Skip to content

Mysterious Bad Boys, Adventurous Girls, and Being an Outcast

July 12, 2010

This week's Anonymous Teen Reader is JelicACrze! She's an avid reader 
and is just as interesting as out other teen readers. Get to know her!

Interview Code Name (you choose!); 
JelicACrzE

Current country of residence;
US

Male or female?
 Female

Age; 16

ABOUT THE BOOKS

How many books, on average, do you read a month?
8-9

Favorite kind of book and why;
Young Adult Fantasy, because it’s nice to get away from all the stress at school
and get lost in a world, where the characters have epic adventures and end up
falling for the mysterious bad boys or the adventurous girls every guy desires.

Name the single most important factor in your decision to purchase a book;
Whether any of my favorite authors have recommended it/blogged about it
(Goodreads.com)

What makes you feel like you’re reading or have read a truly amazing book?
I know I’ve read a good book when I begin to dread the fact that I’m so close to
the end of the book but at the same time, I can’t wait to finish it so that I
find out how the story ends. If it leaves me wanting more from the author then
it was definitly amazing.

How important is a friend’s recommendation in your decision to purchase a book?
Actually, out of my group of friends I happen to be the only one who reads a
variety of books. I’m usually the one to recommend books but if I were my
friends, their opinion would matter because I’d probably end up passing it on to
my other friends.

Thing you’d like to see more or less of in the YA genre;
I would like to see more emphasis on the conflict between the main characters
who fall for each other but with passionate make ups and reconciliations.

What’s your biggest pet peeve in a book?
When authors foreshadow early on in the book that the two lovers that are meant
to be will not end up together and end up with another usually the "best
friend".

Paperback or hardcover?
Paperback, they’re lighter to carry since I always happen to have 2 or 3 books
on me almost all the time.

Series or stand-alone?
Series :]

ALL ABOUT YOU

What music do you most often listen to?
Indie rock 

Name your favorite band;
Top 3: Temper Trap/Phoenix/MGMT

Best movie of all time?
Usually the most recent one watched: Get Him to the Greek

Without naming names, tell us a little about your group of friends;
They are involved in many school clubs/ASB. They are the funniest, dorkiest, and
sometimes most embarrassing group of teenagers but very intellectual and
outspoken.

What’s your biggest concern about the world right now and/or the people in it?
Ignorance and discrimination against people considered to be “different”.  
people have lost their moral values and are indifferent towards things that
actually matter and alcohol/drug abuse among teens.

Someone gives you a million dollars, no strings attached. What do you do with
it?
Help my mother pay off her medical bills and help pay for my sisters education
into college she deserves to go to. Buying a larger house so that all my family
can live comfortably. And of course, books books books!

You can live for one year in any place in the world. Where do you go and why?
Any place where being outdoors surrounded by forests or jungles. I love
uninhabited areas that where ever you look there are trees, lakes, mountains, or
just plains. I would prefer some place in South America rather than metropolitan
cities like New York or Paris. The cities are a beauty but I’m just not into
that type.

Have you ever “Hidden” someone on your Facebook feed? If so, why?
Yes, my friends happen to be impulsive stalkers so if they were to see some
recent activity with a guy they didn’t know on my page, they would be all over
that in a heartbeat. I need some sort of privacy :p

Do you get along with your family? Either way,tell us why.
Most of the time I do. It’s only my mom but I have siblings, all girls in their
teen years so we have many similar interests but many times it can get chaotic
with so many girls, especially teenagers! I sometimes wonder how my mom puts up
with us (;

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
Most of my friends are outgoing and very friendly and people get the impression
I’m also like them but really, I am a very quite person and I prefer to spend my
time alone in silence. I’m not shy because I do love meeting new people and
making new friends.

Name your biggest secret fear.
I’m afraid I’ll end up spending too much time on my own reading or drawing and
end up shutting off my friends and then ending up alone.

Name something you like about yourself.
I like that I’m my own person. I usually march to my own beat and I am
constantly doing things and saying things my friends wouldn’t. I love being an
outcast sometimes.

What one thing would you like to know about other teens?
Do they truly believe that he/she will ever find the type of love is always
reading about?


One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 8:03 am

    I totally agree about the discrimination part and books. Ugh, foreshadowing is the most annoying thing ever. But not to foreshadow is awfully hard too 😉

Leave a Reply

