Skip to content

Wizard Rock, the Food Network, and Dying Alone

April 5, 2010

Wow, I totally bailed on you guys at the end of last week. I didn’t post my usual Friday movie trailer and I didn’t post my Saturday Night Live. I didn’t even get the chance to read your TNW posts. All I can say in my defense is that I was completely and utterly exhausted from six straight weeks of working, nose to the grindstone, on three separate projects. It was three weeks of not enough sleep, not enough downtime, and very little that wasn’t within the walls of my house or on the screen of my computer.

Friday also happened to be Rebekah’s 16th birthday, so as soon as I turned in my final Prophecy 3 draft, I wanted to focus all my energy on celebrating with my wonderful girl.

Then I DIED!

Just kidding. I SLEPT. But I really, really needed it. I feel much better now. This week, I’ll be going back to read your TNW posts and will be back to work on another project I set aside last year. I always think the project I’m working on at any given time is the one I like best, and this one is no exception!

For now, let me introduce you to this week’s Anonymous Teen Reader, Evanna Karson. Without realizing it, Evanna has introduced me to the phenomena that is Wizard Rock. She also wants to visit Ireland, England, or Italy and has a heart of gold! Read on to learn more about this amazing teen!

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Evanna Karson

Current country of residence; USA

Male or female? female

Age; 19

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? I would say 4-5

Favorite kind of book and why; anything YA really because I really want to be a YA novelist and I love the fact that I can usually connect with at least one character in any YA book

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; whether or not it sounds interesting, or if the author seems cool, for example, if I have talked to an author on, let’s say twitter, than I will usually go buy their book

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? if I am left thinking that I wish it wasn’t over and feel the need to re read it as soon as possible

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? very important, one of my friends that I know through YouTube has a book review channel and she if she reads a book she really enjoys 9 times out of 10 I will go out as soon as I have money and buy it

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; there really isn’t anything (that I can think of anyway) that I would like to see more or less of

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? when authors make a female character completely dependent on guys and it seems like they are saying that girls will only be happy if they have a boy in their life

Paperback or hardcover? depends on how much I want the book, if I need it as soon as it comes out then I will buy hardcover but if I can wait then paperback; but if I am reading a series I have to have them all in paperback or hardcover.

Series or stand-alone? either

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? lately I have been listening to a lot of Wizard rock bands, bands based on the Harry Potter cds

Name your favorite band; my favourite wizard rock band is a tie between Draco and the Malfoys and The Parselmouths but my favourite band of all time is Lady Antebellum or Plain White T’s

Best movie of all time? hands down, The Princess Bride

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; I don’t have a lot of real life friends, most of my friends are all people I have met through twitter or YouTube, but we are just a bunch of huge dorks. I have this “club” type thing with about 20 of my online friends and all we do in the club is go around asking random people (usually celebrities or people we admire) if they like mustard.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? That we don’t care enough, about a year ago I discovered John and Hank Green’s YouTube channel and I saw all the amazing things that their viewers do for charity and they got me into doing a lot more for charity but when I tell people about this a lot of times they don’t get why I am doing it

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? first I would buy a new laptop because I really need a new one, then I would move to Los Angeles, probably take my mom on a trip to Europe, but I would give probably a good 70-80% to different charities just because I feel they need it more than I do

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? Ireland, England, or Italy, because I have always wanted to visit those places and they just seem like they would be really amazing places to live

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? not that I can remember off the top of my head

Do you get along with your family? Either way, tell us why. most days, no, my family has an issue with communicating with others so we mostly just yell.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? I am obsessed with Food Network

Name your biggest secret fear. dying alone

Name something you like about yourself. I love my ability to procrastinate on papers for school and still get 100% on them

What one thing would you like to know about other teens? Do you regret any choices you have made?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:26 pm

    I haven’t heard anything by The Parselmouths – only wrock bands I have listened to are Harry and the Potters, Draco and the Malfoys, The Remus Lupins and Malfoy Manor. Oh, and Switchblade Kittens (I think they call themselves The Weird Sisters when in wrock guise).

    Other fandoms have got bands now as well – my favourite fandomband is the trock (Time Lord Rock) band Chameleon Circuit. 😀

  2. April 6, 2010 10:07 pm

    draco and the malfoys = looooove.
    i don’t mind wizard rock bands, but if you’re interested in stuff like that, have you heard of the potter puppet pals? a brother and sister made puppets and have episodes and whatnot on youtube, it’s worth checking out.

    also, tom felton has a pretty good singing voice, he has an ep out right now on itunes. :]

  3. mak...XD permalink
    April 5, 2010 7:12 pm

    i love food network too and those places….italy’s my fave. do you cook???
    XD

Leave a Reply

