Skip to content

Linkin Park, Harry Potter, and Being Perfect

May 25, 2010
First things first; I want to wish a VERY Happy Birthday to my lovely daughter, Caroline. Animal lover, writer, and all around Girl Extraordinaire, I couldn’t be more proud to call you my daughter. Every day is brighter with your smile, my sweet.
Happy Birthday – and many, many more.
And now on to blog stuff! I apologize for not posting the Anonymous Teen Reader interview yesterday. But I have a good excuse!
I spent last night hanging out with 30 incredible YA authors and a library full of amazing, enthusiastic book bloggers at the Second Annual Teen Author Carnival. Thanks to Five Awesome YA Fans for organizing, everyone at the Jefferson Market Branch library for hosting, and to everyone who took time out of their BEA week to attend. I had a wonderful time meeting you all and goofing off with authors Michael Northrup and Tonya Hurley who joined me in acting like the class screw-ups we obviously are. It was a blast!
Z

This week’s Anonymous Teen Reader is Secret Writer (I love a good sekrit!). As with all of our interviews, I am astounded by the maturity and compassion and insightfulness of Secret Writer.

Damn, you guys make me proud to write YA.

😀

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Secret Writer

Current country of residence; USA

Male or female? Female

Age; 15

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Oh man….I’m not sure. I haven’t been reading much lately so maybe 5 lately but I’d say…10 on a good month.

Favorite kind of book and why; A book that sucks me in from the beginning and makes me forget about my problems, lately it’s been paranormal romance to do that.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; The need to read it. That’s usually a combination of things…cover, summary, recommendation from others…when I have to choose between two books, it always comes down to how bad I want to read it.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When I can’t get it out of my head. If I think about it when I’m not reading it or can’t get it out of my head afterwards, it’s a great book. If I have a dream about it (it’s happened!), it’s a freaking AMAZING book.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? Not that important. Most of my real-life friends rarely read and the ones that do have extremely different tastes than me.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; Books about rich people. They annoy the crap out of me and I just think there’s too many. (Heh)

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? Probably annoying characters. Books with annoying characters usually get thrown at the wall. (Youtube this, please!)

Paperback or hardcover? PAPERBACK!

Series or stand-alone? Stand-alone. Usually.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? I listen to pretty much everything – rock, country, pop, 90s stuff.

Name your favorite band; Skillet. Linkin Park and Nirvana are tied for second, though!

Best movie of all time? If I say Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban are people going to throw things at me? 😉

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; I have a wide group of friends and believe it or not, I haven’t met most of them in real-life. I cyber-school so many of my friends from school live hours away. We’re still as close as can be, though. My other friends are a lot older than me…Unfortunately, most of my friends are not friends with each other so we never get to hang out in a group. We’re all pretty laid-back and fun, though.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? The hate. There is so much HATE in this world. It’s so sad. If you get rid of the hate, everything else will eventually fall into place. (oh, hon… you are so wise. *hugs*)

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? SHOPPING SPREE!!! Well first, I’d give some to my mom to pay off bills, then I’d put some back for college, donate $1000 to my local library and some to PAYA too. THEN I’d take my best friend to the mall (or maybe even NYC!) and buy myself new clothes and new music and NEW BOOKS! Ahh. That’d be wonderful!

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? I don’t think I’d stay in one spot…I’d travel. If I HAD to stay in one spot, I’d go to NYC though. It’s my dream to live there. Otherwise, I’d love to go to Chicago, London, Italy, Ireland…just experience the world!

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? I don’t think I’ve ever hidden a PERSON but I had things like Farmville and all the fanpages that I join all the time.

Do you get along with your family? Either way, tell us why. I don’t. Not at all. My father is very close-minded and my mom can be a pushover. I’m the complete opposite of them and we fight about it all the time. I do get along with my grandma and a few aunts pretty well, though.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? Most people don’t know that I’m really not as innocent and perfect as I act. In my old school, I was the “goody two-shoes” of the class. If I swore, people would make a big deal out of it. Everyone thinks that I’m perfect or think I’m perfect and never do anything wrong. That’s the biggest misconception ever.

Name your biggest secret fear. Losing the people I love. ♥

Name something you like about yourself. I love the fact that I’m extremely loyal. Yes, I screw up and make mistakes sometimes but if I let you in and you let me in, it’s unlikely you’ll ever find yourself a more loyal friend.

What one thing would you like to know about other teens? I’d love to know why they think it’s fun to act so cruel sometimes.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline permalink
    May 27, 2010 7:40 am

    Thanks for all the happy birthdays! I had a wonderful birthday 🙂 Thanks to my wonderful mother and grandmother!

  2. May 25, 2010 9:36 pm

    I ♥ Skillet! I totally agree with paperback.
    I love reading about other teens, it shows you how much you have in common with others in the wold.
    Happy Birthday Caroline!

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 25, 2010 9:41 pm

      Well… maybe you should email me about being one of my Anonymous teens then… *hint, hint*
      😀

      MZ

      • May 26, 2010 5:15 pm

        How? I have you as a friend on facebook, I message you there.

  3. Ayla permalink
    May 25, 2010 8:21 pm

    Happy Birthday Caroline!

    Awesome! I love linkin park! (spelled it wrong in the title LOL)

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 25, 2010 8:44 pm

      D’oh! Thanks for calling me on that, Sweets! Going to fix it now!

      MZ

  4. May 25, 2010 5:36 pm

    Awesome!! Lol, I would never throw rocks at you, HP3 is my favorite book!! 😉 . (Go loyalty!! 🙂 )…..
    And it’s not fun to act cruel. But if you were to ask someone who was acting cruel, they would say just that, “it’s funny.” 😦 But it’snot. There is no justifiable reason, and we will probably never understand why people do the things that they do, sadly. 😦

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      May 25, 2010 7:38 pm

      So true, Meagan. I wish the world was full of people like you guys – but I’m glad we have those of you that we have!

      MZ

    • May 25, 2010 11:07 pm

      (i accidently forgot this earlier,) Happpeee birthday Caroline!!!!!!! 😄

Leave a Reply

