Skip to content

Friday Poll – The Twilight (Film) Saga

July 9, 2010

This week’s Friday Poll involves Eclipse, the newest installment in the Twilight Saga films.

I always find it interesting to hear people talk about the Twilight movies. Opinions seem to swing, sometimes without reason, between devout passion and outright hatred.

I’ve seen all three movies, and while I’ll keep my opinions to myself to avoid polluting the Friday Poll, I’ll say what I’ve always said about Stephenie’s work; there is NO WAY (if you’re going to be fair) you can avoid acknowledging her contribution to the YA marketplace. Love them or not, the Twilight books changed the face of the YA marketplace and intimately connected with millions of people the world over. They also opened the door for many, many writers of paranormal/supernatural YA like myself.

And for that, I say, “Huzzah!”, Stephenie!

😀

As for the movie, I leave that to you guys! Weigh in with the Friday Poll!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Medea permalink
    July 24, 2010 12:55 pm

    I don’t really like the Twilight books. I found the writing poor, the ideas unoriginal and it a bit to preachy for my standards. They might have created more readers out of teens so fair enough but didn’t JK rowling do that on a lot grander scale. Besides I think the Twilight thing is more of an americanised thing than globalphenomenon

  2. Ayla permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:03 am

    stephanie is a great author, but i kinda have a feeling that the books and the movies are popular because a lot of people think robert pattison and taylor lautner are hot…. its almost as if the series is popular because of an actor, not stephanie’s writing skills……

    p.s. im reading nightlight, a entire book of a twilight parody right now…

    p.p.s. sorry for lack of capatalization, shift keys are broken…

    • MorbidMandy permalink
      July 14, 2010 1:39 pm

      Ohmygosh, I loved Nightlight. Better than Twilight, actually 🙂

  3. July 9, 2010 6:58 pm

    I was torn between picking “I love them” and “They’re not exactly cinematic masterpieces” cause here’s the thing, I feel both ways. I do love them, I love getting all silly my my girlfriends going out and enjoying the craziness. I love the stories, and well I’ll admit it Edward. (I just CANNOT be attracted to someone who is underage in the first two films! Besides I hate Jacob’s character….but that is another discussion!).

    BUT I am VERY aware that they are 1) not the best written books and 2) not the best movies cinematically. Does that mean I can’t have a guilty pleasure and enjoy them? NOPE!

    So bring on the love, despite my realistic brain. I just shut it off.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      July 9, 2010 8:33 pm

      Trust me. I get it! I take my daughter (and sometimes up to 20 of her friends) to see them, usually at midnight. Because it IS fun to share that experience and get caught up in the craziness of it all.

      MZ

  4. Kayla Merkel permalink
    July 9, 2010 6:53 pm

    i used to love the books when they first came out, they arent the best written, but they are interesting. the characters can get annoying at times, and they are even worse in the movies, I HATE the movies, the acting is beyond horrible.

  5. MorbidMandy permalink
    July 9, 2010 6:50 pm

    I read the books and loved them. I saw the first movie on opening day and I’ll admit it, I was a screaming fangirl. But a few weeks (and a few books) later, I realized that they weren’t exactly grand literature. But before I read them I hadn’t read any YA fiction. Now, I’m an addict, and I still reread the Twilight saga because they’re fun, entertaining, and nothing else. As for the movies… well, I haven’t seen Eclipse, but I’m sure that, as with the books, they will be entertaining. Maybe not completely enthralling and powerful, but entertaining.

    • michellezinkbooks permalink*
      July 9, 2010 8:32 pm

      Therein lies an important point; there can be no doubt that the Twilight series has turned thousands of teens who might not have considered themselves readers into just that.

      And what could be wrong with that?!

      MZ

Leave a comment