Skip to content

A Peek at my Life

June 11, 2009

Would you like one?

It’s not very different from yours, really. I spend most of my time running kids (mine and others) to baseball, track, school events, and birthday parties. We love music and concerts and movies (ice cream and Saturday night movies at home have been a tradition for years) and Scrabble and Taboo.

But the thing that matters most to us each other. We spend the majority of our time together. Believe it or not, even my teens seem to prefer hanging out at home with me and each other and the other kids who can often be found here and whom I love like my own. A lot of the time, we’re just hanging out and talking and being silly, but we also have heated debates (many last until the wee hours on the weekends and/or summer) and consolation sessions when the situation call for it.

Anyway, I’ve never given any thought to whether or not we’re different from most families. The more I talk to people, though, the more I start to realize that maybe we are.

And I’m good with that.

This is a video shot at our home for the Little Brown website (it’s not up yet there). I hope you enjoy the glimpse into my writing and our life together. (a hint; if you watch the whole thing, you’ll see Kenneth playing piano. Oh. And that’s his Prophecy theme in the background).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 6:38 pm

    Great video! i saw this on Little, Brown’s facebook page the other day.

    Please please tell where I might acquire one of those nifty Prophecy of the Sisters tees?

  2. Jen permalink
    June 11, 2009 6:29 pm

    Its soo nice to *see* you:D Great video! I love how your family likes to hang out with you. My kids are always around here too:D

  3. June 11, 2009 3:06 pm

    What a great video! It seems like being a part of your family is so fun!

    I was touched by the contibutions of your kids. They are all beautiful, just like their mother.

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. June 11, 2009 2:37 pm

    You are different than most families! Having teens that want to hang out with their Mom on Saturday is unheard of! But of course, you are super cool and anyone would want to hang out with you any day of the week so it makes sense 😉

    I love this video! It’s inspiring & beautiful & also cute.

Leave a comment