Skip to content

Hush, Hush, Evanescence, and Being Content…

June 7, 2010

This week’s Anonymous Teen Reader is Sapphire (Love. It.)! Sapphire lives in Trinidad and is just as fascinating and intelligent as all our other teens. I love her outlook on life (and her willingness to remind me when it’s her turn! <3) and hope you all enjoy getting to know her.

And if any of the teens reading would like to be featured as an Anonymous Teen Reader, just drop me a line on Facebook or Twitter!
Happy Mondayyy!!!

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Sapphire

Current country of residence; Freeport, Trinidad…(It’s at the bottom of the Caribbean)

Male or female? Girl…


Age;
14

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? During school…about three… If it’s something like summer vacation, 4 or 5…

Favorite kind of book and why; I love books that instantly pull me in. I started up on the Goosebumps and made my way to Fear Street. I was hooked on R.L Stine!! I explored other books that seem to instill fear, of course, with the occasional romance. I really dislike books that are girly…*gags* I’m not that kind of person to read about cliques and cat fights…. My dad loves Stephen King and I’m dying to read my first one. (Dad has a “special one” picked out for me) All in all, i like books with action, one that’s soft around the edges with the romance. Ever read “Hush Hush”???

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book;
I usually take a loooong time before making a decision on what book to buy. I look for something that seems like no one else has it. Usually, I take the book that seems like it’s that last copy. Book covers are nice to look at and the summaries behind it are the general things I look at.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? I either dream of the characters that night or start babbling on to my parents about the book…lol

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book?
Sadly, it’s not the most important thing to me. We don’t get ALL of the BEST books here in Trinidad. So usually everyone has the same type of book. Like I said, I look for the rare ones. I rather borrow a book from a friend than let them tell me what book to buy.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre;
Hmm..this one’s kinda tough since we have a smaller variety of books here in Trinidad. I’d say more books that teach us about Wicca. It’s a beautiful religion and even though I don’t follow it, I’m very knowledgeable of the concepts of it.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When I read something and it seems like I’ve read it before. I HATE copy-cats!!!  (heh. Me, TOO!)

Paperback or hardcover? Both. But in the end, I take good care of ALL my books.

Series or stand-alone? Series are amasing (most of the time) but I get nervous when my mom tells me I’ve bought enough books. I usually ask for them as gifts. I’ll take both of them, though. As long as that stand alone is really, REALLY good.

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? A lot of rock, metal, screamo. Hardly anything out of that genre unless I feel like a need to change I go to the rap like Eminem.

Name your favorite band; Evanescence!!!! They were my first favorite rock band. And I found My Chemical Romance and Placebo and Demon Hunter etc…o.O

Best movie of all time? I don’t have one…I’m recently trying to catch up on Tim Burton films ‘cause I love love LOVE  Jonny Depp!!!! He’s an AMASING actor!!!!

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; We’re odd… I’m the goth, one’s a punk, the other is like a little princess and the one who I’m closest to is regarded as a nerd by the rest of the class, but they don’t know her like I do!!!! Then my other friends in my class and outside of school, we’re sorta like a family. I have a lot of moms in this way. o.O (Aw!)

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? People and MONEY. That’s all they’re concerned about. How much they have and how much they want to spend and who to make jealous. Can’t we all just be contented with what little we have??

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? Take my friends to Japan (they love anime and the place on a whole) and when I return to Trinidad, take my mom to Italy and probably on a Mediterranean Cruise…. And donate a large fraction to charities here in Trinidad.

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? Italy. I’ve always loved Italian food and I’d love to do my culinary research there. I wish to become a chef…XD

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? Umm….I recently joined….XD That’s a no…o.O

Do you get along with your family? Either way, tell us why. Yes…I love my parents and I think it’s ‘cause I’m an only child…( I don’t think I’m spoilt that much o.O) some of my cousins are rather spoilt and I only play along with them. I’ve learnt how to cope with them as I am older now, but as an infant, my cousin was able to persuade me into doing wrong. I always got blamed. I’m the quiet child in the family and my dad’s parents don’t like me very much because I’m not very social with them as far as I know.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That I’m more than just an innocent face….that I’m like yin and yang, just the distorted side of it. My mood is very random. I can be violent at one point and a little lamb the next time. When I am blamed for something that I know is true, I have a rage that consumes me completely. This rage is towards myself. I need to be alone when this happens.

Name your biggest secret fear. Not coming out of school successfully

Name something you like about yourself. The fact that I play a good pretense when needed. That’s more around my family.

What one thing would you like to know about other teens? How they might see me…I’m young and new to being a teen. I need to find myself and I’d like to meet other teens just to know how they cope with problems in their lives. I may give good advice sometimes, but we all have our problems. Big or small.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:31 pm

    OMG!!!! Sapphire….I love yr choice in jsut bout evrything and as welll as Chamzad2 i kno yew as well….and just keep on writin hunzz 🙂

  2. Sapphire permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:11 pm

    hmmm ayla…we may never know…lol. i’m an only child…things get…boring sometimes. do you draw??? and its obvious here that you write…and quite beautifull might i add. 🙂

  3. Ayla permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:38 am

    OMG Wicca… Evanescence… Italian Food… Johnny Depp… Are we long lost twins??? xD

  4. Sapphire permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:08 pm

    thankzz meagan…and errmm chamzad2??? how…@.@ *lost*

  5. June 7, 2010 8:32 pm

    You have an AMAZINGLY AWESOME taste in music!!! I’m just sayin’… :]

  6. Chamzad2 permalink
    June 7, 2010 6:29 pm

    Sapphire, I know you! You’re M.A.K. (aka-my best friend-who’s a girl)! I’m a nerd, eh? If anything, I’d appreciate being called Psycho, Freak or even PERVERT more than that…You know me!

Leave a Reply

