Skip to content

Germany, Polytechnique, and Scott Westerfeld!

March 22, 2010

This week’s Anonymous Teen reader has made me feel calm and peaceful already, just because of her code name, Tranquility, and the lovely photo she chose at left.

Ahhhhhh! So nice!

Plus, she’s just a sweetheart and always makes me smile when I “see” her online.

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Tranquility.

Current country of residence; Canada.
Male or female? Female.
Age; 16.
ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? It depends, but I tend to devour at least one every two days, so that’s fifteen books or so.

Favorite kind of book and why; Like I said, I devour books by the bucketful, I like a lot of different genres but my favourite is basically all the books under YA at my library or Chapters. Or anything by Scott Westerfeld, of course [:
Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; There are several important factors when I buy a book, such as the cover and synopsis. It also helps if it’s by an author that I’ve read before, because then I can guess how much I’ll like the book or not.
What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When the book comes to life before your eyes. If you can imagine the characters in your everyday life, the plot is in-depth, and the setting is just right, it makes the book truly spectacular.
How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? Considering me and my friends read the same genres of books, I value their opinion more then anyone else’s. I’ve found that some reviews don’t favor the book that I am thinking about purchasing, but my friends will contradict the review. Two stars turns into five stars and the book sits on my shelf, crisp and new.
Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; Oh gosh, less of vampires. Or I guess, less of the vampire that Stephenie Meyer created and more of the original, dark, brooding creatures that I used to adore. Sparkly vampires just kinda ruin the whole thing, because who wants a vampire that glistens under the sun? Not me, for sure.
What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When the author goes thesaurus-happy.
Paperback or hardcover? Either/or. If I have the money then I will splurge and buy a hardcover, or my grandma knows to buy me them for Christmas and my birthday. I don’t tend to loan out my paperback books because if they come back even slightly bent or creased, I go all ninja on them, haha.
Series or stand-alone? Either/or. I love following the characters and seeing them develop, but I don’t mind stand-alones.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? Anything from Silverstein to the Rolling Stones to Metric to Lady Gaga. The only music that will never be on my iPod or in my CD/vinyl collection will be country.
Name your favorite band; I’m torn between the New Cities and the Friday Night Boys, both bands are absolutely amazing! I’ve met the New Cities several times since they started their tour last year, they are the nicest people from Trois-Rivieres, QC, that I have ever met.

Best movie of all time? I really liked Avatar, but there was something about Polytechnique that moved me. For those of you who haven’t heard of this 2009 Canadian film from Quebec, it’s based on the Ecole Polytechnique Massacre in Montreal. The film documents the events of December 6, 1989 through the eyes of two students who witness a gunman murder fourteen young women. No, I am not a twisted person for liking this film, it’s just very well done. I like how it’s in black and white, to avoid showing blood on screen, and it helps to show that Columbine or Virginia Tech weren’t the only major school shootings; we Canadians have had more then our fair share of guns in schools as well. (sounds awesome. will definitely check this one out!)

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; They don’t dare to be different, and can be a little bit crazy at times, but so can I. I guess you could classify us as the drama kids/artists/frenchies, if anything. We are all involved with school activities and are trying to achieve some of our school’s prestigious awards when we graduate, but we aren’t all work/no play. We always host bowling trips and karaoke nights to help relieve the stress of working so hard at school.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it?
I’m scared that more events like the earthquake in Haiti are going to happen soon and we won’t be prepared for it. It’s only going to get worse as the years go by if we don’t stop and consider the causes of everything.
Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? Stop working at McDonalds (haha, very funny, I know), put aside some in a trust for my brother and sister, pay off the truck, my parent’s car and mortgage, and keep the rest for myself.
You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? Germany, to visit my family. I’ve only met some of them, and I would also like to improve my German, as I can only understand it, not speak it.

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? Perhaps once, but that was because they always posted Farmville/CafeWorld stuff on my wall like, every five seconds, and it got too cluttered. (I HATEEEE that!)

Do you get along with your family? Either way, tell us why. More or less, we do fight sometimes but they’re my family. I love them and I can’t stay mad at them for long.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That even though I’m skinny, I eat like it’s gone out of style. I just have a really high metabolism and I like to eat, what can I say?

Name your biggest secret fear. Being alone.
Name something you like about yourself. My eyes. Everyone I know likes them and it’s the only thing about myself that I truly love.
What one thing would you like to know about other teens? Do they really wonder how other people think about them 24/7?
PS. Sorry my formatting is all messed up on this one! Not sure what the problem is, but I’ll try to fix it tomorrow!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:43 am

    I will for sure check out Polytechnique. School shootings are one of my worst fears…(I have 3 kids;p.)
    It’s fantastic that you read so much and that you trust your friends input over a negative review. There truly is a book for everyone, I think.

Leave a Reply

