Skip to content

Hodge Podge!

March 20, 2010

Since I never do this to you guys, I thought I’d take the opportunity to catch up on a couple of things before I post an awesome trailer for the upcoming Predator remake.

First, a reminder that I’ll be signing at Books of Wonder tomorrow at 5pm for the 2010 Teen Author Festival tomorrow. I’d so love to see you there, but even if you can’t make it at 5pm, there will be tons of incredible YA authors signing all day starting at 10am. You can find out more by going to the event’s Facebook page.

One of my all-time favorite book bloggers is Adele from Persnickety Snark. I love Adele for her thorough reviews and her incredible passion for YA literature, so I was super excited to hear that she’s putting together a list of of the Top 100 YA Novels. Best of all, she’s invited you all to participate! Here’s your chance to see that your favorite YA novels are recognized. Guidelines as follows;

1. Vote for your top ten YA books of all time by April 30, 2010. YA in this case will indicate a readership of 13 and over. This is a loose definition but is in place to differentiate it from Middle Grade. You can provide reasoning for a book if you feel it belongs in the YA category. However, I retain the right of refusal.

2. List these books in your order of preference (stating both title and author). Your #1 YA book would be the one you feel is the most important, so it will receive 10 points. Your #2 choice will be only 9 points. And so on and such. So be very careful how you order your books. Ranking titles incorrectly might lead to an “interesting” group of results so please be careful to do this correctly.

3. Submit these books to adele@persnicketysnark.com. Write “Top 100 YA Novelsl” in the subject line.

4. If you like, you can submit what you like about each title. At the beginning of May I will tally up the totals and I will quote from the submitted pieces why one individual or another liked a particular book (citing the reader). That way we can share why we liked one book or another. I will then count down from 100 to 1 the top choices of what people feel the best YA titles of all time are.

Wanted to let you guys know that I saw Diary of a Wimpy Kid yesterday and give it two thumbs way up. They did an awesome job, evidenced by the fact that Kenneth, my 10-year-old pip-squeak, and I enjoyed it equally. I looked for a trailer to put up to pimp the movie, but they’re all “embedding disabled.” 😦

Still, just go see it! It’s funnn!

Lastly, I want to say a big muchos gracias to my Spanish fans for sending Prophecy into a second printing in Spain after only three months! Te Amo!!

As promised, I have to plug the newest incarnation of Predator. As most of you know, I’m a crazy film fan with a special fondness for anything dark. That said, remakes are always scary, especially when you really loved the original. But I think this one looks awesome! How about you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. MAK...XD permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:26 pm

    ok…i wanna see this….need popcorn and a blanket…XD

Leave a Reply

