Skip to content

Nine Inch Nails and Johnny Cash

May 11, 2010

A conversation on my daughter’s Facebook wall that included my son, a couple of other teenagers, and my cousin, Brian Baker (who also happens to be a writer), prompted me to remember the incredible song HURT.

The original was written and performed by Nine Inch Nails and was later covered by Johnny Cash, but I have to confess that I can never decide which one I like best. I adore both of these versions for different reasons.So interesting, isn’t it, how different artists can take the same song or idea and turn it into something wholly unique and original?

Take a listen and see what you think…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. The Artful Dodger permalink
    May 14, 2010 9:10 pm

    I love both versions (lolz I was in that convo =p) and I cant pick either. Man I miss Johnny…

  2. May 13, 2010 10:38 pm

    i like both – depends on the day…

  3. May 11, 2010 5:39 pm

    The first time I heard the Johnny Cash was going to cover the song I was apprehensive, I am a huge NIN fan. After I saw the video and heard the song I loved it. He really took something that was very personal for Trent Reznor (Heroin addiction) and made it his own. I have seen NIN a bunch of times and the video you have is taken from the a concert.

    The imagery in Johnny Cash’s version is so much like a lot of Trent Reznor’s that it made the video so much better. I never started listening to Johnny Cash until after he did this cover, and have been hooked since. This is almost always the last song at a NIN concert, sadly Trent has since disbanded the band to pursue other things. Two things I know about, NIN and vampires.

    Thanks for shout out Michelle, I very much appreciate it.

    B

  4. May 11, 2010 2:11 pm

    I absolutely love Johnny Cash’s version of Hurt. It’s one of my all time favorites by him; although I have never listened to the Nine Inch Nails version of it. 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 11, 2010 2:38 pm

      Isn’t it a phenomenal song? It really moves me the way Johnny sings it…

      MZ

Leave a Reply

