    “Loser.” He chuckled.

    “This way.” We walked silently to the park. I couldn’t belive the emotions that were building inside of me. It was a rush. “look…” He said pointing to the west where huge bursts of fire works, flamed through the sky. I smiled.

    “It’s beautiful.”

    “Isn’t it? My dad used to take my mom to the Fire works all the time. It’s where he said he loved her.” I looked at him and back to the sky. He pulled me down to the grass where we laid. “It turns out, dad fell in love at first sight, but it took mom a couple of times to notice him. but you, you noticed me right on the spot.”

    “Becaue you hit me in the head with the freezer door.” He chuckled.

    “Sorry about that. I knew it would make you notice me.”

    “Huh?”

    “I saw you when you first walked through the door. I sort of followed you…” I looked at him and he was blushing. I didn’t speak of it.

    “Why?”

    “I figured that-that like my dad…I would walk by and make you notice me…”

    “And fall in love?” I raised a brow.

    “Yeah. You know, my family’s cursed…”

    “Cursed?” I laughed. “That explains the Fary tail junk.”

    “It’s not junk.” Something inside of his voice made me feel bad.

    “I’m sorry, I know your parent’s belived in it.”

    “It’s ok.”

    “It’s how you grew up. Your adapted to it. I’m adapted to empty bear bottles being smashed against heads and over rated happy endings.”

    “Happy endings are real.”

    “But your parent’s died. It’s not quite happy.”

    “They died together and they knew they had eachother. It was a fary tail. All fary tails have happy endings.”

    “I guess so…”

    “You have to have faith…”

    “Let me guess…Faith trust and pixie dust.” He sat up fast and looked the other way. I made him mad. I sighed and sat up, placing my hand on his shoulder.

    “Sorry…” He didn’t respond. “I’m really sorry Aidan. I keep forgeting. Sarcasm is my nature.”

    “I see…”

    “I’m sorry…” I whispered.

    “Ok.”

    “Ok? Look at me…” He looked at me. His eyes were lit up. his whole body was lit up. I smiled.

    “What?”

    “Nothing.” I had a little day dream of reaching out, grabbing both sides of his hair and pulling him to me, smashing my lips against his, but it was gone. He sighed and looked down.

    “I’m freaking you out arn’t I?”

    “No.” I shook my head. “Just giving me new beliefs.”

    “Ha, yeah. You don’t have to lie.”

    “I’m not. I feel it now. I feel true love is real, and if your definition of true love is a fary tail, than so be it. I belive. I have faith.”

    “Trust and pixie dust?” I laughed and nodded. He laughed along with me.

    “I like you.” I said, low. Oh! Did that just come out? Noo no no no! He smiled. I was falling. Someone stop me!

    “I like you too…” The word ‘like’ didn’t quite explain it.

    “Alot?”

    “Alot.”

    “How much?”

    “Hmm…” He sighed happily. “This much…”

    “What are you doing?” I asked as he scooted closer to me. My body was twisting inside out again.

    “Oh, nothingg.” His arm wraped around my shoulder and he pulled me into his chest. I burried my face into his neck, breathing in his scent. Mmmm. I sighed. It took me a moment to realize, my lips were finding there way up his neck, to his jaw and his lips. He pulled away ever so lightly… “How much do you like me now?”

    “A lot. I already said.” My breath had been increased.

    “Show me…” I smahed my body into his as I laid kissed around his neck, jaw, and lips, leaving a trail of goose bumps.

    “How much do you like me now?”

    “I don’t like you.” My heart sped. He held my face in his hands as he kissed my lips lightly. “I love you…”

    “We just met.”

    “Love at first sight…Don’t you belive?”

    It took me a moment. I mean LOVE wow. What was love? Love is a cinderella story, but than again, Her prince charming fell in love at first sight. Prince Eric fell in love with Arial the first time he saw her. Snow White’s prince fell in love just by hearing her voice. Aladan, fell in love with one look into Jasmins eyes…Aidan fell in love when I walked through the sliding doors of the grocery store and…I fell in love when I was hit in the head with the freezer door.

    “I belive.”

    “I told you I could be your fary tail.”

    “Oh, Today, was deffinatly a fary tail.” His lips found mine once again.

    *Sigh* I so wish you could read the first part, but oh well. Hoped you liked it.

  4. Ashley permalink
    February 16, 2010 12:58 am

    Awww mannn! 500 words! I just got finished with mine and it’s soooo long! Couldn’t you limit it to 1000 words or something? Haha.

  5. February 14, 2010 10:02 pm

    That’s some good stuff here! Thanks for the Facebook tip to check this out!

  6. shannon permalink
    February 13, 2010 2:02 pm

    @meagan i loved this poem with intense emotion…lol…i like the reference to WoZ …the whole thing kind of brings out an awkward, dorky emotion…=]…

  7. gushingenthusiasm permalink
    February 12, 2010 6:50 pm

    wonderful work everyone!
    sadly enough i havent had time to participate in a open mic for a while, but i still read every week!!

  8. AndreaN permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:33 pm

    Oops didn’t mean to leave my story in a comment! MY BAD!

  9. AndreaN permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:30 pm

    Tiny short story..Hope you enjoy!!

    Me and Vlad had that kind of love that everyone else thought was just weird and geeky. People would stare us down all the time, with confused looks on theirs face. Yet, Vlad and I didn’t mind. We even knew that we were strange. Not many people would fall in love over broken computers but we did. It all started on train ride…I had been sitting across from him holding a box of random computers parts to take back to my flat for the intent purpose of trying to fix the other 18 processors I had sitting at home when he leaned over and struck up a conversation. That was over 2 years ago. We bonded over other stuff too like Harry Potter RPGS, Dinosaur-shaped Mac&Cheese, and Finland techno music. Every Valentine’s Day we would honor the day we met by going to get more broken computers just to fix our other ones. Our love was a love that would last.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 12, 2010 6:46 pm

      This is so sweet and endearing. It speaks of that real-life young love that DOES happen on a train, over computer parts and video games and pizza. One of the best things about this piece is that you make me want to know more about them. I’m trying to picture their faces and hear their names, and that kind of curiosity is a very good thing in a piece so short.

      Thanks so much for participating, hon!

      MZ

  10. Ayla permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:20 pm

    oops! i replied to someone! Sorry!

  11. Ayla permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:18 pm

    Hmm… I can’t really post this week cause its been snowing and when im not outside, the internet isn’t working…

    But hurray for snow!!! 😀

    • Anonymous permalink
      February 13, 2010 12:09 pm

      i cant find time to post! D:

      *cries*

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        February 13, 2010 12:35 pm

        That’s okay, hon! I’ll be hosting Open Mic again next week and then you can post something you already have! I just figured this would mix things up a little, but I know it requires a bit more time.

        MZ

  12. February 12, 2010 12:46 pm

    Retrospective, introspective, he was a child out of time.
    Born prematurely, lost in time even to the midwives, he grew up plucking guitar strings, writing spidery letters with an old nib, friendless in overgrown fields.
    “Not bothered”, he’d reply, his mother questioning over severe vegetable dinners why he’d not invited friends around Friday night, why he’d not taken his bike to the Square, why he wouldn’t talk about his day at school.
    “What am I missing? Is this normal, what I’ve been warned about?” she’d ask her coffee break audience, uniformed and bathed in halogen light.
    He was a serious child. Dirty handed, unclinical, man-handling, leaving fingerprints on the dog-eared pages of Dickens, Conrad, Browning.
    In those forests of childhood, smiling in the blind dark, began his fear of his era. A fear of his days, his nowadays, a true disgust toward the unblinking tawdry moderness celebrated around him.

    Did he think himself a troubadour, looking so troubled toward the stage, alone but not lonely, alone and sipping his amber slowly, the creases in his denim endearing her to him. Always going for the underdog, she thought to herself, imagined herself saving, eyerolling, her legs shaking to the rhythm of the band, a gang of would-be poets.
    They were in the place where they had first spoken to each other, stumbling over the surprising perfection of the chance meeting; just finished reading Bronte and needing a passion, a mouth, a cave, in which to lose each other. He fell in love with her hair in a braid; she fell in love with his seriousness, shown in his strong jaw and dark eyes. She felt fifteen again when that sensible mask fell, and he grinned.
    It was cold out but she insisted they spend “the last night of freedom” at a dance. She liked his quiet, quaint ways, him taking her out to a barn dance, inviting her to take a spin, drinking punch with a twinkle in his eye, the plastic cup looking crystalline in his hands.

    It was too cold to walk the way home, so they took the train. He squinted over at her as she bought the tickets, she knew the jargon that goes with such transactions, pieces of paper for pieces of paper, the arms of the turnstiles trapping pieces of clothing, grasping at the transient life travelling through its arms.
    He placed the heavy plastic on his lap, the wires in nuchal cord, truly hideous and unnatural, he couldn’t help but look away from the leering face. She was dainty with her weight, not strumming her fingernails.
    “You know it’s gonna be alright, don’t you?” holding his hand tenderly.
    It was the end of the world.
    He started tomorrow, tie bound, desk bound. His life was more alien than he could have predicted, star-gazing, standing child limbed in the dusty backyard; this was a moonscape more unmanageable, more unimagined.
    Suddenly weightless, lost in space, he gasped at the air.
    “You will come home to me” she explained.
    And calmed, he breathed her in.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 12, 2010 6:41 pm

      Wow.. this is an incredible piece, Ian. It feels very grown-up and literary, but there’s an undercurrent of melancholy, and I can almost FEEL the narrator looking BACK on this halcyon era with the perspective one can only be given with time and distance. It’s like an adult fairy tale, in a way.

      So many favorites in this, but here are a couple;

      “They were in the place where they had first spoken to each other, stumbling over the surprising perfection of the chance meeting; just finished reading Bronte and needing a passion, a mouth, a cave, in which to lose each other.”

      And

      “He squinted over at her as she bought the tickets, she knew the jargon that goes with such transactions, pieces of paper for pieces of paper, the arms of the turnstiles trapping pieces of clothing, grasping at the transient life traveling through its arms.”

      Lovely. Lovely!

      Would love to read more from you!

      MZ

    • Jennytastic permalink
      February 13, 2010 12:00 am

      awesome.

  13. Dodger permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:12 am

    Wait… did I accidentally reply to someone elses post w. mine??? if so IM SORRYYYY

  14. Dodger permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:02 am

    Excerpt, it would have been longer and better but i kept being distracted lol. but i stuck to only 30 minutes at least.

    Indy sighed again. Trust Zoe to be late. Even Kayley’s small gestures and attempts couldn’t manage to bring him out of this funk.
    ‘Comon Arizona!’
    Kayley thought to herself anxiously, wishing for a 10th time in as many minutes that she was telepathic so she could figure out where Indy’s twin sister was. Just as Indy shifted the monitor uncomfortably yet again, causing Kayley to cringe, knowing he was seething, Arizona’s Candy Apple Red 69′ Camaro screeched around the corner. before either Indiana or Kayley knew it Arizona had pulled up in front of the apartment building and was slamming her door.
    “How could you be this late when you drive like that?! and don’t test me, cause I know you ALWAYS drive like that!”
    Indy was on his feet, his voice rising angrily before she could reach the curb.
    “Yeah yeah yeah”
    Zoe mumbled under her breath as she popped the trunk.
    “Well? What the hell took so long???”
    Indy continued his interrogation as Kayley stood awkwardly.
    “Effing Christ, you sound like mom ‘where were you?’, ‘why cant you ever tell me when you’ll be back?’ nag nag nag!”
    on any other occasion Zoe’s dead on imitation of the twin’s mother would have at the very least brought a smile to kayleys face, and had, on more than one occasion had the group in tears with laughter. But this time was different. Indy should have known he couldn’t depend on her to be on the tick, but Kayley didn’t dare say that.
    “Well what if something had gone wrong?!?!”
    “Well it didn’t, did it?”
    Zoe thrust her hip out and took a deep drag from her cigarette, exhaling in her twin brother’s face defiantly.
    “I have faith in you big brother, you should take it as a compliment”
    Kayley pushed past the 2 siblings who were to deep in their pissing contest to thnk clearly, and deposited the computer tower into the trunk.
    “Come on you two, you can tear each other’s heads off at home!”
    She looked back and forth between the two, wondering how they hadnt noticed that people had begun to stare.
    Indy tightened his Jaw but deposited the monitor into the trunk along with its tower, and slammed the trunk.
    “yeah, whatever”
    Zoe mumbled as she climbed back into the drivers side. Kayley slid in between the siblings being thankful for bench seating, because they would be able to reach each other had the seats been buckets. She couldn’t help but notice that Zoe had been quite careful to ignore Indy’s questioning on what exactly had taken so long, and with open arizona that wasn’t normal. She wondered at what that girl could be hiding, whatever it was she really didn’t want Indiana to know about it.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 12, 2010 6:35 pm

      There’s such authenticity in this piece! I LOVE the dialog (I’m around teens A LOT and I can definitely see this conversation playing out among some of them). You also have some very cool, visual details like the “candy apple red camero”.

      Especially love this;

      “Zoe thrust her hip out and took a deep drag from her cigarette, exhaling in her twin brother’s face defiantly.”

      Now THAT is a great visual. Also really enjoyed your take on the prompt, which wasn’t romantic at all! VERY nice. Hope you come back to share!

      MZ

  15. Jennytastic permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:17 am

    Jacob could tell by apathetic way Eleni rested her arm over his, that she was feeling more and more detached the closer they got to their destination. He felt it too, and only barely allowed his head to rest against hers.
    They’d been lovers for over a year, barely able to bear moments apart. And now, as they as they sat on the train, they were barely able to contain the revulsion growing within each of them towards each other. The longer their love remained trapped inside the computer, the worse the feelings became.
    The virus was a new one, a love suck. Created to pit friend against friend, lover against lover, family against family. It traveled up through your fingers as you touched the keyboard and then distributed itself throughout your body. It collected your feelings as you stared at the monitor. Unaware that your life was about to take a drastic turn for the worse.
    Eleni could feel Jacobs hand trembling and she wondered if he wanted to jerk it away. She felt the subtle vibration of hatred reverberate through her hand and she wanted to scream, wanted to pull away herself. There were rumors that the more open you were, the more easily the virus was able to attack and subvert your thoughts. Intense love exchanged for equally intense loathing. Eleni didn’t feel anything for Jacob now. Love, had exited her with surprising swiftness.
    It was kind of a joke, really, that both of them were even making the effort to have their systems cleaned. Jacob had been the first to realize what was happening and yanked the cords from the wall, trying to trap the virus before it could dissipate into the vast internet superstructure. It was Jacob who still struggled with his feelings. The virus was spreading more slowly in him. His obvious control fueled Eleni’s anger. It proved when she did love him, her love had been pure.
    Jacobs thumb massaged Elini’s finger, and he wondered if they would make it in time. Somewhere in the depths of his mind, he knew he loved Elini deeply. He was trying to focus on the last threads of that feeling long enough to have it returned to him —returned to them both.
    The train slowed as it approached their stop and Eleni yanked her hand away, tired of the pretense of affection. She gripped the computer tower and her fingers contorted along its edge in frustration. Jacob grabbed hold of the monitor, shouldering the heavier portion of their burden.
    When they stood, Eleni made sure to keep her distance as she walked off the train. Jacob exited behind her, and could tell by the stiffness of her posture that they were too late. He dropped the monitor and grabbed Eleni’s arm spinning her around to kissed her one last time. He kissed her good-bye.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 12, 2010 1:02 am

      Wow… Are you kidding me? I give you a couple prompt and this is what you come up with?!

      It’s… awesome, Jenny! Incredible, really. I would NEVER have expected something like this, and I’m totally wowed that you came up with a concept like this based on that simple little prompt. I read this passage with a kind of growing horror. I FELT their horror, too, I guess.

      And there are some really wonderful, intense pieces in here;

      “Love, had exited her with surprising swiftness.” (so simple, but sheesh. what feeling it incites)

      Plus

      “It was kind of a joke, really, that both of them were even making the effort to have their systems cleaned. Jacob had been the first to realize what was happening and yanked the cords from the wall, trying to trap the virus before it could dissipate into the vast internet superstructure.”

      I could just SEE and FEEL all of this, Jenny. SO good.

      MZ

    • Dodger permalink
      February 12, 2010 9:59 am

      Wow your amazing!

      • February 12, 2010 11:30 pm

        Wow, this is, just amazingly awesome! It was soo well written, I could just picture EVERYTHING. And I never would have expected something like this, your imagination is amazing 🙂

    • Sapphire_Dani permalink
      February 14, 2010 9:24 pm

      Oh My God!!!! you cannot end this badly!!!!!!!!! They seem sooo sweet together…My insides are literally aching to know that he had to tell her goodbye……Contine… This could be something new….<3

  16. February 11, 2010 11:47 pm

    I think something’s a bit wonky with the way the comments are falling or did I reply to someone’s post when I posted my own? If I did, oops. My apologies!

    • February 12, 2010 11:25 pm

      This was really great! It pulled me in right away, you are an amazing writer!! 🙂

      • February 13, 2010 9:38 am

        Thank you, Meagan! 🙂

      • Moni-ka permalink
        February 13, 2010 8:23 pm

        I agree, this is good stuff!

  17. February 11, 2010 11:24 pm

    Hello! This was fun! I love writing flash fiction. 🙂 Hm. I can’t seem to escape Death in my writing. Good or bad thing??

    Adelaide insisted we bring the computer although I told her that it wasn’t allowed. She didn’t care. She wanted to return it to Charlie before we left. She said it was the right thing to do. Adelaide was about doing the right things in life so it made sense that even in death she wanted to do the same.
    We didn’t have much time, only about forty minutes, to get from her place to Charlie’s. The train seemed to creep along like a shadow stalking its prey. I wouldn’t normally go to this extreme to help the living with a final wish, but I liked the way Adelaide smiled at me even with the knowledge of who I was. She hadn’t asked how she would die, just accepted that it was happening nor did she offer anything in exchange for asking me to allow her this borrowed time.
    I liked the way her fingers folded into mine. Her hand was warm and a little sweaty. I didn’t mind. Someone was touching me. Someone wanted to touch me. She could have punched me repeatedly in the arm and I would have accepted it because it meant a living person was touching me. I couldn’t remember how long it had been that I felt the warmth of anything alive. When I take the hand of the dying, I get a hint of warmth from them, but it quickly fades into the iciness of death.
    I had to lean into Adelaide to hear her voice over the sounds of the trains. People around us were busy talking or reading or distracting themselves with gadgets. The train bobbed and weaved us around the city like a boxer in a ring. No one seemed to care or notice the odd couple leaning like lovers into the other one’s space. I felt Adelaide’s breath, the warmth and slight wetness of words kissing my cheek.
    I may have fallen in love with her in the moments leading up to her death. I hadn’t the heart for such action, nor the stomach to tell her the truth.
    We were not going to make it in time to return the computer to Charlie.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 12, 2010 12:56 am

      Damn, Danielle. You are GOOD. I LOVE your writing, and I think it’s safe to say that you’re not the only one with a big, fat crush on Grim.

      This is just lovely. Amazing. Some truly incredible lines in here like;

      “The train seemed to creep along like a shadow stalking its prey.”

      And

      “I liked the way her fingers folded into mine. Her hand was warm and a little sweaty. I didn’t mind. Someone was touching me.”

      LOVE!

      MZ

    • February 14, 2010 1:19 pm

      Thanks, Moni-ka! 😀

  18. February 11, 2010 9:58 pm

    ok umm, so i dont really do short stories, so heres a little poem i thought of really quickly, not the best…

    I’ll keep it short and sweet.
    Nice and neat.
    And with my corny rhymes
    That I use all the time
    I’ll tell you that
    We aren’t robots with processers.
    You can’t control me with a cursor.
    I’m not the Tinman.
    I have a heart.
    And to you I’ll give a part
    And swear never to regret the day
    That i said, “i love you.”
    As long as you promise
    Never to erase my face from your memory.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 11, 2010 10:34 pm

      This is adorable. SO SWEET! I Loved it, Meagan. I hope you have someone special to share this with for Valentine’s Day, and I hope you’ll come back and share more of your work on Thursdays!

      MZ

    • February 11, 2010 11:40 pm

      I love this! I really do. Great standout lines for me are:
      You can’t control me with a cursor.
      I’m not the Tinman.
      I have a heart.

      Never to erase my face from your memory.

      • February 12, 2010 11:21 pm

        Thank you very much Michelle and Danielle! I actually dont have anyone “special”, except for my parents and brother, but I’m perfectly fine with that. 🙂 (And my favorite line was the Tinman one 😛 ) Thank you again.

  19. Shannon Hamling permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:15 pm

    I don’t usually do a traditional kind of love story so I’ll stay true and give it my best! (7 words over 500…so sorry.)
    _______________________________________________________________________

    Jason and I were weird and quarky and ultimately in love, an old fashioned kind of love that really radiated from our souls through the pores of our skin. I’d love him until all life disappeared but he was going away to college this year. We agreed not to promise each other anything so, me being the naturally devious woman I am, I gave him my heart and I promised him everything in my power. I was riding with him on the train to the bus stop where he’d watch me fade away in the distance as he headed off to play football at USC from this rainy little town in Washington.
    “You have to promise you’ll call me everyday.” Jason spoke. The sound of his voice snapped me out of whatever daze I’d been stuck in.
    “No promises remember.” I smiled.
    “You know I love you right?” He said shakily.
    “Everyday for the past four years.” I smiled even bigger, my bright white teeth exposed.
    “Good.” He sighed. Jason hugged the monitor in his lap just a little closer to himself. The train stopped and I sighed inaudibly. My sadness was looming closer with every second. I picked up the computer I refused to let Jason hold. It was, in a way, like letting him go if I didn’t keep it with me until he had to get on the bus. Jason led me to the back of a building where he set the monitor down on the dirty pavement. When he turned around to face me he was crying, I went frantic. If he couldn’t keep it together how was I?
    “Malina I’m going to miss you so much.” He sniffed, holding my face firmly in his hands. I started crying; he was saying good-bye.
    “No Jason I can’t.” I tried to pull his hands away from my face. I wanted to runaway from the good-byes and the tears.
    “Malina, listen!” He said firmly. I sniffed and ceased my squirming. “Just stay right here.” He reached into his hiking pack and pulled out a baseball bat. He hit the monitor with it, I gasped and dropped the computer. He hit that too.
    “Jason what’s wrong with you!? That’s your favorite system.” I screamed.
    “But it’s old.” He grinned, breathing hard from his adrenaline rush.
    “Violence toward an inanimate object isn’t going to solve your problems.” I breathed.
    “No but this will.” He continued to bash the monitor with the bat until it busted open. He reached down and picked something up.
    “What’s that?” I asked.
    “Something new.” He smiled brightly. He hugged me and got down on one knee. His tears fell around his smile. “Malina-Rose Amorette Jennings, will you marry me?” I burst into tears and smiled the only smile I could manage around Jason, the biggest one my face would allow.
    “Jason Blaise Daniels, I’d be honored. Yes and infinity times more!!” I bent down to hug him.
    “I love you.” He whispered.
    “Clearly.” I shrugged and we both laughed hysterically. “Forever?” I whispered.
    “forever.” He confirmed.
    _______________________________________________________________________
    Thanks for reading!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 11, 2010 10:33 pm

      Aw, this is so sweet! And just right for Valentine’s Day! I loved how this crazy aggressive scene where you’re thinking, “Wha?” turns into something totally unexpected!

      Thanks so much for joining in, Sweets!

      MZ

    • February 11, 2010 11:38 pm

      Great job! I loved how he proposed. Could you imagine witnessing someone actually doing that? Cops probably would be called! 😉

    • Jennytastic permalink
      February 12, 2010 1:13 am

      I LOVL the bashing in of the computer and the reward it brings:D Great job!!!

    • February 12, 2010 12:50 pm

      i’m well into creativity flowering from destruction.

      great stuff!

    • Jennytastic permalink
      February 12, 2010 2:03 pm

      oops *LOVE

      • Moni-ka permalink
        February 13, 2010 8:22 pm

        That is really good 😀

  20. Moni-ka permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:07 pm

    “Hey, Mark! I heard there’s this Computer Scrapyard that’s just waiting to get rummaged through! Wanna take a look?” Paz, a hyperactive girl who loved computers, was wearing dark jeans, a black top, and a green scarf. Of course, to her, Mark, a sullen nerd who didn’t laugh because others hated it, couldn’t say no, so he quicky changed into light jeans and a green top and chose a green denim jacket to wear over.

    They walked over to the nearest train station and got on. A couple of stations later, they got off and walked to the scrapyard. They had so much fun at the scrapyard that in no time at all, it was already getting late. They quickly chose a computer and a processor before boarding the next train.

    They spent about 10 minutes on the train in silence. Then, Paz whispered, “Why don’t you laugh anymore, Mark?” He was taken aback. Why would a girl like her care if he laughed or not? “Why do you want to know?”

    She replied, “Ever since you stopped laughing, I feel empty inside. Its as if you aren’t happy at all.”

    “But I am Happy,” he said. “Its just…”

    “Just what?” she asked. “There’s no reason not to laugh, you know. Even if you sound like a Hyena, it still makes others laugh with you. Mark, you’re a funny person, and I like you as a whole, Hyena laugh and all.”

    As he processed what she had said, she leaned her head against his shoulder. “No, scratch that.” She sighed, and whispered:

    “I love you.”

    The Two of them regularly went out on dates at the scrapyard. Ten years later, the two of them used the parts and knowledge that they had aquired to create the first time machine.

    • February 11, 2010 9:48 pm

      wow, this is really good!!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 11, 2010 10:32 pm

      This was so cute! I LOL-ed at poor Mark and his Hyena laugh!

      Thanks for participating, hon!

      MZ

    • February 11, 2010 11:37 pm

      Cute! I love that they build a time machine years later. Poor Mark and his Hyena laugh which I can totally hear in my head now!

    • February 12, 2010 12:49 pm

      i like the notion that by creating a time machine, they can revisit the moment that they created their relationship. would they slightly alter circumstances, trying each time to make it that more perfect, trying out different words, different clothes?!

      great stuff, well done

      • February 12, 2010 11:17 pm

        oh, by the way, ive been told that i sound like a hyena, a dying animal, a zebra, and a squealing pig when i laugh…

    • Ashley permalink
      February 15, 2010 10:43 pm

      Awww! Sounds like my perfect Valentines date, but I can’t seem to get my boyfriend to take me to Starbucks! Hmph! 😦 Lol. It’s so sweet, I hope he loves her for who she is! I would love to have my own Disney Collection!

  21. February 11, 2010 4:15 pm

    here’s an excerpt from the piece that i wrote for this prompt. i got writer’s block for a bit and i wish i could have written more, but i’m happy with what i have.

    i’m old school.
    i still own my super nintendo, complete with mario and zelda games from my childhood. disney movies line my bookshelves, competing for space besides my pokémon figurines and my atari.

    you look at me and see a teenager of the past, like looking in a mirror. i’m youu. i’m what you used to be, before you decided to grow up. but why grow up when you can stay this way forever? because as everyone knows, the eighties are where it’s at.

    right now i’m taking my computer over to my new apartment, getting ready for a night full of magic card duels and a marathon of the original pokémon series. it’s valentine’s day and what else would be the perfect date? come along with me, take part of this computer here and hop on the bus with me.

    please say yes, i’ve been waiting for this moment for as long as i can remember. give me your hand and we’ll make magic, you and i. valentine’s day is the day for love, the day where dreams really come true.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      February 11, 2010 4:46 pm

      Aw… Alix! I LOVE this! So sweet. I can really feel all this youthful hope and optimism in it. It made me smile, and I instantly imagined the narrator and a special someone spending a quiet, cheap night in a little, run-down apartment not needing anything but each other.

      Nicely DONE!

      MZ

      • February 11, 2010 5:00 pm

        Thank you Michelle! Comments like this make my day. :]
        I’m actually preparing a portfolio of pieces like this that will be showcased at our school’s Fine Arts’ Night in April or May.

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        February 11, 2010 6:23 pm

        That’s great, hon! I’m sure it will all be fabulous.

        MZ

      • February 11, 2010 9:50 pm

        this is so sweet!

      • February 16, 2010 6:41 pm

        that is AMAZING!!! can you post the first chapter??????!!?? pa-LEASE!??

      • Ashley permalink
        February 17, 2010 12:31 am

        Who me?

      • February 17, 2010 6:20 pm

        yes, you Ashley, i say the word, POST!!! Please :p

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        February 17, 2010 6:35 pm

        Ashley has a fan!!!
        😀

        And tomorrow’s Open Mic, so maybe you can post it for everyone to see then, Ahsley!

        MZ

      • Ashley permalink
        February 18, 2010 3:34 am

        I know! WOOT WOOT! Haha.
        Otay. Tomorrow for Open Mic, Megan. Promise!

    • February 11, 2010 9:49 pm

      aww, wow! i can totally visualize everything! its amazing! really great

      • Anonymous permalink
        February 14, 2010 10:03 pm

        Thanks! :]

    • February 11, 2010 11:31 pm

      I like how the “old” toys of childhood keeps the narrator young. 🙂
      It’s very sweet. Nicely done.

Trackbacks

  1. Untitled Post - ~Stories by DT~

Leave a Reply

