Skip to content

Sick Puppies, the Simple Things, and Making a Difference

June 21, 2010

Thanks so much to those of you who responded to my call for more Anonymous Teen Readers. I’m all booked up again (through the middle of August!), but if you’d like to be featured, you can still send me an email on Facebook or at prophecypress@aol.com and I can schedule you for late summer.

This week’s Anonymous Teen Reader is Red. She has great taste in music AND movies. Plus, she likes to keep it simple – a girl after my own heart!

Z

Z

JUST THE FACTS

Interview Code Name (you choose!); Red

Current country of residence; USA

Male or female? Female

Age; 15 (FINALLY!!)

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month? Honestly, one or two, three on a good month (I’m a slow reader, and I get distracted.)

Favorite kind of book and why; It HAS to be interesting. Within the first few pages it has to pull me in. I like books where I can relate to the characters/situation of the characters. Where the plot isn’t totally obvious, and the charaters aren’t annoying, or unrealistic. I also love books that can make me forget about whats going on around me.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book; The synnopsis and cover are the main things I look at. If those interest me, I’ll check out the first few pages.

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book? When I think about it alot after I read it, and am dying for the next.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book? Not very. We all have different tastes in books, though sometimes we’ll find a book we all like. (So true!)

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre; Less vampires for sure! I liked Twilight okay, and I’ll probably see the movies, but all the hype about it is so annoying, and there are just too many vampire books in my opinion.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book? When the author doesn’t use enough detail in certain parts. It leaves me wanting in whats going on around the character or about the character themselves.

Paperback or hardcover? Paperback
Series or stand-alone? Either one, but I like series because I get to see more of the story and characters. (me, too! I get attached!)

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to? Alternative/indie rock.

Name your favorite band; Ah, there’s too many!! Sick Puppies, Jimmy Eat World, My Chemical Romance, Cage The Elephant, Linkin Park…. (Nice!)

Best movie of all time? Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince. It’s just amazing.

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends; Well, there’s friend H, who is the smartest one. Shes completely different outside of school, though she’s starting to come out of her shell in school. She is sarcastic, and afraid to bend the rules. Friend N, never had a shell. She is the most outgoing, has the craziest ideas, and I’m sensing she’ll be my PIC when we get cars ;]. She is smart, but doesn’t always make the best choices, though none are real bad. Friend S is also smart, and a bigger band nerd than me. 🙂 She can be kinda quiet in school, but when she gets around her friends, watch out. We all think alike, and have a tendency to speak the same thing at the same time. Then there is friend M. He is crazy, a pervert but funny, can be sweet, and is my best guy friend. We are all really weird, funny, different, and always there for each other. I love them :]

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it? The oil spill!!! No one cares for the people or things around them.  They just want to do what’s best for them. Forget if that person needs help, it could “ruin” a reputation. That there are hardly any honest people left, any caring people left. Also that everyone is concerned with the newest fashion or the most high dollar brand, they don’t stop to realize that there are better, simpler things in life. (Ah! So wise!)

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with it? Give some to my parents so that they can pay off the house and car. Give some to my brother to help with getting stuff for his apartment and college. For me, money towards a college fund and a truck, a small shopping spree of clothes, books, and music, and the rest I would give to Saint Judes.
Z
You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why? IRELAND!!!!! That’s at the top of my list of places I want to travel. It’s so beautiful there. :]

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why? Nope

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why. I do, mostly. I disagree most with my mom, she just gets on my nerves so bad sometimes. We dont fight very often, but when we do, it can get a little loud. When we fight, or my parents fight, I go in my room, get my mp3 and turn it up full blast. It helps calm me down, and drown out the rest.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you? That I like classical music… And lately, sometimes I feel like I’m losing alot of the people around me, especially friends.

Name your biggest secret fear. Not achieving something really good in life, not making a difference.

Name something you like about yourself. I’m a good listener.

What one thing would you like to know about other teens? Do they ever feel like they don’t know whats going on, like things aren’t how they seem, and you just dont know what to do?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayla permalink
    June 22, 2010 11:15 am

    I’m sad 😦

    My kitten ran away! I have the doors open, and I’m constantly taking walks while shaking her cat food bag, but she won’t come!

    If I don’t find her by 3:00, I’m setting up lost cat signs…

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 22, 2010 12:11 pm

      Oh, no! I’m so sorry to hear this, hon. Try not to worry too much, though. Cats are VERY adept at finding their way home. I’ve almost always had a cat, and even when I’ve tried to keep them indoors, they’ve almost always escaped to explore (sometimes even when they were young). But they always come back!

      Let me know what happens, okay?
      *hugs*

      MZ

      • Ayla permalink
        June 24, 2010 10:08 am

        Kitty Found!!! (We found her a few hours after we lost her…. she climbed up onto my grandma’s window and started meowing.)

    • mak...XD permalink
      June 22, 2010 1:06 pm

      trust me…ur kitty will come back!!! good luck finding her!!!
      *hugs*

      • Ayla permalink
        June 22, 2010 1:09 pm

        Thanks guys… I’m just a little scared because I used to have seven cats, they all ran away and never came back…

      • michellezinkbooks permalink*
        June 22, 2010 3:10 pm

        Oh, sending you *hugs*, hon. Let us know what happens, okay?

        MZ

  2. MorbidMandy permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:48 pm

    ❤ I love Sick Puppies. And yeah, I liked Twilight alright, but the whole vampire thing kinda got out of control.

  3. Briana permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:20 pm

    I agree that there need to be less vampire books.

    • June 25, 2010 5:42 pm

      Lol, I know, there is just too much hype about vampires, it is just getting annoying.

  4. mak...XD permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:57 pm

    i love ur taste in music!!! there is also a band called RED…they sound really good. not all hard core and stuff. they’re actually Christian Metal. and do u listen to evanescence?

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 21, 2010 8:15 pm

      I love Evanescence! Saw them in concert with Sick Puppies, ironically!

      MZ

      • mak...XD permalink
        June 21, 2010 8:27 pm

        are you serious!!!!!! its like a dream come true to me to just meet amy lee… she’s my first favourite rocker!!! my dad introduced her to me when i was 6…i would love love LOVE to see them in concert!!!

    • June 25, 2010 5:40 pm

      I have heard of RED, I really like them and Evanescence!!! :]

  5. Emily B. permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:54 pm

    Michelle can you accept my friend request on facebook? I just sent it 🙂

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 21, 2010 8:14 pm

      Oh, sure! I’ll try to get to it tonight, hon. They get out of hand so quickly (20-30 in a few days) and then I hide from them because I know it’ll take me awhile to answer them all!

      MZ

  6. Ayla permalink
    June 21, 2010 6:43 pm

    Were you like WAITING for someone aged 15 to come along???

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      June 21, 2010 7:11 pm

      Lol! That was her “Finally!” not mine!
      😀

      MZ

Leave a Reply

