Skip to content

Real Life Drama, Bare Knuckle Boxing, and Everyday Magic

March 29, 2010

I’m so excited to feature tonight’s Anonymous Teen Reader, The Artful Dodger! She’s one of my very favorite online teens and is a fascinating person besides. Wait until you read some of her hobbies!!

And just a reminder that if you want to be featured as an anonymous teen reader, just send me an email via Facebook or Myspace or a DM via Twitter.

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); The Artful Dodger

Current country of residence; US of A

Male or female? iOvulate (tee-hee)

Age; 19

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Probably around 12 during a slow month

Favorite kind of book and why; Gritty Real Life Dramas or Romance, I like Real Life dramas because it talks about real life issues such as addiction and abuse etc. and despite that their hard subjects to think or talk about they do exist. I like romance novels to help me kind of get away from all the real life sometimes though. Ellen Hopkins is My Favorite Author next to Stephen King. (Oh-Em-Gee! Two of my faves!)

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; I dont have one single most factor it depends on a few things. The Title of the Book, which usually has to get my attention. Then the back, and the first page or first chapter so I can see A. what its about, and how interesting the plot is and B. how I feel about the author’s writing style. and while its not a must, an aesthetically pleasing cover never hurts.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When my heart is racing along with the main characters. When the book draws me in and I feel like I’m right there in that situation either in place of the main character or right along with them, or as if im hearing them directly tell me the story of these events transpiring.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? Not at all. My friends recomendation may get me to go check out the factors I mentioned above in that book, or I may even go borrow it from the library.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; Talking about Real Life subjects that though are hard to deal with, are situations and experiences that surround us and the world we live in even if it doesnt seem to touch us specifically. I’m hoping to help with this as these are the books I write and I hope to be published soon.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? Misspelled words or inconsistency of the story. Also lack of detail and descriptiveness, or if the story is far to predictable. Also I cant stand main characters who are full of themselves hahaha. Also when its repetitive (like bella fawning over edwards looks in twilight, ok we get the picture, please move on).

Paperback or hardcover? Hardcover is preferred.

Series or stand-alone? Series! or even a Trilogy at least.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? All different kinds. Rock, Metal, Country, Classical, Ska, Grunge, Techno, Hip Hop, R&B, Etc.

Name your favorite band; The Beatles, Jethro Tull, and Type O Negative. Not always in that order though lol.

Best movie of all time? Couldnt pick, there are too many great movies. Fight Club, A Clockwork Orange, Closer, Memoirs of a Geisha, Fingersmith, 300, Apocolypto  The list is endless!

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; I dont so much have a group of friends, I have a few close friends and some friends on the net. Mostly they’re free spirits who believe in making their own way. Some are loud and in your face, and some are shy and reserved but they’re all great, and smart people. The best part is we all accept each other for who we are and that’s whats important.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? The way people act towards one another, and the amount of disrespect children have for their elders. Everyone needs to drop their “self righteous, holier than thou, narcissistic, conceited” attitudes and act right toward one another.

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? get my own house, put some in the bank and use some to help my family and friends. and pay for my license/insurance/get a car

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? I would rather spend the year traveling and seeing all the magic there is in the world. you can find it even in your own back yard if only you open your eyes.

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? Nope, cant say that I have.

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why. I do more since I moved out of my parents house. Me and my mom are both stubborn and head strong so when we disagree it becomes a major problem.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That underneath my Loud and Aggressive exterior I’m insecure too.

Name your biggest secret fear. My only Fear is that Fear will stop me from something. My Fear is Fear itself. I strive to not be afraid of anything.

Name something you like about yourself. I like that I rely on noone but myself, that I’m strong enough to fight for what I believe, and that I am passionate about my beliefs.

What one thing would you like to know about other teens? What are their hobbies? am I like the only teenager who likes to knit, crochet and bare knuckle box or something???

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayla permalink
    March 30, 2010 5:20 pm

    beatles = 😀

  2. March 30, 2010 4:57 am

    @Jenny – thanks I’d love to know you too =D im on twitter @ http://www.twitter.com/ikilledkennyx , or you can email me at ikilledkennyx@gmail.com feel free to talk to me anytime!

    @Brandi – I love knitting, Im so glad I know how. Good luck! and let me know how your doing with it =D

    @Michellezinkbooks – thank you so much again for this opportunity, it was an absolutely amazing experience.

    @Rebekah – I totally completly understand that feeling about our generation being selfish and self entitled, and I’m so glad to find a like minded teen. also its nice to find someone else who likes to knit. I’ve been knitting for about 7 or 8 years now and it is one of the best hobbies out there. I love both knitting and crocheting, its simply easier for me to put down a crochet project and not worry about it, than it is with knitting, which im sure you understand. I’d be more than willing to try and help you with crocheting sometime though.

  3. Jenny permalink
    March 29, 2010 10:26 pm

    Great interview! You sound like someone I’d love to know<3

  4. Brandi permalink
    March 29, 2010 8:44 pm

    You’re not the only one who likes to knit! I’m learning because I really want to knit!! :]

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      March 29, 2010 9:04 pm

      My daughter likes to knit, too, Brandi!

      MZ

    • Rebekah permalink
      March 29, 2010 10:01 pm

      Mkay, I’m really liking you, The Artful Dodger :] My mother and I were talking about how my generation is so selfish and self-entitled. Also, I love to knit! I’ve been knitting for about 5 years now, and I adore it. Crocheting though, I could never get it straight…. Anyway, I loved your interview and think learning how to bare-knuckle box would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

