Skip to content

Green Zone

March 12, 2010

Today’s Kenneth and I went to see Green Zone for our Friday Matinee.

I have to confess that while I always look forward to my Friday movie with Kenneth, I figured this would be a predictable, action-packed war movie. That was partly because of the only trailer I’d seen for the movie, which was this one;

I was fine with it, because I love movies of all kinds, and I’m always happy to be entertained, even if the movie in question isn’t necessarily a contender for an Oscar. But the movie really surprised me. It was less about war itself and more about corrupt intelligence and the innocent people caught in the crossfire because of it. In my opinion, the trailer missed the mark. And since trailers are like the book cover of movies, I thought I’d show you what I mean.

I understand they were going for the Bourne audience with that first trailer, but I think we (because I love the Bourne movies and the books by Robert Ludlum) would have gone to see Green Zone anyway because of Damon. The trailer missed an opportunity to reel in a bit of a different audience, which I think they might have gotten with this trailer;

The second trailer represents the movie more accurately, but I guess it’s not as sexy without the rockin’ music.

I loved this movie because the plot was basically an hypothesis for the mystery of WMDs in the Iraq War. It replays the early days of the war. The political infighting between government agencies and the US’s desperation to find the WMDs they said were there was well-depicted, but the movie brought a whole new layer to the information I already had by depicting the stress and danger to the soldiers who were constantly sent out on raids that were supposed to net the discovery of WMDs and never did. My son was only about ten when everything began in Iraq, and he was glad he got a big-picture view of how it all started, even though he understands that this particular snapshot comes through the lens of a movie.

I totally recommend it! Happy weekend everybody!

😀

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 12:44 am

    Oh, I love Alice. I took my 7yo (her favorite book and movie is “Coraline”) and my soon-to-be 11 yo to it last Saturday. Loved the story. Loved the characters. Loved the relationship 19yo Alice had with a very different Wonderland. I feared I would be disappointed, but I wasn’t. Not one teenytiny bit. And you?

  2. March 13, 2010 1:53 am

    I love that you see movies every Friday with your son!

Leave a Reply

