Skip to content

Friday Poll – Facebook, Twitter, or Myspace?

June 4, 2010

When my kids first started hanging out online, Myspace was the go-to site for them and their friends. They loved creating layouts (and changing them every few days), adding playlists, and generally making their mark on their profile in a myriad of ways.

A metaphor for early adolescence if there ever was one!

๐Ÿ˜€

I spent most of my time on Myspace as well, because I was there for them. To supervise, yes, but also to engage with them in a way they could relate to and found enjoyable. Over time, they graduated to Facebook (along with most of their friends) and now neither of my older teens even bothers with Myspace. I still have a profile page for Prophecy there, because I do get questions and comments from readers. Even though I’ve considered deleting my page, I just can’t bear to leave anybody hanging if that’s where they’re looking for me!

I do visit Twitter – though not as often as I used to – because there are people there I enjoy talking with, but I try to limit my time there. Mostly, I can be found on Facebook.

For me, it’s a constant balancing act. Where do I ENJOY hanging out the most? Where can I connect with the people I relate to best? And how can I streamline my online suff so I’m not in front of the computer 24/7? Should I keep my Myspace page?

And I’m not the only one. As we spend more and more time online, there is increasing and ever-changing debate about the merit of various social networking sites for business AND pleasure. My theory is that the vast majority of people who are online have Facebook, very few people over 14 use Myspace as a PRIMARY hang-out spot, and Twitter hasn’t (and who knows? might NOT) hit the mainstream – especially among average teens (none of the “everday” teens I know have Twitter but ALL of the blogging teens I know do).

So let’s use this as our Friday Poll! When online, what is your FAVORITE hang-out?


Now for two quick extras! Don’t forget tomorrow’s podcast at 10pm EST with Kenneth, Rebekah and I. I won’t give away any of our topics, but you can bet the movie Splice will be one of them!

I also want to give a quick shout-out to Amy over at the Pages of Brooks. Amy just reviewed Guardian of the Gate from an ARC she received at the Teen Author Carnival. And what a review it is! Sometimes you read a review and you just know that reader GOT IT. Everything you tried to do in the book, everything you were going for, they just understood. Amy’s review is incredibly well-written and thorough. Plus, it includes perhaps my favorite review line yet; “More chasing, more fighting, and more omgomgomg moments ensue – finally ending with one of Zink’s favored one-liners-of-shock-and-awe.”

๐Ÿ˜€

Anyway, Amy’s blog (I think?) is fairly new, so show her some Follow love, will you?

โค

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayla permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:14 am

    Ok… first of all… NEW COMMENT LAYOUT :O

    I’ve also noticed that when you first got to michellezink.com the speech bubble, that leads you to the comment section of a blog post, moved from the right of the title (of the post) to the very bottom of the blog post.

    Another thing I noticed was that you have a little red star next to your name (since you own the blog).

    (This shows I visit this site wayyyy to much… is that good or bad???)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Hey michelle, could you help me out with the time zones??? I can’t figure out the time of the podcast in my area. I missed the live podcast last week cause of it. I live in the DFW, Texas area. I’m pretty sure we are in the central time zone… If I don’t get a reply, thats fine… I’ll just check the podcast every hour starting at 8. Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 5, 2010 10:45 am

      Hi, hon! I don’t know what’s been going on with WordPress, but all of these changes are THEIRS! It’s kind of annoying, because I liked the layout I had before. I don’t want to bother changing it now, though, because I have a new site under construction as we speak – one that isn’t hosted by WP!
      ๐Ÿ˜€

      Central Time Zone if one house behind us, so the podcast would start at 9pm your time tomorrow night. Hope to see you there!
      โค

      MZ

  2. June 5, 2010 1:56 am

    I only Tweet these days. And, I keep my twitter to a select few;) I have a love/hate with the whole social networking thing. It’s easy to become overwhelmed with it all.

  3. Caroline permalink
    June 4, 2010 11:04 pm

    I vote Tetrisfriends.com! It even has a happy name! How can’t you love it? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. mak...XD permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:10 pm

    sry michelle…i can’t vote…@.@ it’s a thing with me…i’m not into anything at all…i’m probably one of the weirdest teens there is!!! although…if you had put up msn or windows live up there…i wouldn’t mind…tehe…lol
    ~mak

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 4, 2010 10:07 pm

      But you come HERE, Mak!
      โค

      MZ

  5. June 4, 2010 7:56 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks so much for the shout-out!! Seriously really glad that you like the review, especially because (like you said) I’m pretty new at it all.

    As for Myspace, I honestly don’t know one person who uses it anymore lol

  6. michellezinkbooks permalink*
    June 4, 2010 7:07 pm

    Wow… at this rate, my Prophecy Myspace page will be gone by Monday.
    O_o

Leave a Reply

