Skip to content

Book Geeks, New York, and a Band Called BlackHatchet

April 19, 2010

Meet BlackHatchet, this week’s Anonymous Teen Reader! She’s one of those online people who ALWAYS make me smile. And let’s be honest; what’s not to love about a spunky girl with short hair and a band called BlackHatchet?!

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); BlackHatchet

Current country of residence; USA

Male or female? Female

Age; To me, actual birthday age doesn’t count… but how you act does. So if you didn’t know my birthday and you only judged me by the way I acted, you would think I was about sixteen.

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? It depends on if I’m in school or during the summer. When school is in session I usually read about five (200- 700 page) books.

Favorite kind of book and why; My favorite kind of book is the horror/suspense genre because all the other genres don’t keep me on the edge of my seat and wanting to read more.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; If the book is in the same genre section as Prophecy of the Sisters and The Mortal Instruments series then I will most likely buy it. (I totally did not pay her to say that, I swear!)

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When I stay up or have stayed up until midnight not being able to wait for tomorrow to continue reading.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? VERY IMPORTANT!!! I only have one main friend that I depend on for that type of stuff (in fact I really only have a few friends because I have my nose in a book when I could be socializing)… Her name is Sierra. We both give each other recommendations for books because we both love the YA genre… To me, she recommended The Hunger Games (which I have not read yet but I will) and I recommended to her- Prophecy of the Sisters (she loves that book). (And I love Sierra!)

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; I would like to see-

A-     More work by Michelle Zink

B-      More horror/suspense

C-      LESS TWILIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When an author uses too much description… I just want an outline so that I can add my own small details to my liking… NOT a video game showing all textures and exact colors!!!

Paperback or hardcover? Hardcover because I am really rough on books.

Series or stand-alone? Series… I don’t like to left on a cliff when there are no more books coming…

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? Alternative Rock, Punk, Screamo Music, Emo music etc.

Name your favorite band; Well it obviously can’t be MY band, BlackHatchet, so my favorite band would have to be Linkin Park or Escape the Fate. (I could go on and on and on…)

Best movie of all time? Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; Just the regular people… not popular but not the geeks either (well, on the inside I’m a book geek)

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? The world- Global problems such as littering, cutting down trees, and stuff like that… I think that is a HUGE problem!!!

The people- I’m kind of worried that the people aren’t getting enough variety in their lives. They should try reading POS instead of Twilight! They should try listening to Coldplay instead of Miley Cyrus. (Oh-Em-Gee! You like Coldplay! *faints*)

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? I would give about a fourth of it to my mom to buy a house where I can have my own room.  Then I would use the rest to buy instruments, rental space, guitar/vocal/keyboard/drum lessons, and a recording deal for my band. Then if I had any extra I would buy a new bookcase and a LOT of books!

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? I would live in New York so I could go meet Michelle Zink! (I would take my BFF sierra too!) (I would LOOOOOVE to meet you guyss!)

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? I don’t have Facebook… I’m not much of the public websites where you have to share your name and stuff like that…. Eek!

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why. That’s kind of hard because most of the time I’m reading… Come back to me in about 6 months when I have read all the books in the world LOL…

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That I have an awesome sense of humor. (I knew that!)

Name your biggest secret fear. A giant blue monster coming into my room in the middle of the night and eating all my Oreos… AHHHHHH

Name something you like about yourself. My short blonde hair… it gives me an excuse- “What can I say? I’m blonde!’

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose Collins permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:10 pm

    I’ve met them. (Know them). They’re awesome.

    • BlackHatchet permalink
      April 20, 2010 7:51 am

      Uh…. You do???

      *Is Confused*

      I don’t remember ever meeting anybody else who has read prophecy!

  2. Moni-ka permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:08 pm

    Yay, less twighlight! So I’m not the only one.

  3. mak...XD permalink
    April 19, 2010 5:33 pm

    i like you…less twilight!!!!!!! an all the rock…*double thumbs up*

Leave a Reply

