Skip to content

Why I Love Where I Live

April 28, 2010

As most of you know, I moved my family from Southern California to a small town in New York about nine years ago. Today, as I was driving home from school drop off along a road like this;

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

I thought about all the people who told me I’d regret leaving California. How I’d hate the weather in NY and I’d be back inside five years.

Now, I’m not going to say I don’t miss anything about California. There are two big things I miss – great restaurants and the beach. But I LOVE where I live, and I’m reminded of that daily when I’m driving around my little town seeing things like this;

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

Z

And this;

And there are lots of reasons why I love it, even though it’s way cheaper to live here than in CA (a definite bonus!).

So I thought I’d share some of them with you, because for a long time, it never occurred to me that I could MOVE. When I realized that geography and the high cost of living were the things that was keeping in a job I hated, it was an epiphany to realize that I could not only move someplace else but actually BE HAPPY there.

So for those of you who said I’d regret leaving and be back inside of five years – Booyah!

And for everyone else, here are the Top Ten Reasons I Love Where I Live;

1. There are more pickup trucks and minivans than SUVs and luxury sedans.

2. If I go to the store in my pajamas, no one will care, even though I’m almost guaranteed to run into at least one person I know.

3. At least once a day I look around and feel like I’m living in a postcard.

4. I only hear sirens about once a month and they’re usually from one of the firetrucks kept by our volunteer fire department.

5. If you do something stupid like set your field on fire (not that, um, we’ve ever done this), everyone will ask you about it for at least two weeks. So even though it can be embarrassing to have Bob from down the road say, “I noticed your field on fire last week,” I take it as a sign that they care.

6. In the Winter, the only sound I hear at night is the subtle shift of my old house’s wood beams in the wind. In the Summer, it’s a symphony of crickets and cicadas.

7. There are no upscale little kid parties. All they want is pizza and a good game of Manhunt by the light of a bonfire.

8. Your teenagers can’t get away with much. Someone will hear and tell someone else and it’ll be back to you in less than 24 hours.

9. Our town library is in an old house right off Main Street. Oh. And we have a Main Street!

10. Playing outside means climbing trees, finding a Robins nest with little blue eggs (which you are then told not to touch by Mom), and having lightsaber duels with an imaginary opponent in the long grass of the field.

And here’s the thing; I’ll bet most of you could come up with ten things, too. I think we just forget to look after awhile. We get too busy rushing around to the next baseball game or birthday party or chorus concert.

Here’s to taking the time to look around. And to loving where you live.

❀

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 9:28 pm

    Oh Michelle! Most of your reasons that you love your NY home are the same reasons I love my rural Tennessee home.
    Sure, I have to travel about two hours to attend concerts, books signings, etc, but it’s safe and quiet here. (well, except last night when we were in danger of tornadoes and flooding- we’re ok though!)
    I love the hustle and bustle of places like Time Square but I don’t think I could ever live there long term. I like my simple life.

  2. April 29, 2010 9:17 pm

    I love my city– tucked away in a fruit and wine rich valley along a long lake.

    btw–how do I follow your blog?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 2, 2010 1:54 pm

      It sounds like my kind of place, Elle (btw, that is the name of the main character in my new book!)!
      πŸ˜€

      I’m not sure (#writerfail), but I think you can follow it in Google Reader. I don’t think WordPress blogs have a follow option, though I could be wrong!

      Thanks for stopping by!
      ❀

      MZ

  3. Ayla permalink
    April 29, 2010 5:26 pm

    *cough* open mic *cough*

    πŸ˜€

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 29, 2010 6:11 pm

      Tee-hee! Putting it up now. Thanks for the reminder!
      ❀

      MZ

      • Ayla permalink
        April 29, 2010 7:23 pm

        your welcome πŸ˜€

  4. April 29, 2010 2:22 pm

    Oh my! So pretty! And your town reminds me so much of where I went to college. My university was in this little town (actually, it was officially classified as a “village”…that’s how small it was). We were literally surrounded on all sides by corn fields. My dad, when he went there back in the day, got bored and figured out that you could go anywhere in the entire world without having to drive through Ada, Ohio.

    I love where I live now, though. I returned to my hometown after graduating from college. With the exception of my four years at ONU, I’ve never known NOT living in the suburbs of good ol’ C-bus.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 29, 2010 3:34 pm

      Well, that must be where your heart is!
      ❀

      MZ

  5. Christine Fonseca permalink
    April 29, 2010 11:40 am

    Man I hear ya having lived in both places, there is a lot about the East coast I miss…but if I had a choice to live anywhere…I would move to Maui and be near my folks. One day, after the kids are grown, maybe I will πŸ˜€

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 29, 2010 12:29 pm

      Oh!! Maui WOULD be hard to beat!
      ❀

      MZ

  6. April 28, 2010 11:54 pm

    We have been talking about moving to the east coast. Where you live sounds great Michelle. Especially for the kids.

    B

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 29, 2010 7:35 am

      It really is, Brian. If there’s anything I can do to help, just let me know…

      Plus, it would be cool to have a cousin nearby!
      ❀

      MZ

  7. shannon hamling permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:19 pm

    I don’t really like where I live. I was raised in the country, tennessee in a little place called shellbyville, but when i was about 8 my parents decided to move back to their home state of sunny southern california. i’ve always been less than pleased about it. My favorite thing is the ocean but even those are overwhelmingly tainted. I appreciate what I’ve been exposed to and I love my friend but i won’t be staying here,not in SoCal. I love your message though. I am concrete in that home is where the heart is and mine isn’t here just my blood…=]

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 29, 2010 7:33 am

      I know just what you mean, Shannon. I think you know deep down when you’re home. I’ve lived in eight different states, but this one feels like home for me in a way I can’t explain, even though a teeny-tiny part of me will always be a California girl. I think the place we grow up has a kind of profound influence on us…
      ❀

      MZ

  8. Ayla permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    :O

    YOU CHANGED YOUR PICTURE!!!!

    ok moving on…

    those pictures and your description of where you live remind me of where my relatives live. my great grandma and great aunt live in a small town called Madison, Florida. Its at the tippy-top of the pan handle.

    I miss home 😦

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 28, 2010 6:43 pm

      Aw, it’s so hard to miss home, Ayla.
      *hugs*

      I did finally change my picture. I figured it was time to start getting everybody used to the new covers since the Prophecy paperback will be out in just two months and Guardian will follow a month later! Eeeep!

      So excited…
      ❀

      MZ

  9. April 28, 2010 5:58 pm

    I love New York. My uncle lives in an old, giant house in the country and it is gorgeous! He has a giant yard, you can walk to an ice cream place, there is a place with these awesome scrap metal sculptures that’s that to the ice cream place, and there is a drive-in movie place that is still running. I wish I could spend more time up there other than rare vacations.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 28, 2010 6:42 pm

      I wonder if your Uncle lives near us, Elly! We live near one of the only two drive-in theaters left in the state!
      πŸ˜€

      MZ

  10. April 28, 2010 2:41 pm

    I used to dream–daily–about moving back to Chattanooga. I think part of me will always long for the mountains…but back in January I went on a week long trip. When I came home, I was overwhelmed with how amazing it was to be HOME. And it made me start thinking….Chatty was great, and I loved it–but its part of my past. A wonderful part, but this–Columubs, where I’m raising my babies–this is my life…this is home. And I’m content with it. There are worse places to raise your family and build your life…

    And I finally agreed to start looking for a house to buy. πŸ™‚ Your home is beautiful, Michelle.

    And seriously…did you set your field on fire? There’s a story here, me thinks. πŸ˜‰

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 28, 2010 3:47 pm

      I definitely think we end up where we’re supposed to end up, Nazarea.
      ❀

      MZ

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 2, 2010 1:55 pm

      Mayyyyybe… *shift eyes*

  11. April 28, 2010 12:02 pm

    I’ve always thought that where you live is enchanting, even though I’ve never seen, just heard about it, and mostly secondhand. But this just shows me even more why I think you have the most amazing living situation. I knew there was a reason why I want to set my stories in Upstate NY so often. You’re really kind of living in my dream town. ^_^

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 28, 2010 1:00 pm

      Thanks, Steph! It’s really great, and it’s been good for the kids, too. Growing up in such a simple, slow environment has made them different people, I think.
      ❀

      MZ

  12. April 28, 2010 11:29 am

    Michelle…you want an adopted Australian (slighted aged) daughter…right?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:42 am

      If it’s you, YES!
      ❀

      MZ

Leave a Reply

