Skip to content

Spoiled in Singapore!

March 8, 2010

Meet this week’s Anonymous Teen Reader, Cool Cat! She lives in an exotic foreign country, loves to read fantasy, and thinks Beauty and the Beast is the BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME.

😀

And how cute is this pic? (Shshshshshsh! I picked it because she forgot to send me one! But I think it fits her code name perfectly, don’t you?)

P.S. If you’d like to be part of my Anonymous Teen Reader feature, send me an email on Facebook, Twitter (DM), or Myspace!


JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); THE COOL CAT

Current country of residence; Singapore, where the east meets the west

Male or female? Female

Age; 18

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Ten? It depends on how much I can borrow from the library.

Favorite kind of book and why; Fantasy. There is a fountain of possibility to be explored there. Anything can happen, and anything will happen.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; Synopsis. Those marketing blurbs work, y’all.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When I go ‘wow’ at times throughout the book.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? Not that important. Ultimately, if I like it, I’ll buy it.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; More steampunk, Victorian/ Southern gothic. Anyone have any recommendations?

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When the characters are just unbelievable and act a certain way because the plot tells them to.

Paperback or hardcover? Hardcover if possible. I love the weight and solidness. Also, the fact that it’s much more impressive to show off.

Series or stand-alone? Series. I’d love to find out more about the world which I fell in love in.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? Hmm, I listen to a mix of music. You name it, I’ve probably listened to it. If not, I’ll look it up on Youtube now. Just a tip? Don’t listen to creepy music box in the middle of the night for ‘inspiration’.

Name your favorite band; Right now, it’s Muse.

Best movie of all time? OF ALL TIME! Beauty and the Beast.

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; Oh, this is tough! I have a bunch of group of friends, but I’ll pick the ones that I’m closest to. There are nine of us in this one particular group. We’re called the ‘Babes’, which came about one day while we were singing the Bananas in Pyjamas theme song, and saying the famous line which goes something like this: “B1, are you thinking what I’m thinking B1?” “Yes, I’m thinking what you’re thinking B2.” After giving ourselves labels (I’m B4!), the whole B part evolved into ‘babe’ and that’s what we usually call each other. It’s annoyingly endearing at times. Our favourite sport has to be volleyball . We have varying interests, but we always support each other the best we can. All of us met in secondary school, and we’ve known each other since we were thirteen. We’re eighteen now, and even though we don’t get to meet often, we know what’s going on in each other’s lives. (Yeah, I miss them. It’s been a while since our last outing.)

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? There are a lot of natural disasters going around. I’m scared for everyone everywhere. :/

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? I’d love to say that I’ll be investing it… First thing, my parents will go on a second honeymoon. Next, we’ll go on a family trip. Then backpacking across Europe with the peeps. Okay, okay, maybe I’ll save a major percentage of it first, invest a smal percentage, then the trips, then a major shopping trip in all the shopping capitals across the world. Are you SURE there are no strings attached?! Here, sign this form.

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? London. I’ve always wanted to find out how the culture is like there.

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? What’s that? #FacebookNoob (heehee!)

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why. Yes! They’re supportive of my every (reasonable) endeavor. My parents spoil me rotten, yet they’ve brought me up right such that I realise that I’m being spoilt rotten and appreciate it. My sister is just so sweet that spoiling her is a joy, that brat.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? I know how to speak 4 languages: English, Malay, French and Arabic. If you count obscenities in Tamil, Mandarin and some other Chinese dialects, it would be much more. *grin*

Name your biggest secret fear. Clowns. That’s a big HECK NO.

Name something you like about yourself. I appreciate books. Hee!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayla permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:53 pm

    That is a cute picture!

    Can’t post on open mic this week (again) mostly because I have strep throat and am completly miserable. klo

    dang it! sorry about the klo. I cant type right i have a bandaid on my finger cause the doctor had to take blood.

    😦

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      March 9, 2010 7:40 pm

      Aw, feel better, Sweets! We’ll miss you but totally understand.

      MZ

      • Ayla permalink
        March 9, 2010 9:22 pm

        thanks.

        *coughs for the millionth time*

  2. March 9, 2010 12:56 pm

    Four languages!!! Impressive!

  3. March 8, 2010 7:49 pm

    Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; More steampunk, Victorian/ Southern gothic. Anyone have any recommendations?

    This makes me very happy indeed, what with both my current writing and stuff I have been outlining. 😀

    What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When the characters are just unbelievable and act a certain way because the plot tells them to.

    This is a big peeve of mine too, so it’s nice to hear that others feel the same way. Now to get more people to hear this.

Leave a Reply

