Skip to content

Spray Tans – Fashion Don’t?

April 23, 2010

Guess what, you guys?! It’s Prom season! And you know what that means!

Spray tans!

I know some of you are thinking “WTF?” right now. That’s because if you grew up in the 80’s like I did, this might be a bit of a revelation for you. After all, when we were teens, everybody was starting to figure out that tans caused skin cancer, and since the words “spray tan” hadn’t been invented, most of us just weren’t tan. Advertising agencies even started using paler models in an effort to discourage tanning.

Plus, with 80’s Madonna and a bunch of pasty-white Euro musicians for role models, pale was in, bay-bee!

If however, you are a child of the 21st Century, you’re probably used to seeing the Oompa-Loompa’s walking around school come April and May when every girl, even the ones who’s skin wouldn’t tan in a microwave, turns the same, strange shade of orange. As my teenage son and daughter insert their own, er, interesting remarks about this phenomena, I have to wonder; does ANYONE think this is attractive?

I don’t want to poison the well, so to speak, so I’m going to keep my opinion on the matter short and let YOU tell me what you you think via today’s Friday poll.

I just want to say, whatever happened to this definition of beauty?

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

And if you MUST spray tan, how about something natural-looking, like this;

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

But whatever you think, I hope none of you ever do this (and I chose a very kind photo of the ones available. This is actually a much gentler shade of orange than most of the girls I see walking around);

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Amanda, you are truly beautiful in your natural skin color. For realz. You don’t need this, hon!

Now it’s your turn!

PS. I would totally love it if some dudes would weigh in on this issue, because my hunch is this has become such a big deal because girls think YOU like it…


13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 9:50 pm

    last summer before we went to Florida, vanity got the better of me and I got a spray tan.

    I know I know!

    I wasn’t orange, but I was a weird brown color that was not natural. And after a couple of days the tan started to streak off so I looked like I had vitiligo. I am not making fun, but that’s how it was coming off.

    Lesson learned. My pasty white butt will just have to blind everyone at the beach from now on.

  2. The Artful Dodger permalink
    April 24, 2010 8:32 pm

    For someone whos half spanish I’m hella pale (if you look at the pik on my review thats me) I literally glow in the dark! but stick me out in the sun and I turn a crisp brown pretty quick. God I love having Olive skin toned, even if it does mean that I cant have blond hair. The thing is I never go in the sun, so I can understand the desperation, but even at that desperate I would rather just go crisp in a tanning bed. Spray tans are so frikken tacky.

  3. Ayla permalink
    April 24, 2010 8:09 am

    Like cat, I’m from celtic ancestry (Not Irish, scottish) so I am naturally pale and have freckles. I barely ever tan, and I lived in florida until I was five. When I look back at pictures, im always pale! SOMETIMES I tan a little bit, but it looks horrible because I used to have blonde hair! Well, i still have blonde hair but its darker.

  4. April 23, 2010 11:33 pm

    I have darker skin than most of my family, not sure why. My sisters used to use tanning beds and so did my dad. I used the spray tan when I worked in at gym, it was kind of expected..muscles and tanning that whole thing. I personally after seeing some of the “Oompa Loompas” in Hollywood would suggest against it. There are still problems with it, besides the looking like you belong in a fruit of the loom add. I say stay away from it. Some of the newer lines of lotions do a better job and you don’t look like you have liver problems.

    B

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 24, 2010 1:45 am

      Lmao! I hadn’t thought about jaundice, but… yeah! Good point!

      MZ

  5. April 23, 2010 9:52 pm

    Like Nazarea, I have dark skin, so I’ve never needed to spray tan, but I’m pretty sure my opinion woudn’t change eiher if I did have paler skin. At least it’s a little step up from tanning beds, which still seem to be predominant in my area. Completely ridiculous.

    And I think Anne Hathaway is one of the most gorgeous women ever!

  6. April 23, 2010 5:53 pm

    You know, when the sun tans you, cancer-be-darned, it doesn’t turn you ORANGE. Do these people with the spray tans not realize they look more like walking carrots than someone with a healthy glow of having been in the outdoors?

    I have Irish skin, I’m full of freckles and pale as a ghost. I don’t tan. I burn until I look like a lobster (even in just 5 minutes! I’m like Instant Rice in the sun!) and then I peel and I look slightly less transparent. I have never sat in the sun and bathed in the UV rays, even when I was a teen in the late 80’s early 90’s. I burn. It hurts and then I look like a snake shedding her skin.

    But when I do get *some* colour, it looks healthy. It doesn’t look like I am the love child of a human and a carrot.

    And that’s my say on the matter. Spray tans. Just say no. Spend your money on something practical like FOOD, or maybe a good book.

    Signed,
    Crotchety Old Cat

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 23, 2010 6:02 pm

      Lmao! Well said! And I second the use of money for something else. I don’t know how much it costs, but I figure you can get at least three good books for the same amount of money.

      MZ

    • April 23, 2010 6:08 pm

      I agree with everything you wrote, Cat! I’m pale, freckled and burn just thinking about going out in the sun. I blame the vampire blood for my discomfort in the sun.

      I don’t spray tan. I’ve used the lotion and thought it looked awkward on me. I’ve embraced my pale skin and shades of pink/red when sun “kisses” me.

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        April 23, 2010 6:11 pm

        Anne Hathaway and many others make a gorgeous case for embracing your pale skin, don’t you think?

        MZ

      • April 23, 2010 6:19 pm

        I’m not a vampire. Just Irish Canadian. 😉 Although I am called a reverse-vampire as I tend to fall asleep as soon as the sun sets and wake up when it rises. If I’m caught in the moonlight, I might *SPARKLE!!* (ha! Who am I kidding? I’m asleep as soon as the sun is halfway to bed.)

  7. michellezinkbooks permalink*
    April 23, 2010 5:17 pm

    I’m glad I made you laugh!

    But seriously… this makes me sad. I wish women wouldn’t take their cues from the media about what’s attractive. This is so Jersey Shore. Ick.

    I just think we should ALL try and be happy with ourselves the way we are as much as possible. And if we ARE going to embellish a little (via make-up, clothing, spray tans, whatever), we should actually look in the mirror and ASK ourselves if it’s attractive rather than believing it is because a bunch of trashy, reality-TV girls and the guys who like that kind of thing tell us it is.

  8. April 23, 2010 5:05 pm

    it should be noted that my vote shouldn’t count. I was born dark and can tan under a light bulb. So I’ve never needed to spray tan…I think if I DID…my opinion would still be the same.

    ALSO…this blog made me giggle.

Leave a Reply

